Play out by Car Rental Company

Sio07

All points taken.

I have learnt that many Singaporeans are actually quite tolerant of unreasonable service, which include broken promises and contractual agreement.

I have also learnt that by keeping quiet in such situations, we gave the operators the courage to keep providing sub-standard services.

Fortunately, my case was resolved, I am able to find another rental co at the same price with the help of the service staff. I must admit it was good service recovery on her part and a job well done. She went out of her way to recommned a competitor. For this, I will not post their name. I think it is fair since they help resolved my problem.

I have reasons to suspect some of the people who posted on this thread (I said SOME) has direct connection with the rental company given the info they provided in the thread (some undisclosed info were actually known to these pple! Amazing)

Anyway, I hope the case is considered closed and I hope to collect my car later in the evening.

I will update you guys again.

I will to emphasize that ....when I share the story, I hope others can learn from it. Not just a cow peh cow bu issue. I must admit that the emotional state that I was in was not rite (1 day to trip...without car and hotel booked...panic)...I posted here to get opinions from brothers here.....and I have learnt the above. I am enriched. Thank you all....

Good to know that they managed and willing to help sort out the issue.

Have a safe trip! Do not speed!

I just received a call from my car rental company that the car that I am renting for the weekend, got into an acident and they do not have a replacement vehicle for me (same make and model).

Ask me to downgrade to another saloon (much smaller cc , with -20 buck diff, and I dun like the model that she recommended)

I have already paid $100 deposit last week and will want a bigger car for the trip...unwilling to downgrade....and I dun want to pay extras.

Can the bro here advise me? How now? I only have 1 day left....

If she does not give me a reasonable replacement car, I will post the company name here to warn other.

Dude, ...

If you're the owner of 3 condominium units (a studio unit, a 2-bedroom unit, and a 5 bedroom duplex penthouse), .. and have entered into a lease agreement to rent out the 2-bedroom unit to a Tenant, collecting upfront advance rent and security deposit.

2 days prior to handing over of premises, that said 2-bedroom unit caught fire, and was utterly ruined.

Will you be compensating the Tenant by offering him/her your penthouse at no extra charge? Or suggest the Tenant takes the studio unit, at a lower rental?

Bo bian means bo bian.

Dude, ...

If you're the owner of 3 condominium units (a studio unit, a 2-bedroom unit, and a 5 bedroom duplex penthouse), .. and have entered into a lease agreement to rent out the 2-bedroom unit to a Tenant, collecting upfront advance rent and security deposit.

2 days prior to handing over of premises, that said 2-bedroom unit caught fire, and was utterly ruined.

Will you be compensating the Tenant by offering him/her your penthouse at no extra charge? Or suggest the Tenant takes the studio unit, at a lower rental?

Bo bian means bo bian.

No, I think Sio07 has his point as well. If I booked a hotel room in advance and paid a deposit, upon my arrival if that category room is not available, the hotel WILL upgrade me to a higher category without any additional charge. So for his case, I think the rental company should give him an upgrade instead of asking him to downgrade and pay lesser. I am sure rental companies have their own networking as well, so if they can't do upgrade, they should get the same category car from their other counterpart instead.

Free upgrades, if given in lieu of absence of originally intended product/offering, is a gesture of goodwill on the part of the organization.

It ain't mandatory - though it is usually the practice.

Guess what I'm trying to say is if given a free 'upgrade', well and good! Kudos to the organization!

If not given, I wouldn't go to a forum, and whine, and threaten to spell out the name of the organization.

Cos honestly, .... does the organization really HAVE TO accord that free upgrade?

If she does not give me a reasonable replacement car, I will post the company name here to warn other.

Free upgrades, if given in lieu of absence of originally intended product/offering, is a gesture of goodwill on the part of the organization.

It ain't mandatory - though it is usually the practice.

Guess what I'm trying to say is if given a free 'upgrade', well and good! Kudos to the organization!

If not given, I wouldn't go to a forum, and whine, and threaten to spell out the name of the organization.

Cos honestly, .... does the organization really HAVE TO accord that free upgrade?

OK, I got your point now. Anyway, it is good that the issue has been resolved. Happy ending.

All points taken.

I have learnt that many Singaporeans are actually quite tolerant of unreasonable service, which include broken promises and contractual agreement.

I have also learnt that by keeping quiet in such situations, we gave the operators the courage to keep providing sub-standard services.

Fortunately, my case was resolved, I am able to find another rental co at the same price with the help of the service staff. I must admit it was good service recovery on her part and a job well done. She went out of her way to recommned a competitor. For this, I will not post their name. I think it is fair since they help resolved my problem.

I have reasons to suspect some of the people who posted on this thread (I said SOME) has direct connection with the rental company given the info they provided in the thread (some undisclosed info were actually known to these pple! Amazing)

Anyway, I hope the case is considered closed and I hope to collect my car later in the evening.

I will to emphasize that ....when I share the story, I hope others can learn from it. Not just a cow peh cow bu issue. I must admit that the emotional state that I was in was not rite (1 day to trip...without car and hotel booked...panic)...I posted here to get opinions from brothers here.....and I have learnt the above. I am enriched. Thank you all....

precisely they give good service you should give their names mah [laugh] [laugh]

Dude, ...

Bo bian means bo bian.

In the case that you stated above, I think you have to pay a compensation. i.e if I managed to secure another 2-room at the higher rental rate, you will pay the difference? Any lawyers here?

Simply because you sign a lease agreement. The tenant also have rights.

Free upgrades, if given in lieu of absence of originally intended product/offering, is a gesture of goodwill on the part of

I guess we all have different ways of doing things. Going to a forum to reveal the name of the company is not whining...

I hope the rest can learn from this. If you do not appreciate the sharing of experience, why do we need forums for?

To share our experiences mah? but den you are entitled to your opinions, I am sure the pple here can judge for themselves.

I guess 50% want to know the name and 50% (like yourself,) have no interest in the name....you just want to protect them. Why? I have no idea.....

Dude, ...

Bo bian means bo bian.

the owner need to compensate the tenant by finding them a place with similar terms as the lease agreement.

if the owner did not compensate the tenant by finding them a place with similar term as per lease agreement, tenant can reserve the right to sue.

the same to the tenant, if the tenant sign a lease and prior to taking over doesnt want the place. he/she must compensate the owner on the same terms.

the owner need to compensate the tenant by finding them a place with similar terms as the lease agreement.

if the owner did not compensate the tenant by finding them a place with similar term as per lease agreement, tenant can reserve the right to sue.

the same to the tenant, if the tenant sign a lease and prior to taking over doesnt want the place. he/she must compensate the owner on the same terms.

Thanks....someone with the right knowledge to comment on this.

I think the forummers have eyes to see and judge what I am trying to prove.

This is not about bo bian...just curse yourself and get on with life. There is an agreeement and we have to honor it.

if agreement are not meant to be honored and protected, den why signed it in the first place? Dun sign lah...dun ask for deposit .....tio bo?

If i go to the showroom and sign the purchase agreeement, den I changed my mind....you think the company will just say..."Suay lah, look for the next customer!".....chances are.....you will be receiving the lawyer letter, seeking for compensation.

not their fault if someone banged the car...... look for alternative, there's so many rental companies out there ^_^

i am not simply blaming them....

Similar to the example that you just gave......going by your stand...if you are the rental company, will you not ask the person who bang your car to compensate you? Or you can curse and say " suay lah...the brakes doesnt work! Let move on with our lives?"

You will stand for your rights.....and ask for compensation.

I am not asking for trouble, I ask them how can we resolve this? They must give me options and alternatives. Will you accept something llike ...1) I dun have a car, 2) I will refund your deposit or 3) I will help you resolve this by offering the following alternatives?....It is about problem solving, not passing the bucket....

All points taken.

What i had learnt was diff from u...

i think most of Sporean (or those who reply) are actually quite fair ppl...they look at the situation and advise accordingly...

i think it is no point to suggest that those who dont agree with u must be from that car rental company...i found that funny...

frankly.. i also like to receive good service... but i also had to look at the company that i am using...

like i go to hawker centre... i would expect them to bring the food to me... it is mostly self-service... yes.. i know ... some still bring the food to ur table.. but that also depend on their operation situation... like non-peak hours... or the boss is in good mood..

of course u dont expect this kind of service from a resturant..

Latest update...

i called them to pick up the car...

They told me no more car...push the blame around.....

Is this the service that all of you can tolerate. Worst case situation now is I am left with no car for my trip up north tomm. Whole holidays ruined.

Can you guys tolerate it?

Enough said....

Latest update...

i called them to pick up the car...

They told me no more car...push the blame around.....

Is this the service that all of you can tolerate. Worst case situation now is I am left with no car for my trip up north tomm. Whole holidays ruined.

Can you guys tolerate it?

Enough said....

Post the name post the name.

I want to avoid that company.

I think you should check the terms and conditions of rental.

However, I think you might be disappointed because most companies nowadays have an indemity clause

attached to any contract. If no contract was signed, then I would suggest since they are unwilling to come

up with a solution to their client, you should go ahead and sue their pants off.

E.g.

1) Failure to abide by contract/agreement based on email confirmation(I hope you went through that)

resulting in:

2) Loss of deposit to hotel due to late cancellation from intentional breach of contract on part of rental company

3) Loss of annual leave for said trip due to late cancellation from intentional breach of contract on part of rental company

4) Loss of quality family time and distress due to late cancellation from intentional breach of contract on part of rental company

A good lawyer can advise you on claims on one or more of the above and some I haven't even listed.

All in all, amount should be below 10k so small claims tribunal.

I run a business too. There's no such thing as always win, unless you are in HDB.

Sometimes I earn more, some cases I have to top up some, but customer satisfaction

is the most important. And keeping with any any agreements finalised on. This company

just wants to pass the buck to the end-user whom they think they can bully.

Hope you get everything down in email/sms-es.

Post the name post the name.

I want to avoid that company.

I think you should check the terms and conditions of rental.

However, I think you might be disappointed because most companies nowadays have an indemity clause

attached to any contract. If no contract was signed, then I would suggest since they are unwilling to come

up with a solution to their client, you should go ahead and sue their pants off.

E.g.

1) Failure to abide by contract/agreement based on email confirmation(I hope you went through that)

resulting in:

2) Loss of deposit to hotel due to late cancellation from intentional breach of contract on part of rental company

3) Loss of annual leave for said trip due to late cancellation from intentional breach of contract on part of rental company

4) Loss of quality family time and distress due to late cancellation from intentional breach of contract on part of rental company

A good lawyer can advise you on claims on one or more of the above and some I haven't even listed.

All in all, amount should be below 10k so small claims tribunal.

I run a business too. There's no such thing as always win, unless you are in HDB.

Sometimes I earn more, some cases I have to top up some, but customer satisfaction

is the most important. And keeping with any any agreements finalised on. This company

just wants to pass the buck to the end-user whom they think they can bully.

Hope you get everything down in email/sms-es.

Hmmm .... it ain't as if he wasn't provided an alternative: -

Ask me to downgrade to another saloon (much smaller cc , with -20 buck diff, and I dun like the model that she recommended)

I have already paid $100 deposit last week and will want a bigger car for the trip...unwilling to downgrade....and I dun want to pay extras.

(I stand to be corrected if he was offered a 5-seater, when the original was a 7-seater - which i doubt will be the case given the S$20 difference).

The suggested alternative does permit TS to avert your forecasted scenario: -

Imagine, you're supposed to fly Business Class to attend an important meeting, ... however the entire Business Class sector is deemed unusable due to electrical malfunction.

You are offered an Economical Class seat - with the difference in rates being refunded.

Should you refuse this offer, and decline to fly, .. ending up missing the meeting, .. resulting in huge financial losses - is the airline liable?

Afterall, you are provided with an alternative to arrive at the meeting, with zero time loss.