DIY your magnetize oil plug

Stanchiam

why spent money buying one when u can diy

most existing plug are made of iron, as u have learn from school, anything that is metal can be magnetize

find a really strong magnet

then rub the magnet across the plug/screw in one direction for as many time as u wish until it become magnetize

for me i do this when i change my engine oil after i took out the plug

using this method save money and will let your magnetize plug stick onto metal debris in the future

most gear box plug is magnetized, wonder why oil plug is not, anyway, enjoy your DIY

Hi all,

I wonder if it will be alright if we find a magnet of the same size of the bolt and might as well leave the small but can find those quite strong ones on it. What do you all think?

why spent money buying one when u can diy

most existing plug are made of iron, as u have learn from school, anything that is metal can be magnetize

find a really strong magnet

then rub the magnet across the plug/screw in one direction for as many time as u wish until it become magnetize

for me i do this when i change my engine oil after i took out the plug

using this method save money and will let your magnetize plug stick onto metal debris in the future

most gear box plug is magnetized, wonder why oil plug is not, anyway, enjoy your DIY

Not all metals, Only materials that contain iron can be magnetised. [:p]

hehe...true

i should say all metal that a magnet can stick onto can be magnetized

Edited by Stanchiam

get a harddisk magnet, stick it on the drain nut, and the drain nut wil attract any metal (iron) partical in the oil that flow pass the nut... dun need to rub here rub there...

good idea but rub rub better and give user more fun

stick it there no feeling...

lol

Or stick the magnet onto the oil filter.

yap, i have done that

i have bought 6 small round powerful magnet and stick some onto the oil filter

good idea but rub rub better and give user more fun

stick it there no feeling...

lol

like to rub rub very easy lah, just get a piece of claybar and rub the car everytime after washing... make your car bling bling + can satisfied the

"rub-er" fantacy.... [laugh][laugh]

The reason why the drain plug is not magnetize is so that any metal debris (if there are any) can flow to oil filter& get trapped by the filter. Why trap the debris before the filter n getting the possibility of any debris flowing back to engine? ? Just to save $$ on oil filter that cost only a few $$?

To minimise recirculation of metal particles created from wear & tear.

Cool. So where can one buy such super strong magnets?

whahahaha... [laugh] read your post kept laughing!....

like you saying... "knn just poke her lah... rub here rub there for fcuk...."

no offense to TS but i think this rubbing of the nut is very bo liao...

btw those who have strong magnets with you, put it on the oil filter and run the engine lah...

Wat is the purpose of magnetizing oil plug or put magnet on oil filter leh?

SO THE CAR WILL BE MORE POWERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!! [laugh]

just sharing what i heard.....

i remember an old mech telling me about magnetized oil filters and bolts n nuts.... "if the engine really got there metal chips flowing around the oil filter will catch them... if not the engine bye bye liao...." the engine to have metal shavings is during run in only... after which if still have metal shavings the engine can throw away liao..."