Should I Renew my COE When it Expires?

Crazecow

I will rank the decisions in this order:

1. No, go for 8yo 2nd hand cars instead.

2. Yes for 10 years.

3. No for only 5 years, use public tspt instead to tide over the no-car period.

I do think that buying a circa 8yo car is a cheaper and more fun (i.e. you get to drive a different car) bet. You dun lose the PARF value. Yes, the depreciation is the same/higher than a new car but you pay that depreciation for only 2 years. There is an unknown quality issue but hey, choose wisely. The idea is that you will be able to switch seamlessly to a cheaper COE new car 2y later. If you had renewed for 5y and switched to a new car 2 years down the road, you are likely to only recover the unused COE value. I.e. the PARF value of the old car is written off in that two years. If you drive it over the entire 5 years, you will hit the drought years which is unlikely to have cheap COE new cars.

Why 10 years? If one's car is well maintained, he should be able to drive his car all the way for another 10 years. He will achieve a much lower depreciation cost by depreciating the PARF value over the next 10 years. When it is sold during the drought years, he might be able to sell it at higher than its unused COE value.

Edited by Lincoln

There has been many different options shared here, hopefully everyone has a better idea of possible options and can assess them. Personally I don't mind switching to used cars so I can try out different ones. 10 years with the same car is a long time...

In sg context, driving a car for 10 years indeed very long. Most people used to drive their car 3-5 years only. But due to the super high coe now, most people have no choice but to drive their car for 10 years.

Renewing 5 years is good enough. Most cars has 10k parf so that is 2k per year. For new car it is about 6k per year. Yo save 4k per year as well as lower upfront cash.

Edited by zerobim08

There has been many different options shared here, hopefully everyone has a better idea of possible options and can assess them. Personally I don't mind switching to used cars so I can try out different ones. 10 years with the same car is a long time...

this part i dont mind.. just that the cars i wanna drive the used car dealers mark up say 40-50% per year..

and the car is already 7 +years old.. (how to stomach it.. )

i might as well buy a new car, maintenance confirm save some .. and fuel consumption low..

and many new safety features, gadgets...

and so i did buy new..

Mrmilktooth, on 28 May 2015 - 5:15 PM, said:

this part i dont mind.. just that the cars i wanna drive the used car dealers mark up say 40-50% per year..

i might as well buy a new car, maintenance confirm save some .. and fuel consumption low..

and so i did buy new..

If you have lots of cash on hand to pay for the downpayment of new car, surely will go for new car.

and so i did buy new..

I think part of the dilemma is paying $70 - $80K for the right to use your old car for another 10 years, is very sian lor. 😞

If I have e civic type R, I would go renew. Haha

and so i did buy new..

Well yea it has to be a reasonably priced used car too... Congrats on being able to afford downpayment for a new car :D

Anyone know if it's possible to renew Coe earlier. Say you have 5 years left then when Coe is down you renew 20 years?

you can renew early, but the rest of your COE will be forfeited. Maximum renewal is 10 years

There are some people who renewed early in 2009 when COE was rock bottom, saw a few on sgcarmart.

bo bian.. want to drive in singapore, need deep deep pockets.. #YOLO

There are some people who renewed early in 2009 when COE was rock bottom, saw a few on sgcarmart.

last time didn't know about all these. Now know the technique already lol. It's becoming like buying stocks, must see when's the right time

I did not hear much talk about COE renewal in the past when COEs were much cheaper, where were those prudent people that you speak of? 10k COE renewal would equal to 1k depreciation per year only. That reminds me of a prudent guy I know who is my friend's father, who is still driving a Toyota SB_ plate car. I think he has renewed it twice which would make the car 20+ years old now. How many of you did a COE renewal in 2009 for <10k instead of switching to a brand new car? Now that a COE costs the same as the price of a brand new car in 2009, everybody thinks twice.

Well said. It seems mysterious but that's how it works.

If I have e civic type R, I would go renew. Haha

mine is not Type R, just a manual FD. I can't bear to give it up, so most likely I will renew the COE. :D

Manual ftw!!! 1.8l? Still siong.. Pqp 75k + around 10k parf forgone.

85k for 10years ddrivin.. I would buy a new cat A liao. It'sjust me..

I did not renew my 2.0 l MPV as Cat B PQP + PARF is 86k. Buying Cat A car is 109k (after deducting PARF rebate). So an additional $23k I got a new car to drive for 10 years. Also less worry in the first 5 years due to free servicing and AD warranty. Of course monthly instalment is another matter.

Manual car should not have auto gear problem and so should be cheaper to maintain even for COE car.