Jj5599 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 I was exiting the car park at Bishan Junction 8 shopping centre, and there was a bump at the exit before you hit the road. I was driving at very slow speed uphill and after moving up the bump there was a sound of something scraping my undercarriage. Has anyone experienced the same there before? I didn't experience any scraping at other bumps before. I am pretty certain its the stone bump is the culprit as there seemed to be multiple deep scratches on the bump after I walked past today and not the small square plastic dividing the enter/exit lanes scraping my undercarriage. Now I worry that my undercarriage could be damaged. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 is your car fitted with a low body kit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginx Neutral Newbie January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 (edited) J8 carpark is infamous for tat stupid hump after the slope up. damn stupid location for a hump as the upper part of ur car goes down the hump while the back of the car is still down the slope. If your ride is lowered confirmed hit. Even if lowered jus abit. I hit tat hump once super duper hard and till now never park in j8. always at the hdb one next door. Edited January 12, 2011 by Ginx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Author Share January 12, 2011 stock leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginx Neutral Newbie January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 anyway quite unlikely its damaged la. probably jus scratches. but if you want a peace of mind, go your mech and jack up ur car n inspect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Author Share January 12, 2011 (edited) I just heart pain only, I drive and park carefully one then when exit I hear that sound, really sick. So then I can't drive to J8 and exit without scraping my undercarriage now ? wah.. Edited January 12, 2011 by Jj5599 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 (edited) it could be your stock suspension slack liao . You can still park there and execute a 45degree approach when going over the hump. Edited January 12, 2011 by Contax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 I just heart pain only, I drive and park carefully one then when exit I hear that sound, really sick. So then I can't drive to J8 and exit without scraping my undercarriage now ? wah.. u havent try bugis 1... or JP... cck... more to come... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Author Share January 12, 2011 (edited) That angle I need to make sure there are no oncoming cars from the "enter" lane which is almost invisible from down the slope. So its dangerous. Later got one drive rush in at high speed then.. Edited January 12, 2011 by Jj5599 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Author Share January 12, 2011 (edited) Bugis one?, u talking about near the Intercontinental exit? What about it? Edited January 12, 2011 by Jj5599 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mona-vie 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 IT won't be damaged but it will have scratches. You need to get it checked. The problem is that undercarriage is usually sprayed with a layer of anti rust coat. This coat will come off if you scrape the undercarriage. So you need to get it resprayed. You can also jack up the car and DIY youyself. Just get a can of undercarriage spray (its a rubber coating) from autobacs will do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Author Share January 12, 2011 Maybe we can come up with a list of dangerous car parks? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 Bugis one?, u talking about near the Intercontinental exit? What about it? not that one.. i tot that's exit... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Author Share January 12, 2011 So its the entrance? Its an undercarriage killer I presume? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 I just came out from J8 today. My car only got 1 finger spacing and I have no problems clearing it lei. Maybe it is because of your speed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Author Share January 12, 2011 I drive very slow one, slower if up the slope, even my wife complained. Some more my car is stock leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 Bugis one?, u talking about near the Intercontinental exit? What about it? That one is a killer, also very steep ^ shape. I've seen a very very posh car scrap the sideskirt portion and undercarriage there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Torquemonster 1st Gear January 12, 2011 Share January 12, 2011 I drive very slow one, slower if up the slope, even my wife complained. Some more my car is stock leh. What car are u driving? Are u carrying anybody in the rear seat or is there any heavy weight in your boot as it can cause your ride to lower and result in scraping of undercarriage on humps and ramps. If so ask everybody in your car to get out before entering the car before entering the car park ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...