Joseph22 Turbocharged March 14, 2011 Share March 14, 2011 great piece of information yap. so fair most of our president have something we can respect about them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear March 14, 2011 Share March 14, 2011 Are we even on the same planet? While the whole wide world braces for the impact of price increases in oil, food and commodities, Parliament has quietly moved to increase the selected president's salary to $4,267,500, a hefty 20.8% quantum jump of $890,700. That's double the percentage increase of the financial assistance package for the poor, which was recently adjusted from $360 to $400 per month. If you haven't spewed your morning coffee yet, listen to this. Minister Thaman proposed the change for "recruitment of an additional staff officer to support the work of the Council of Presidential Advisers and a butler manager to meet increased demand for butler services, and the high variable payments on account of a strong economic growth". We know from Tom Plate's account that Lee Kuan Yew has two staff just to provide hot towels for his aching bones, but are there so many butlers there in the Istana that they need a "butler manager" to supervise the servants? It's bad enough to read of "higher variable payments", Tharman also uses the term '"ad hoc spending". Does the national budget also have a YOG styled "other costs" accounting entry? Tharman tried to downplay the gross abuse of public funds by saying that the total expenditure for the "Civil List for the President of the Republic of Singapore" will be the same as the revised 2010 figure of $11,605,000. What he did not say to the public is that the original 2010 figure was $10,354,700. Why and when was the number "revised" by $1,250,300 to $11,605,000? Just in time for the 2011 budget? By the way, while sky rocketing COEs are threatening the affordability of cars for those who need to drive for work purposes, these guys have also decided that the president needs a new office car. Are we even on the same planet? It sure looks like they left us behind for their 1st world environment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear March 14, 2011 Share March 14, 2011 already 3 topic on this and you still create one more?? :angry: At least he is now matured enough to appreciate that he is left behind by the Elites Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeman 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 How much did we raise for President Challenge last year? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokyman 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 Make it count lah guys, put your foot where your mouth is. Not happy show it during elections time! Now all seats contested right? So no more walkovers? Every bit counts, 66.5% still better than 66.6%, at least 0.01% made it count. But if the margin rose more in PAP favour, no point internet warrior for the next 5 years tio boh .... The smack in the face is that little is being done to help the poor, needy and middleincome and yet we see the pay of the incumbents rising so high .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 if u compare the 'white + black' money certain politicians in certain country get, it is likely to be more than the 'white' money ours are earning. probably that's what they meant.. perhaps one day someone similar to wikileak is able to leak out the customer data from the swiss banks.. we'll then know who's in the top 30. our folks probably don't make it there... 4 mio..only? chey... sup sup water Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 if u compare the 'white + black' money certain politicians in certain country get, it is likely to be more than the 'white' money ours are earning. probably that's what they meant.. perhaps one day someone similar to wikileak is able to leak out the customer data from the swiss banks.. we'll then know who's in the top 30. our folks probably don't make it there... 4 mio..only? chey... sup sup water We can only compare the figures we have. Those 3rd world countries run by dictators & corrupted officals, no need to say lah, but I doubt many 1st world leaders can get much black money. If you said, they gain extra money resources due to their position in government, maybe yes, & frankly, as long as its not public funds, I could care less. Of course being politicians, & celebrities have their previlages. If they keep increasing their already extraordinarily paycheck, it will only cause more recent & their ultimate downfall, IMO. We Singaporeans may be regarded as silent lambs, but even lambs retaliate when pushed to the edge of the cliff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokyman 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 We can only compare the figures we have. Those 3rd world countries run by dictators & corrupted officals, no need to say lah, but I doubt many 1st world leaders can get much black money. If you said, they gain extra money resources due to their position in government, maybe yes, & frankly, as long as its not public funds, I could care less. Of course being politicians, & celebrities have their previlages. If they keep increasing their already extraordinarily paycheck, it will only cause more recent & their ultimate downfall, IMO. We Singaporeans may be regarded as silent lambs, but even lambs retaliate when pushed to the edge of the cliff. We voted them in via a legitimate voting system. LLST. Show it next elections. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 We voted them in via a legitimate voting system. LLST. Show it next elections. Not me hor..... I did not vote them in hor.... They walk over at my area Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 (edited) obviously different planet elites = 30% per year peasants = 3% per year (10 years target) and inflation is already > 3% so peasants live is 10x lesser ... that's about right Edited March 15, 2011 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...