Newbie's experience with the 159

Fella

Buying and owning an Alfa is purely about passion.. everything else can simply throw out of the window.. My Hd Log during NS time is a big Alfa fan.. He owned 2 Alfas(at the same time), a standard 159 and the 3.2L Sportswagon.. and GAWD, they both LOOKED PRETTY!!!!

Hi, is it from pasir laba camp?

a 2.2 159 and a 3.2 159 Wagon?!! wow.. he is one alfa siao.

Yeah.. his office, all are Alfa posters.. Mugs, ashtray, pen holders etc all has to do with AR. Even his coffee table is made from his stock AF 16" rims..

Hi, is it from pasir laba camp?

haha.. yeah.. how you know? PM if inconvenient.. :D

Edited by Shull

I couldnt put it any sweeter...funny how it has been, after reading ur article, I went thru the same when I testdrove the Alfa Sprint years back and eventually owned one - my first. It was a real nightmare, trust me! Swore to stay away from this serpent-mobile...and 20yrs later todate, I'm driving my beautiful, always-serenating-my-ears-159.... my 7th Alfa Romeo thru out those times....

I wish you will get the chance to own a car that you fancy, the car that u have learnt to like and love and a car, possibly the only car, that leaves u having sleepless nites... [laugh] ..I wish you will get to dive into the Serpent's Pit one fine, dandy day! [grouphug]

sleepless night cause of unnecessary workshop visit?? [lipsrsealed] ha ha ha just kidding BTW TS the build quality of the recent model arent that bad as compare to early 2000 or pre-2000 cars

Yeah.. his office, all are Alfa posters.. Mugs, ashtray, pen holders etc all has to do with AR. Even his coffee table is made from his stock AF 16" rims..

haha.. yeah.. how you know? PM if inconvenient.. :D

oh, then must b a malay major, i forgotten his name..

i was a medic at that camp..

i think he smoke in his office too right.. haha..

Well, if words can't move you yet, take a look at this website : http://www.experience159.com/

The website's impressive! Had problems navigating round though due to the language... [confused]

Wow, that was really a very well written article. I really enjoyed reading it.

I myself have a Honda TA200, have had it since 2005, but hardly use it except during the weekends, when i want to feel the wind...

Nice to see how passionate we all get when we get into our Alfas.

Enjoy the ride, buddy...

Hehee! What's a TA200 by the way?

Hey TS, I enjoy reading your article

I wish you will get the chance to own a car that you fancy, the car that u have learnt to like and love and a car, possibly the only car, that leaves u having sleepless nites... [laugh] ..I wish you will get to dive into the Serpent's Pit one fine, dandy day! [grouphug]

It's really unexplainable how the AF can invoke such feelings.

"Sleepless nites"?! Wa piang, if that has got anything to do with workshop visits and calling towing companies, I seriously can do without them! Thank you very much! [:p]

sleepless night cause of unnecessary workshop visit?? [lipsrsealed] ha ha ha just kidding BTW TS the build quality of the recent model arent that bad as compare to early 2000 or pre-2000 cars

Truthfully I've heard plenty of stories regarding AF's lack of reliability, and when I made known my intentions of swapping a Jap to the Italian, everyone's been giving me looks of disbelief plus "my friend's AF" horror experiences popping out everywhere. The thing is, everything seems to be either a "friend's" experience or some hearsay. No doubt there may be some truth but ultimately I am choosing to go along since I do believe that the build quality should have gotten much better. Thanks for reinforcing my belief. [cool]

"Sleepless nites"?! Wa piang, if that has got anything to do with workshop visits and calling towing companies, I seriously can do without them! Thank you very much! [:p]

My 'sleepless nites' were the good, smiley ones... not the worry-till-dawn type.... [laugh][laugh][laugh] ...else there wont ever be #2, #3, #4 ..etc.. [cool]

Talking about cars lah dei...

Not wives...

Hello all,

Can I ask:

- whats the average fuel consumption for 159?

- whats the average servicing bill (let's say after warranty)?

- what about prices of aftermarket stuffs? Few times more ex than Japs?

Hello all,

Can I ask:

- whats the average fuel consumption for 159?

- whats the average servicing bill (let's say after warranty)?

- what about prices of aftermarket stuffs? Few times more ex than Japs?

1. I think avg is about 8-9km/L, combined cycle.

2. Should be around the same as Jap car... 300 should suffice (if u dun need to change other wear and tear items) .. but its for every 15k km.

3. this one.. i dun know leh.. my exhaust is about 1.8k... other than that.. i think not much difference.

Was browsing thru sgcarmart when I came across a 1.5 yrs old white 159 with a mileage of 27k for sale at 95k. That's when I started noticing the marque cos I tot it looked pretty good, like how a chio bu on the street naturally turn heads. Over the next few days, I found myself going back repeatedly several times a day to take yet another look at the ride....

..., we wasted no time contacting the owner of the white serpent. Holy shucks! The ride's been reserved pending loan approval...

That was my car bro. Nice pictures erh? [laugh]

The car is sold and it was handed over to the new owner. Those pictures will be my remembrance of her sexy body.

Thanks to all bros & sis (Frenzzz) here who have shared their passion here. I have learnt a lot from their Alfa experiences.

Its too bad that after 6 months, I was still not converted to an "Alfisti". But at least I have owned a Alfa before [;)]

"you cannot call yourself a petrolhead if you have never owned an Alfa" - jeremy clarkson

Edited by Mazz

Truthfully I've heard plenty of stories regarding AF's lack of reliability, and when I made known my intentions of swapping a Jap to the Italian, everyone's been giving me looks of disbelief plus "my friend's AF" horror experiences popping out everywhere. The thing is, everything seems to be either a "friend's" experience or some hearsay. No doubt there may be some truth but ultimately I am choosing to go along since I do believe that the build quality should have gotten much better. Thanks for reinforcing my belief. [cool]

my neighbour's classmate's dog's groomer's lesbian partner's neighbour's gay partner's colleague's mother-in-law had heard it from her friend that they rusted so bad even the tires rusted.

I ended up owning 2 alfa's before. And enjoyed every moment of it. The selespeed is the thing that gave me the only problems in my 156 but it wasn't so major that it had to be scrapped; just a loose wire that's all. I had an auto in the brera and never had any problems for the 9months I owned it (except fuel consumption...... 5.5km/L; it was the 3.2 V6)

That said, there are VERY good 3rd party workshops. I forsaked my warranty anyway. Prefer to be able to talk to the mechanic who services my car.

my neighbour's classmate's dog's groomer's lesbian partner's neighbour's gay partner's colleague's mother-in-law had heard it from her friend that they rusted so bad even the tires rusted.

I ended up owning 2 alfa's before. And enjoyed every moment of it. The selespeed is the thing that gave me the only problems in my 156 but it wasn't so major that it had to be scrapped; just a loose wire that's all. I had an auto in the brera and never had any problems for the 9months I owned it (except fuel consumption...... 5.5km/L; it was the 3.2 V6)

That said, there are VERY good 3rd party workshops. I forsaked my warranty anyway. Prefer to be able to talk to the mechanic who services my car.

You know, it's really not the car that's unreliable (it's no less unreliable than my old Jap ride), but it's the authorised workshop that cannot make it! [lipsrsealed] Find a good workshop (not difficult) and live is good.

That was my car bro. Nice pictures erh? [laugh]

The car is sold and it was handed over to the new owner. Those pictures will be my remembrance of her sexy body.

Thanks to all bros & sis (Frenzzz) here who have shared their passion here. I have learnt a lot from their Alfa experiences.

Its too bad that after 6 months, I was still not converted to an "Alfisti". But at least I have owned a Alfa before [;)]

"you cannot call yourself a petrolhead if you have never owned an Alfa" - jeremy clarkson

sad to see another alfisti go [bigcry]

so what car seduced you over from the serpent?

sad to see another alfisti go [bigcry]

so what car seduced you over from the serpent?

I got an used Audi S3 manual.... still prefer a stick shift ^_^