Best_ctzn Clutched April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 Today I tried to do re-contract after current contract in force for > 12 months but < 21 months. Wanted to get the Sony-Ericcson Arc and was prepared to pay the $100 penalty for not waiting for the full 21 month as before. BUT, was told I have to pay $300 penalty as Arc is a smartphone. Really disappointed as never know about such rule. Is it a new rule? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 yup, it has been this way long ago.... the $100 is minimum, meaning for those low end model, if high end model, it goes up to $300.. u try with iphone, it will be the same $300 and not $100.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 Today I tried to do re-contract after current contract in force for > 12 months but < 21 months. Wanted to get the Sony-Ericcson Arc and was prepared to pay the $100 penalty for not waiting for the full 21 month as before. BUT, was told I have to pay $300 penalty as Arc is a smartphone. Really disappointed as never know about such rule. Is it a new rule? Ya lar bro.... this is how they operate now..... the only exception is if you are under SH Hub Club.... you can upgrade phone after 12mths without penalty... I think the only exception is if you getting the Iphone... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 the $100 for <21 months upgrade exist. Never heard about the $300 for smartphone though. anyways, wat rubbish rule is that?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PPeripheraL Clutched April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 Uh, i don't think so. If you owned a iPhone and wanted to change to another phone you have to pay a higher penalty fee. >$100. If you owned a normal phone(not iPhone/BB/etc) and wanted to change to another phone, your penalty fee should be $100. Usually your penalty fees is due to your CURRENT phone, and not the phone you wanted to change. I'm quite positive as I've tried before. Changed from normal phone to iPhone. And asked when I wanted to change iPhone to a BB. But due to higher penalty fee, i waited till 2 years heh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 the $100 for <21 months upgrade exist. Never heard about the $300 for smartphone though. anyways, wat rubbish rule is that?? alamak... okie lar... now you know lor..... so dont come here comprain if you kena from Telco.... Think the reason for doing this is... IDA disallow Telco to tie the subscriber for >2years of CON-tract and some funny stuff that telco use to have.... so now they chook this type of pattern.... and knowing smart phone is popular, esp Iphone..... they eat us kao kao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 alamak... okie lar... now you know lor..... so dont come here comprain if you kena from Telco.... Think the reason for doing this is... IDA disallow Telco to tie the subscriber for >2years of CON-tract and some funny stuff that telco use to have.... so now they chook this type of pattern.... and knowing smart phone is popular, esp Iphone..... they eat us kao kao.... IDA didnt do enough. the penalty should be tied to the OMV of the phone. if u buy a phone that costs 1k in the market, and your plan is 100/mth, then if u cancel after 12mths, no penalty. u "paid" them back le. or another way, allow max contracts of only 1 year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 Ya lar bro.... this is how they operate now..... the only exception is if you are under SH Hub Club.... you can upgrade phone after 12mths without penalty... I think the only exception is if you getting the Iphone... Is it true Hub Club can renew after 12mths without penalty?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 Is it true Hub Club can renew after 12mths without penalty?? Yup, provided you are not holding a Iphone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 IDA didnt do enough. the penalty should be tied to the OMV of the phone. if u buy a phone that costs 1k in the market, and your plan is 100/mth, then if u cancel after 12mths, no penalty. u "paid" them back le. or another way, allow max contracts of only 1 year. You are a quick minded person. 1st time hearing OMV associate with handphone. How about parf? Transfer ? Insu? etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 You are a quick minded person. 1st time hearing OMV associate with handphone. How about parf? Transfer ? Insu? etc. pls incl COE hor [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 pls incl COE hor [laugh] every thing on the market has a market value la. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 alamak... okie lar... now you know lor..... so dont come here comprain if you kena from Telco.... Think the reason for doing this is... IDA disallow Telco to tie the subscriber for >2years of CON-tract and some funny stuff that telco use to have.... so now they chook this type of pattern.... and knowing smart phone is popular, esp Iphone..... they eat us kao kao.... i learnt something here . damn them btw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 Is it true Hub Club can renew after 12mths without penalty?? If you planning to renew, SH roadfair at Plaza Singapura, Motorola Milestone2 @S$1 for Smartsurf 100, c/w docking charger and additional power pack. Also foc Vertix BT earpiece. Check out 9/4/2011 Sat ST advert. * I already renew last week at Suntec Harvey Norman [sH Roadshow], but paid @S$71. Without foc power pack and vertix BT. * too bad, wrong timing, should have waited. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 If you planning to renew, SH roadfair at Plaza Singapura, Motorola Milestone2 @S$1 for Smartsurf 100, c/w docking charger and additional power pack. Also foc Vertix BT earpiece. Check out 9/4/2011 Sat ST advert. * I already renew last week at Suntec Harvey Norman [sH Roadshow], but paid @S$71. Without foc power pack and vertix BT. * too bad, wrong timing, should have waited. any webbie to check updates of roadshow locations? my plan is expiring on the 11th and i am planning to ditch ST for m1. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 If you planning to renew, SH roadfair at Plaza Singapura, Motorola Milestone2 @S$1 for Smartsurf 100, c/w docking charger and additional power pack. Also foc Vertix BT earpiece. Check out 9/4/2011 Sat ST advert. * I already renew last week at Suntec Harvey Norman [sH Roadshow], but paid @S$71. Without foc power pack and vertix BT. * too bad, wrong timing, should have waited. Wow! Thanks! Will check it out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 my both Iphones are under starhub contarct and only 13months old. Call and enquire and Starhub will charge me S$300 if i buy another Iphone or S$200 for normal phone. Thinking of re-contract and make a quick profit deal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 IDA didnt do enough. the penalty should be tied to the OMV of the phone. if u buy a phone that costs 1k in the market, and your plan is 100/mth, then if u cancel after 12mths, no penalty. u "paid" them back le. or another way, allow max contracts of only 1 year. Yap, seriously IDA should make the telco tie in with max 1 year CON-tract.... knn now a days where got people keep phone for more than a year.... 1 year is like 100 hundreds years in mobile phone term.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...