Idle or Off Engine?

Kt2u

Idle or Off Engine?  

62 members have voted

1. 1. While stationary waiting for a short while (2-3 mins), do you

• leaving engine running at idle?
    • off the engine completely?

I think to off the engine at a stop junction doesnt make sense at all. Can you imagine the no of times you will need to crank the engine within a day. Its definitely going to strain you car in a sense.

Just take note if you are stopping for more than 3 mins, its better to off the engine. Other than saving fuel, you are also saving the earth, well to a certain extend tat is :D .. But every little step helps

if u have start engine button will not be an issue....

for more than 5 min, off engine

yup. i think a good benchmark is 5mins duration.

if <5mins, just leave it idle.

if >5mins, just off the engine.

for cars with high xxAh battery, i would suggest you not to idle for too long. :-/

if u have start engine button will not be an issue....

for more than 5 min, off engine

err wats the difference btw start button and key? Maybe just less wrist pain? [laugh]

for myself(not in a junction or traffic lights)..as long as i'm waiting for someone or stop to pick up something..if more than 1min..will switch off engine..its a habit..doing it more for not polluting the environment unnecessarily and to save the earth in whatever small ways i can..i also drove lesser than usual..doing trip-chaining for multiple tasks..fuel expenditure drops an astonishing 25% [nod]

I minimise idling time as to minimise carbon built up. And engine are design to run under load, not without load.

frequent crank the engine....not cheap to repair the starter either. tt why can see those doing deliveries left the engine running. :D

The next TS will post, should I turn turn right when the right-turning sign is not up yet, or whose fault when car reverse and knock somebody/car?

I don't understand why I'm getting such remarks? From the opinions offered here this is a valid question because obviously there is not such an obvious answer? I'm interested to find out real explanations i.e. real-time fuel savings experience or ignition failure/repair costs because cranking to start too often. From the poll results it seems like a pretty even split of people doing either.

relax dude, there are just too many morons here.

bro, no point getting fed up over trolls..chill and good day to you! [flowerface]

err wats the difference btw start button and key? Maybe just less wrist pain? [laugh]

minimize less wear and tear for the ignition switch.

ignition switch not cheap to replace.

Why are you so interested to dig out what people think? survey? I tell you its just so common sense. Fuel saving? How much can you save for those few minutes than to replace parts, for Green Environment? [laugh]

When some ppl are desperate, they try all means. :wacko:

TS if u are so particular of to leave the engine running or switch off the engine of the car, I would suggest that you don't buy a car take a cab instead and save all your troubles draining your brain juice.

Cause after you mention this, you will sure to ask questions like "How often should I apply footbrakes or handbrake. And then follows by Auto Gearbox should I place it in "N" what stopping at Traffic Lights and "D" for economy drive and "S" for going up slope.

And then for Manual Gearbox to use engine brake or footbrake to reduce speed. [knife]

for myself(not in a junction or traffic lights)..as long as i'm waiting for someone or stop to pick up something..if more than 1min..will switch off engine..its a habit..doing it more for not polluting the environment unnecessarily and to save the earth in whatever small ways i can..i also drove lesser than usual..doing trip-chaining for multiple tasks..fuel expenditure drops an astonishing 25% [nod]

But u sure wont ON air con rite? can tahan meh?SG so hot.. sweat like hell to save a bit petrol??

TS if u are so particular of to leave the engine running or switch off the engine of the car, I would suggest that you don't buy a car take a cab instead and save all your troubles draining your brain juice.

Cause after you mention this, you will sure to ask questions like "How often should I apply footbrakes or handbrake. And then follows by Auto Gearbox should I place it in "N" what stopping at Traffic Lights and "D" for economy drive and "S" for going up slope.

And then for Manual Gearbox to use engine brake or footbrake to reduce speed. [knife]

Sounds very familiar thread..

But u sure wont ON air con rite? can tahan meh?SG so hot.. sweat like hell to save a bit petrol??

with the car engine off and waiting for some1..switching on a/c only gives hot air(at least thats what i experienced)..so usually will step out and wait..sitting inside wun be too hot unless its afternoon..i also dun sweat that much..unless its cardio workout

yeah more then 5 mins of wait = to off engine.. but nevertheless.. keep on cranking will spoil the starter motor leh ..

If im idling for more than 5-10 minutes, i will turn off the engine to conserve fuel

Edited by Ceecookie