Goodyear Eagle LS2000 Hybrid II problem

Dscheng

Hi all,

I currently using Goodyear LS2000. My tyre profile is 215 / 50/ 17 inch. I had been using this set of tyre for 1 year ++. Until recently i come back from cameron highland, my tyre like no grip. Especially i do a fast pickup, my tyre is spinning easily even on a dry road.

I do a tyre thread check, no sign of uneven wear. The thread still have a lot. I even do a tyre rotation.

There is one time i was at sengkang compass point shopping mall entrance. The entrance was a slant right side slope up. When i was travelling up the slope, my front tyre suddenly lose grip and it was keep spinning. My car was stuck on the slope. No matter, how hard i step on my pedal, the tyre keep spinning until a lot of smoke. Intially I thought normal, because that time is rainning and wet ground.

Wah lau damn paiseh, behind of my car all siam me. Slowly, i reverse and go in a straight manner then was able to clear up the slope. Even the security guard come and see wht happen.

Today also same thing happen at People park complex shopping mall. The entrance was smiliar to compass point slant right side slope up. My tyre also lose grip and spinning like no body business.

Frankly speaking, normal driving or straight up slope totally no problem. Even i do a fast hard corner, i still feel the tyre grip. Now i totally have phobia of clearing up the slope especially shopping mall carpark.

I really don't understand why my tyre is losing grip while the thread still have a lot. Anyone can advice me? or having the same situation as me? Should i change away all my tyre?

Sorry for my long winded story.

Hi all,

I currently using Goodyear LS2000. My tyre profile is 215 / 50/ 17 inch. I had been using this set of tyre for 1 year ++. Until recently i come back from cameron highland, my tyre like no grip. Especially i do a fast pickup, my tyre is spinning easily even on a dry road.

I do a tyre thread check, no sign of uneven wear. The thread still have a lot. I even do a tyre rotation.

There is one time i was at sengkang compass point shopping mall entrance. The entrance was a slant right side slope up. When i was travelling up the slope, my front tyre suddenly lose grip and it was keep spinning. My car was stuck on the slope. No matter, how hard i step on my pedal, the tyre keep spinning until a lot of smoke. Intially I thought normal, because that time is rainning and wet ground.

Wah lau damn paiseh, behind of my car all siam me. Slowly, i reverse and go in a straight manner then was able to clear up the slope. Even the security guard come and see wht happen.

Today also same thing happen at People park complex shopping mall. The entrance was smiliar to compass point slant right side slope up. My tyre also lose grip and spinning like no body business.

Frankly speaking, normal driving or straight up slope totally no problem. Even i do a fast hard corner, i still feel the tyre grip. Now i totally have phobia of clearing up the slope especially shopping mall carpark.

I really don't understand why my tyre is losing grip while the thread still have a lot. Anyone can advice me? or having the same situation as me? Should i change away all my tyre?

Sorry for my long winded story.

what car u driving bro??

my mom's sylphy 1.5L with 205/55/R16.. end 2009 manufactured.. doesn't have this problem when driving on wet..

i also using this tyre. 205/45/R16

make in japan but tyre is very fragile.

ever change one tyre before.

but this tyre is consider cheap , i wont want to complain much.

ls2k h2 is not good when wet. in mscp on level ground when wet u can wheelspin if you step hard.

try accelerate gently instead of stepping hard when going up slope.

what car u driving bro??

my mom's sylphy 1.5L with 205/55/R16.. end 2009 manufactured.. doesn't have this problem when driving on wet..

Lancer Ex 1.5 bro. Initially, i also have no problem. After 15k mileage, the grip begin to fade off. Maybe i do a lot hard cornering during simpang pulai @ cameron highland during downhill. I begin to hate this tyre..somemore made in japan le.. Sucks big time ~!!

Edited by Dscheng

ls2k h2 is not good when wet. in mscp on level ground when wet u can wheelspin if you step hard.

try accelerate gently instead of stepping hard when going up slope.

ya i know this MSCP ground is difference from road. Even normal road wet condition, if doing a right turn when at junction, sometime i wanna pickup fast to clear the traffic and i do experience tyre spinning le. But i have no problem on normal MSCP straight uphill slope.. It is just slant right or left turn uphlll slope then i damn scare..

Should i change away this set of tyre?? If possible, i will show the picture of my tyre thread pic by tomorrow. Any recommedation tyre? Value for $$ and most important is the grip for dry and wet road? Anyone using Kumho duno wht U31 tyre? It stated ultra high performance tyre. Seriously, i lose faith on made in japan tyre.. or maybe just goodyear tyre.. NO goodyear tyre for me anymore, it is badyear for me instead.

Edited by Dscheng

Should i change away this set of tyre?? If possible, i will show the picture of my tyre thread pic by tomorrow. Any recommedation tyre? Value for $$ and most important is the grip for dry and wet road? Anyone using Kumho duno wht U31 tyre? It stated ultra high performance tyre. Seriously, i lose faith on made in japan tyre.. or maybe just goodyear tyre.. NO goodyear tyre for me anymore, it is badyear for me instead.

Kumho KU31 i think..

hmmm.. i am not sure about ur usage.. but the sylphy went up and down Genting with the same rubbers.. mileage so far coming 30K..

all seems well and thread still looks good..

u can try Westlake.. seems value for $$$.. reviews online seems that it is used mostly as a summer tyre..

I think its the confidence and understanding of the limitation of TS tyre and car that is leading to TS stepping harder on the accelerator.

My jazz origianl tyre(175/65R15) also spins like no tomorrow on wet cement flooring, especially up those sloping/spiral carparks.

Just have to start off with momentum and maintain the engine power.

Sudden power will cause the tyre to lose grip on wet flooring.

random011.jpg

random012.jpg

This is my tyre pic.. still have thread, but there is one chip off on my tyre side wall. Does this chip off cause any lose grip? Or is it dangerous? Stupid hump la..

I think its the confidence and understanding of the limitation of TS tyre and car that is leading to TS stepping harder on the accelerator.

My jazz origianl tyre(175/65R15) also spins like no tomorrow on wet cement flooring, especially up those sloping/spiral carparks.

Just have to start off with momentum and maintain the engine power.

Sudden power will cause the tyre to lose grip on wet flooring.

Hmm.. my frd ever told me abt this logic before.. he say i step my pedal too hard during up the slope and the momentum must be right. Haiz.

we are talking abt tire here.. if u are not comfortable with the tire.. better change it...

it is better that u end up with something else then u regards....a better tire shld solve most of ur problem..

kind of think abt it.. look like GY had this problem.. last time was using respev RS-02... also had this wheelspin problem... some friend tell me is because it is sport tire.. so it is softer (better grip).. so normal to have this wheelspin...

but after 30K...i change to a GR80 (that time still have)...and no more wheelspin for me..

base on ur photo, i would consider the tire worn liao pass the 50% couple with the problme u having,i would probably change tire liao.

imagine that time if u slip back and knock those car behiind u...

hi bro, i have seen & heard many cars slipping on the upslope to the taxi stand at compass pt many times, during dry weather yes.

perhaps u should try to lessen the tyre air pressure for better grip.

from the way i read TS's comment, i think

1) maybe tyre pressure is very high thus less traction on the road surface

or

2) TS not skillful in controlling a car when ascending. Coordinating hand brake and accelerator a bit duck leg and duck hand

or

3) road surface is very wet or has special coating thus making traction less desirable.

i hv friends (female and male) using LS2K, they have no issue wor....

I think you will need to check the manufactured year and week from your tyre side wall.. C whether is it old stock orn.. Next possibility will be compound getting harder and resulted in lost in grip... Tyre pressure do play a part.. So try lower your tyre pressure and c whether problem still persists.. If wanna change tyre, i would recommend Toyo C1S made in Japan.. Reasonable price.. Been using it for 38000km (1 yr 6months) noise level still ok, comfort and grip is there..

Although I agree with you that the tires have not very good grip in the wet I believe your problem could be compunded because your acceleration techinque is too agressive. That is why we have ABS to stop the car and anti slip to move off the car in the snow/wet etc. Check if your car has an auto skid/slip function or if you can start off in a higher gear (ie 2nd gear). Most Jap cars have a very tall ratio on 1st gear for quick acceleration. The other solution is to be featherlight on the gas pedal. As the saying goes, one the tires spin - you are just spinning your wheels. You won't get anywhere.