Disappointed by disrespectful Gen Y

Latka

Seems like this Peter Koh's target insult is directed exactly to the responders here..... dun tell me all the people here Gen Y?

Luckily the words used here does not reflect the rest of Singapore. Or else many of us should be worried. Very worried.

Personally, I voted for opposition... To me, if you believe a party can do better, go ahead and vote, but for fcuk sake, do not call the voter that do not vote the same as you a/an _____ (name whatever you want). What is call VOTING then? Sick and tired of all the forumers here still harping and harping about it after the election. Well, that's just me..... :angry:

Right on... Same here, I also voted oppo, but also sick of those oppo supporters keep on calling the 60.1% pap voters names. They can't accept people with alternate choices...

+1.That's my sentiment.A number of pple kept saying they doing it for the good of sin and so called democracy,on the other hand,they start calling names that pple dun go against their way.Hating the exsiting govt is one thing,calling and insulting the fellow singporeans is another.Like I've said b4,luckily our oppo candiates are more respectful than the supporters.Maybe they can join Chee soon Chuan.

ya, i suppose one should always be respectful towards others views...even Hitler supporters need to be respected, but not necessarily agreed with.

when did we agreed that high pay attract top brains???? Firstly, we did not even agree to paying them so high. From this GE it attracts pple like TPL!!!!! she top brain meh!!!!?????

to be fair to TPL, still too early to tell. anyway, ppl voted for her group. so let's see how it turns out. sometimes, it's not a bad thing to be told how bad you are, so you just need to do that little bit right to prove yr good enough.

Same here, used to vote for PAP. But lost faith in them, keep on citing data and statistics which the ground crew finds unfamiliar (e.g. FT ratio, affordable HDB, public transport etc, etc, etc).

They should help those can-picking/table-wipping uncles in coffee-shops first before helping themselves to the pay increase.

this is my view. it's not the policies that are the crux of the problem. for many years, Sporeans ignored the unethical ways of the govt in conducting elections, treating opposing parties, control press, threatens its citizens and so on. When a govt does not respect democratic rights, eventually things will fall apart. Folks like Chee, Chiam, JB tried to warn us but we didn't care. They saw how democracy was being crushed as alternative views had no place here. So what happened? the govt does everything it likes to do and no one can do a thing about it. well, as long as the majority agree with this, this is the govt we will get and live with.

I don't mind being proven wrong about some things. let's hope govt respects democracy, allow free and fair elections for a start. Ministerial pay i think still not possible. once up, very hard to come down so i doubt they will ever revise their pay in line with 1st world nations.

+1.That's my sentiment.A number of pple kept saying they doing it for the good of sin and so called democracy,on the other hand,they start calling names that pple dun go against their way.Hating the exsiting govt is one thing,calling and insulting the fellow singporeans is another.Like I've said b4,luckily our oppo candiates are more respectful than the supporters.Maybe they can join Chee soon Chuan.

u are in cyberspace.. [laugh]

in reality is P8P, in cyberspace,it's oppositions supporters [laugh]

but both have 1 thing in common ^_^

to be fair to TPL, still too early to tell. anyway, ppl voted for her group. so let's see how it turns out. sometimes, it's not a bad thing to be told how bad you are, so you just need to do that little bit right to prove yr good enough.

Somehow I find TPL very fake and not sincere at all...............I watch almost all her interview and is like majority of the questions she was asked, she always talk about them walking the ground.....LOL

I will agree to million dollar pay if they can solve problems while others cannot. Not by saying recent inflation is a global or regional thing, Singapore is a small country it is not within our control.

But when things managed to turn around for the better it is due to their good foresight and anticipation with the right policies.

I really don't understand. What has the value of respect got to do with the vote casted? You may respect the candidate very much but yet assessed the other fella to be much more credible? Respect may stem from sources other than a person's ability to manage an appointment. if that is the case why not deem it as a vote of respect rather than a vote of confidence? So there. Misguided i feel.

Not sure if you are refering to me but I'm talking about voters respect other voter's choice. Not the candidates.

i see. am referring to the letter writer. So i think the connotation of respect in his case is different from your posting.

These grp of ppl vote base on past performance, they still live in the 60s 70s MIW day. No matter how, they also will vote as they wanna give the good old guards some face but of course at our younger generation expense. Hope they wake up, those old guards will not come up from their grave and thanks them for voting them.

agree with you...

Don't act stupid.... Disagreeing is one thing. Insinuating that this guy is mabuk and another....

And u call that giving an answer? It was a comment not answer. <_<

Respect is a word that some of the younger ones seem to not possess... are you one of them?

What is it to you? For starters, you can respect the views of ppl posting here, even if they don't gel with you.

Although I generally find that to be true, from experience, the people who keep harping on the younger generation not having respect for their elders are likely to be the ones who cannot command any sort of respect themselves based on anything but their age. Those with substantial past achievements will let those achievements speak for themselves.

OMG.... freaking WELL SAID!! [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]