Dankoo 4th Gear November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 I understand that she is a FT...but to me Tao Li is quite localised now... Yesterday gold was especially sweet for her after being snubbed by the Chinese media. I support her!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carpinion Neutral Newbie November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 How is she localised now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 (edited) She deserve it. She did what is expected from her employer, time to collect her bonus. I think it will be best if she can go learn to sing Majulah Singapura Edited November 19, 2010 by Kingcopa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 Congra to Tao Li for her effort .............. Look like SG swimming is on the down slide ....... Late to register in Doha, disqualified in Quang Zhou ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 still a FT... i dun feel so proud...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 How is she localised now? Hey............. she sang the national anthem ............... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 She talks exactly like a Singaporean with all the singlish during interviews.... i believe she is the first FT to do so? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 still a FT... i dun feel so proud...... When was the last time you feel proud? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 still a FT... i dun feel so proud...... to be fair, while I tend to see a hollow victory whenever our FT sportsman brings glory to our country, this case I feel a real elation. reason being, i think tao li was not poached from foreign land to singaproe for the intention of bringing our country sporting glory. whereas the likes of Li Jia Wei were plucked from china because they had some potential and reputation at the start, i remember tao li seems to come to singapore by chance due to her parents setting up in singapore. hence tao li's case seems to be fate that she lands in singapore and that singapore environment groomed her talents for the most part of her sporting career. while the rest all their fundamental skill developed in their home country and were representing singapore because they were promised carrots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 iirc, she came here very young with her mama to study. then she was talent spotted here. she does speak local singlish. can't differentiate from the other non-atas local kids speaking singlish also. slang and accent similar. but of course her spoken mandarin is still very Chinese given that she learnt it from infancy in China. i will have to say kudos to her. victory is hard fought and well earned, given that she has a height disadvantage compared to the other top ranked swimmers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ImprezaGL Neutral Newbie November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 I love Tao Li. Very proud of her winning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 agree. that was why it was one of those rare FT victory that I feel proud of. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 Hey............. she sang the national anthem ............... did she? watch the live telecast.... dun think so leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 Hey............. she sang the national anthem ............... actually, being able to sing the national anthem is just a perception of a person being loyal to the country. but of course, that is a big perception. not being able to sing the national anthem does not mean that person is not loyal to the country either. no matter what, the first generation FT will always feel something more for their home country unless they have really bad memories growing up there, eg war, famine, drought. Good examples are our grandparents or even parents who might not have grown up here. They will always feel a tug at their heartstring whenever their ex-home country is mentioned. It's the 2nd or future generations who will sink their roots here. They won't feel as much for their parents' home country as they did not grow up there. Like me, I don't feel anything for China even though my grandparents came to Singapore from China in the early 1920s. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 did she? watch the live telecast.... dun think so leh not this games but i remember seeing the ladies table tennis team singing or mouthing the words of the nat'l anthem recently. think it was the commonwealth games. but for this games, did not watch the table tennis action at all. past few nights spent watching gymnastics. very nice. the chinese i think won 13 out of 14 gold medals. they are very good. but the japanese and koreans are also catching up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 i more ai wan Bowling team missed the Gold medal... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 It is STILL a gold for Singapore, nothing less. The Singapore flag was raised in the center and highest and the Majullah Singapura was played. FT or not, we won the Chinese. Feel proud. Period. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 China this time send full team in Table Tennis 3-0,3-0,3-0 ..Sg lost till jiak lak Luckily World Championship China not full,if not Sg also 3-0 all way ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...