Kelpie 2nd Gear November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Wife bought an i-pad look-a-like from Shanghai for a mere S$170 equivalent. Not so use to using touch screen to nagivate. Find Android OS very clumsy too. A no-frill 10" mini-computer for causal use and internet surfing, may be. 5 hours use for full-charge. So what is the trend now? Would I be better off buying a Netbook (Mini Notebook/Laptop) instead? Just for internet surfing during travel. 7~8 hours use for full-charge. Dell Mini is only selling at RM999 (S$420) here but Singapore selling at S$499. Any other good buys to recommend? Thank you very much. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondauto 1st Gear November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Wife bought an i-pad look-a-like from Shanghai for a mere S$170 equivalent. Not so use to using touch screen to nagivate. Find Android OS very clumsy too. A no-frill 10" mini-computer for causal use and internet surfing, may be. 5 hours use for full-charge. So what is the trend now? Would I be better off buying a Netbook (Mini Notebook/Laptop) instead? Just for internet surfing during travel. 7~8 hours use for full-charge. Dell Mini is only selling at RM999 (S$420) here but Singapore selling at S$499. Any other good buys to recommend? Thank you very much. Regards, I rather get netbook. Touch pad are more for students/housewife usage - Android apps rather limited and not all are suitable for Pad tablet. I have one - already dumped one side after 3 days of using it. The new Samsung touch Pad is very expensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Wife bought an i-pad look-a-like from Shanghai for a mere S$170 equivalent. Not so use to using touch screen to nagivate. Find Android OS very clumsy too. A no-frill 10" mini-computer for causal use and internet surfing, may be. 5 hours use for full-charge. So what is the trend now? Would I be better off buying a Netbook (Mini Notebook/Laptop) instead? Just for internet surfing during travel. 7~8 hours use for full-charge. Dell Mini is only selling at RM999 (S$420) here but Singapore selling at S$499. Any other good buys to recommend? Thank you very much. Regards, If u need to travel light get a netbook, but actually I find netbook screen abit too small for viewing. Alternatively get a cheap notebook with upgraded/extra batt if u dun mind the weight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Errrr... you mean Ipad lookalike or the actual ipad "wet goods" So the tablet runs on Android???? If so, can advise which firmware version. (Already on 2.2 Froyo?) Thanks Wife bought an i-pad look-a-like from Shanghai for a mere S$170 equivalent. Not so use to using touch screen to nagivate. Find Android OS very clumsy too. A no-frill 10" mini-computer for causal use and internet surfing, may be. 5 hours use for full-charge. So what is the trend now? Would I be better off buying a Netbook (Mini Notebook/Laptop) instead? Just for internet surfing during travel. 7~8 hours use for full-charge. Dell Mini is only selling at RM999 (S$420) here but Singapore selling at S$499. Any other good buys to recommend? Thank you very much. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richardlimbs Clutched November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Those with fat fingers better not get touch screen... will accidentally touch the other icon(s) next to it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Those with fat fingers better not get touch screen... will accidentally touch the other icon(s) next to it what will happen? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 Those with fat fingers better not get touch screen... will accidentally touch the other icon(s) next to it Actually not that bad. Initially I was using the finger tips but soon found out that you just have to touch slowly then to touch it fast to get the character. Anyway, this way of input is just too slow for me. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 Errrr... you mean Ipad lookalike or the actual ipad "wet goods" So the tablet runs on Android???? If so, can advise which firmware version. (Already on 2.2 Froyo?) Thanks Wife not with me, I will check when I meet her. It even has an apple logo printed at the back . But the organs used are different . She told me many waited for hours especially Ang Mos just to get hold of one. One of her colleagues actually bought 10 at one go. Crazy! Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 I rather get netbook. Touch pad are more for students/housewife usage - Android apps rather limited and not all are suitable for Pad tablet. I have one - already dumped one side after 3 days of using it. The new Samsung touch Pad is very expensive. Yalor, I find this type of product rather deceiving. I was actually not happy that my wife bought it without checking with me 1st. It is not about the money. It is about buying a rubbish china made product . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 It'll be interesting to have that if it runs on Andriod. No need to be constrained by the darn itunes. But if exact replica as well as operating system...... hmmmm..... can download apps or not???? Wife not with me, I will check when I meet her. It even has an apple logo printed at the back . But the organs used are different . She told me many waited for hours especially Ang Mos just to get hold of one. One of her colleagues actually bought 10 at one go. Crazy! Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 It'll be interesting to have that if it runs on Andriod. No need to be constrained by the darn itunes. But if exact replica as well as operating system...... hmmmm..... can download apps or not???? I suppose can right? It can go internet, should be able to download software bah . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Ok, please help find out and feedback. Appreciate it. I was asked if I wanted "wet goods" and about $400. I'm afraid that it is actually this lookalike thinggy which is less than half its actual selling price. Cheers. I suppose can right? It can go internet, should be able to download software bah . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 10, 2010 Author Share November 10, 2010 Ok, please help find out and feedback. Appreciate it. I was asked if I wanted "wet goods" and about $400. I'm afraid that it is actually this lookalike thinggy which is less than half its actual selling price. Cheers. Wah..if S$400, I rather get the Dell Mini here at S$420, which got warranty somemore. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Go to some chinawebsites, they sell lots of such MID tablets. $400 is too much lah, can share the spec? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 If need to type a lot while suring MCF onboard flight.... then better get netbook..... surf prawn also more discreet... .... else poke here poke there on the Pad.... painful.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Ok, please help find out and feedback. Appreciate it. I was asked if I wanted "wet goods" and about $400. I'm afraid that it is actually this lookalike thinggy which is less than half its actual selling price. Cheers. no lar Bro.... cut the price to S$40 can consider..... those water good...... its "use and throw".... like the real Pad (for gals)..... ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Was told it is the 64Gb WiFi + 3G model. So far, I've not come across any so called duplicates, that duplicate until exactly the same specs lor. Most of these lookalikes are either running on Android, or memory size not past 32Gb, or only WiFi w/o 3G, or the 3G must use another external USB modem leh.... What you think???? Go to some chinawebsites, they sell lots of such MID tablets. $400 is too much lah, can share the spec? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Was told it is the 64Gb WiFi + 3G model. So far, I've not come across any so called duplicates, that duplicate until exactly the same specs lor. Most of these lookalikes are either running on Android, or memory size not past 32Gb, or only WiFi w/o 3G, or the 3G must use another external USB modem leh.... What you think???? With Wifi + 3G, I think the price range is around there. If just only Wifi, then 150 to 300 can get liao. Oh btw, the screen size also makes the price difference. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...