Ecaf Neutral Newbie January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 At the risk of getting flamed, I strongly agree that tailgating is a bigger "crime". Even a stupid one too. I often see cars that are a mere meter or two behind the other car. Even with the best brakes you won't be able to avoid an impending crash. Does tailgating the car in front of you make you go faster? I know for sure it raises the risk of getting into an accident and then causing inconvenience to the other road users. Roadhoggers should know to move out of Lane 1, tailgaters should know wiser than to follow too close to the car in front. If everyone, or at least 90% of drivers adhere to this, driving here would be more pleasant (and traffic would be smoother!) ps For the record I rarely drive in Lane 1, except when overtaking. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 Having worked in UK for a while and using a UK forum for other stuff I thought I'd ask that forum which was worse, hoggers or gaiters. Singapore says hoggers if I read MCF correctly. UK forum says without doubt that tailgaiters are far far worse. Funny that. different lifestyle. Singapore lifestyle is rush rush therefore hoggers are more infuriating than gaters while ang mohs like to do thing the relax way so they like to drive slow slow enjoy scenery and dun like to be pushed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 At the risk of getting flamed, I strongly agree that tailgating is a bigger "crime". Even a stupid one too. I often see cars that are a mere meter or two behind the other car. Even with the best brakes you won't be able to avoid an impending crash. Does tailgating the car in front of you make you go faster? I know for sure it raises the risk of getting into an accident and then causing inconvenience to the other road users. Roadhoggers should know to move out of Lane 1, tailgaters should know wiser than to follow too close to the car in front. If everyone, or at least 90% of drivers adhere to this, driving here would be more pleasant (and traffic would be smoother!) ps For the record I rarely drive in Lane 1, except when overtaking. I admit sometimes i keep quite close to the car in front of me and I really hate to step brake on lane 1 of expressway but i nv had the intention to tailgate any car. But some roadhoggers really stay in lane 1 and drive so ever slowly that causes a tailback until changi he still dunnoe what's going on one leh, even after a few blasts of horn and highbeam. Since lane 1 kena hogged, lane 2 is faster liao, god bless the one car that slows down and let you join lane 2 and may god have mercy on those who will die if they ever give way to anyone that cuts in front of them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugen85 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 Simple... Dont road hog...No road hoggers = No tailgaters If it is not a traffic jam, always give people the benefit of doubt that he/she is rushing. Filter left and after he/she overtake simply filter back. This will also safeguard yourself from getting kissed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 (edited) Having worked in UK for a while and using a UK forum for other stuff I thought I'd ask that forum which was worse, hoggers or gaiters. Singapore says hoggers if I read MCF correctly. UK forum says without doubt that tailgaiters are far far worse. Funny that. Hi bro, since you worked in UK before, then you should also realise the big difference between drivers there & in Singapore. Even my army friend that go there for holiday was caught off guard by how friendly the drivers ( & people in general) are over there. Different culture lah. When I came back from UK after adapting to driving there. Coming back to Singapore, it suddenly feel like I was on a NASCAR track, you see cars zip zapping, doing overtaking manuevures that even Alonso or Vettel can be proud of, & "drafting" everywhere. It will take a while for the people to improve lah. I do see some (abiet slow) improvement in our road manners, I even have experience women, showing gesture of appreciation to me when I give way here recently. When I stop for pedestrians to pass, something, they will show a "thank you" with their hand. It was pretty rare just years ago (in my memory). Edited January 12, 2011 by Kiadaw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 If our boss dont scold us for being late to work. Things wont be so bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 However the way you write seems to insinuate that KARTer is a road hogger because he started this thread. But if you do think he is then please come out straight and explain why. We already have a retard in this thread - that's more than enough. To Goodcarbuyer - Hello reeeetaaaarrrd! I am not insinuating anything about Karter. The only person insinuating is you. You also like to call people retard. I don't think this is necessary and just reflect badly on yourself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 Simple... Dont road hog...No road hoggers = No tailgaters If it is not a traffic jam, always give people the benefit of doubt that he/she is rushing. Filter left and after he/she overtake simply filter back. This will also safeguard yourself from getting kissed... Great post I couldn't agree more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 I am not insinuating anything about Karter. The only person insinuating is you. You also like to call people retard. I don't think this is necessary and just reflect badly on yourself. Sorry if I miss out where I'm insinuating anything. If you know the difference I'm calling him outright a retard because he is one. And it is absolutely necessary. There's no need to get defensive if you are not insinuating anything about Karter being a road hog in your posts. Just helping to point out how your posts are coming across. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 12, 2011 Author Share January 12, 2011 If people feel they are always being tailgated, cars are always horning and flashing them then they have to reflect on their driving style. Coming here to complain about being tailgated and not changing their drivng style will not solve their tailgating problem. I dont know about others and I dont really want to speak for them whether they drive the ways you described. I hardly get tailgated, but see a lot of tailgaters doing it to cars in front of them when clearly a bit of patience to let the cars in front find the gap to speed up or move over wont hurt, dont you agree? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 12, 2011 Author Share January 12, 2011 Sorry if I miss out where I'm insinuating anything. If you know the difference I'm calling him outright a retard because he is one. And it is absolutely necessary. There's no need to get defensive if you are not insinuating anything about Karter being a road hog in your posts. Just helping to point out how your posts are coming across. Bro, appreciate your posts I really dont know about him, his driving, motives, etc etc. But for passing time before I sleep or during my breaks in the day, there are posts I will read / reply not really in a serious way (coz it's Lite&EZ anyway). Again, your comments are appreciated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 12, 2011 Author Share January 12, 2011 If our boss dont scold us for being late to work. Things wont be so bad My boss always late for work..... maybe he roadhogs, or he's always blocked by roadhoggers??..... But yes, bosses should give n take abit especially sgp traffic is quite jam-prone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 Bro, appreciate your posts I really dont know about him, his driving, motives, etc etc. But for passing time before I sleep or during my breaks in the day, there are posts I will read / reply not really in a serious way (coz it's Lite&EZ anyway). Again, your comments are appreciated You are welcome bro. Trying my best to clear out the confusion so that we can get an occasional mature discussion going on around here. I know this is the internet and open to all sorts but sometimes I get way too much time on my hands. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 12, 2011 Author Share January 12, 2011 Hi bro, since you worked in UK before, then you should also realise the big difference between drivers there & in Singapore. Even my army friend that go there for holiday was caught off guard by how friendly the drivers ( & people in general) are over there. Different culture lah. When I came back from UK after adapting to driving there. Coming back to Singapore, it suddenly feel like I was on a NASCAR track, you see cars zip zapping, doing overtaking manuevures that even Alonso or Vettel can be proud of, & "drafting" everywhere. It will take a while for the people to improve lah. I do see some (abiet slow) improvement in our road manners, I even have experience women, showing gesture of appreciation to me when I give way here recently. When I stop for pedestrians to pass, something, they will show a "thank you" with their hand. It was pretty rare just years ago (in my memory). When I drove in UK/JPN like I was on sgp roads eg 'frequent' lane-changes, etc, I felt like the odd one out there:- must be the differences in culture / social habits between there and here. Everyone seems to be in a hurry here which is not really bad or good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 (edited) When I drove in UK/JPN like I was on sgp roads eg 'frequent' lane-changes, etc, I felt like the odd one out there:- must be the differences in culture / social habits between there and here. Everyone seems to be in a hurry here which is not really bad or good. Yap, In Uk, people usually keep to their lane unless exiting the road, or got a big truck in front. Also, nothing wrong with being in a hurry, as long as not causing danger in the road. Its people that do racing style overtaking that cause my blood to boil. Edited January 12, 2011 by Kiadaw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 At the risk of getting flamed, I strongly agree that tailgating is a bigger "crime". Even a stupid one too. I often see cars that are a mere meter or two behind the other car. Even with the best brakes you won't be able to avoid an impending crash. Does tailgating the car in front of you make you go faster? I know for sure it raises the risk of getting into an accident and then causing inconvenience to the other road users. Roadhoggers should know to move out of Lane 1, tailgaters should know wiser than to follow too close to the car in front. If everyone, or at least 90% of drivers adhere to this, driving here would be more pleasant (and traffic would be smoother!) ps For the record I rarely drive in Lane 1, except when overtaking. Have to agree with you that tailgating is both stupid and dangerous. But I would even go further to suggest that tailgaters usually cause just as much road jams and inconveniences as road hoggers. Why? Because to me it's a matter of having a little patience when you drive. Tailgaters have this weird mentality or ego that tell them they must be in front of you and everyone must clear out. These idiots are probably the ones you see driving all the way in front and cutting queues on the exit lanes or right turning lanes. Even when they could have easily slide behind the queues. They believe that by signaling it gives them the right to cut into your queue even if they have just stopped and held up straight going traffic behind them. That's usually why traffic all ways get backed up slowly when a few of these impatient drivers do that. But as you know these idiots don't give a fcuk as long as they get in front. Lack common sense and courtesy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 Tail gater, road hogger, it's a never ending story. I'm happy to admit that I've been both at some point of time. So for a person who has been both intentionally, I must say that there is no right or wrong as during either incident, the driver(me) will always feel that he is justified to tailgate or roadhog and it's always the other driver who's being an idiot. When younger and chionging around, everyone other car in lane 1 is a road hogger. When got more experienced after accident and stuff, drive safer, I became a road hogger to the young uns. Nowadays, roadhogger or tailgater also don't care, most importantly is to arrive at my destination safely and do my best to ensure the safety of my passengers with minimal or no traffic violations. *For the record, when possible and reasonably convenient, I would move aside to let a faster car behind pass without having to tailgate. **If you expect me to be inconvenienced at your convenience, balls to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 Tail gater, road hogger, it's a never ending story. I'm happy to admit that I've been both at some point of time. So for a person who has been both intentionally, I must say that there is no right or wrong as during either incident, the driver(me) will always feel that he is justified to tailgate or roadhog and it's always the other driver who's being an idiot. When younger and chionging around, everyone other car in lane 1 is a road hogger. When got more experienced after accident and stuff, drive safer, I became a road hogger to the young uns. Nowadays, roadhogger or tailgater also don't care, most importantly is to arrive at my destination safely and do my best to ensure the safety of my passengers with minimal or no traffic violations. *For the record, when possible and reasonably convenient, I would move aside to let a faster car behind pass without having to tailgate. **If you expect me to be inconvenienced at your convenience, balls to you. Well said bro. Like Donnie Yan said in Ip man. "What is more important than going home to have dinner with family". ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...