Majordan 2nd Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 i think giving car rebates to families would be good. can save space on MRT ( i can't imagine bringing the whole gang to MRT including kids in strollers) at the same time maximise road useage (one-man cars are such waste of space) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 better still, no money dun buy car to put urself into more debt! then we should have full cash policy... i for 1 is hands up to a full cash policy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2010 Author Share December 9, 2010 From what i see, usually those household who owns more than 1 car are mostly quite well to do, so it will be back to the same arguement of the rich pushing up the price cos they can afford it..... Have a separate category for COE used for 2nd cars by the rich. This way, the rich can bid $1m for this cat of COE, but wont push up the normal COE you and I use for our 1st car. ............... Or dealers shld not be allow to bid for COE. They just sell cars, buyer will bid their own COE on their own after they booked a car. This will clearly show the demand and supply situation. Yes, the dealers are one of the main culprits who push up COE prices in order to close the deal with their customers who are actually paying for the high price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2010 Author Share December 9, 2010 (edited) We shldn't even have a COE in the 1st place......name me how many country in this world have this regulation....sigh Because other countries are treating their ppl fairly in this regard. Not the case here. Edited December 9, 2010 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2010 Author Share December 9, 2010 ................... But I believe those who voluntarily enter the market for a second or more car should be differentiated from those who are buying the first car of the household. As I said in an earlier post, create a separate "2nd car" Category for COE used for 2nd car in the household. This spearate cat must have a base-price which should be high enough for bidders to think twice before buying their 2nd car. Keep the normal car category free from the high biddings in the "2nd Car" COE biddings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2010 Author Share December 9, 2010 all talk until sibei kiang......... but talk only... no need money mah.... knn personally, i think =someone is playing the market bro, let others talk lah.... it's freedom of speech.... you dont like freedom meh? pple kiang or not, let them be lor, none of your business..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 then we should have full cash policy... i for 1 is hands up to a full cash policy... like dat cannot, no pro-biz as that will kill the huge car loan biz! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2010 Author Share December 9, 2010 If it affects LTA revenue, there's no point in this thread, but just a waste of time. If you feel this is a waste of time, why you still read, and somemore posted??.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2010 Author Share December 9, 2010 erm.... because you need a deposit of 10k payable to LTA... if you dun get the bid then it be refundable to you..... alot of people dun have this 10k spare to park with LTA....... Maybe make the car buyer bid for himself, let the dealer provide a shortterm loan (with interest) for the buyer to bid............. if lta impose this as a rule, dealers LL will lend money to the buyer to do his won bidding... dealer can either lend the short term loan of 10k or arrange for finance companies to provide the loan. The question is: will LTA help buyers to make the system more pro-consumers instead of pro-dealers?? will they??.............. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 bro, let others talk lah.... it's freedom of speech.... you dont like freedom meh? pple kiang or not, let them be lor, none of your business..... freedom... i like... so i also talk mah..... no meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 Maybe make the car buyer bid for himself, let the dealer provide a shortterm loan (with interest) for the buyer to bid............. if lta impose this as a rule, dealers LL will lend money to the buyer to do his won bidding... dealer can either lend the short term loan of 10k or arrange for finance companies to provide the loan. The question is: will LTA help buyers to make the system more pro-consumers instead of pro-dealers?? will they??.............. erm actually you already can bid for youself le... just go dealer and tell them you bidding for your own COE... then ask them for list price of the car only..... since only 10k... you can get loan anywhere no need dealers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2010 Author Share December 9, 2010 Theoretically an easy thing to achieve. But until the moon turns blue (read: PAP no longer in power), don't even think about it. The money needs to immediately go back to the coffers. not the people - remember that. Buying a car in SG is a vicious cycle for individuals. This shows that the current gahmen is more pro-$$$ making than being fair to the ppl in this regard..... I could be wrong though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 like dat cannot, no pro-biz as that will kill the huge car loan biz! anyway what ever is done now.. we can only see the effect 10yrs later... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2010 Author Share December 9, 2010 freedom... i like... so i also talk mah..... no meh? ya lah, but in case some not so kiang and yet you called them kiang, make them feel bai say.... if you actually mean the opposite when you called them kiang, then please give them a chance lor, dont shoot them lidat.... PEACE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 ya lah, but in case some not so kiang and yet you called them kiang, make them feel bai say.... if you actually mean the opposite when you called them kiang, then please give them a chance lor, dont shoot them lidat.... PEACE never shoot them ar.. praising them leh... can think of short term solution..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 Because other countries are treating their ppl fairly in this regard. Not the case here. Quite interesting and actually quite complicated... It all started out to "control" the number of cars in "small" S'pore. So to make it a little unreachable for some... make it expensive la.. everything... petrol,COE,road tax, ERP, parking, insurance. Not until recently more ppl have earn their way up thru the years of labour to finally achive the unreachable, the ones who are already up there takes the advantage in having more of what they need...Not that they deserve it too but the whole system was put up to ensure no over population of vehicular traffic... not that it was made to make everyone afford a car or 2 or 3... SO everything has to go UP again la. Yes it sucks... to the core.... we can only envy other nation where owning a car is not a liability but a means of transportation...simple thing for ppl to go from point A to point B. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2010 Author Share December 9, 2010 never shoot them ar.. praising them leh... can think of short term solution..... lidat good mah.... gahmen takes care of long term, we help by talking (only talking) about short term solutions.......... one big happy family.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gimmoh Neutral Newbie December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 I agree with TS that COE potentially can follow the owner for a period of X years. - Within X years, owner can transfer it from car to car or choose to terminate it to get refund for unused period. - For people who are first time owners, agents or dealers would first need to secure a COE for them before they can purchase a car. - Likewise for first time owners buying a used car. - COE can still be categorized into different cats. - COE can still be limited. - LTA can still enforce car ownership for people who have COE, for eg. if COE not used for an extended period of time, say 2 years, it will automatically be terminated. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...