Toyota again!!

Lation

Interesting read about the suspension on the vios from another website.

Actually it's the not the steering system or the brake system that's the issue. The problem lies in the inherent characteristics of torsion beam suspension system that loads up the front end of the car during hard braking. Torsion beam suspension (featured in most entry level cars to save cost and space - including the Toyota Vios) provides a simple, laterally strong solution to rear suspension systems of budget and compact cars.

The downside is that this simple suspension configuration tends to exaggerate load transfer to the front end during hard braking making the rear end very light and prone to loosing traction(I think this is what caused the vios to have drifted after the driver jammed brake). In the hands of a novice driver, this can be dangerous.

I don't think the issue is the torsion-beam rear suspensions lah.

A number of European brands (e.g. the non-luxury ones like VW, or the French and Italian makes etc.) have got torsion beam rear suspensions for decades and don't think they feature as a negative in terms of NCAP ratings.

If you are really concern about safety avoid cars that are made purely for Asean market like Vios, City or a bunch of others that are made cheap stripping off the safety features. Don't believe? Try searching for NCAP rating for these cars.

wa lau.. so u said my City with ABS/EBD/BA not good enough... [;)] the only safety feature this model lack of is ESP or VSA... basically its traction control.... <_<

If can't drive, don't blame the car. Nothing against her, just that you know if you jam brake, your car will serve especially when the road is wet. Simple logic mah. Her insurance claim will be terrible as many will be claiming her insurance. If she is didn't die from the accident, she probably will when she recieve her insurance bill if she still gets to drive.

does that include Koreans? also stripped version.

If can't drive, don't blame the car. Nothing against her, just that you know if you jam brake, your car will serve especially when the road is wet. Simple logic mah. Her insurance claim will be terrible as many will be claiming her insurance. If she is didn't die from the accident, she probably will when she recieve her insurance bill if she still gets to drive.

she could have used the handbrake?

and yes agree with u on the part on insurance

toyota is known for having good reliability....

so yeah u know and i know [:)]

Edited by Ithunk

Interesting read about the suspension on the vios from another website.

Actually it's the not the steering system or the brake system that's the issue. The problem lies in the inherent characteristics of torsion beam suspension system that loads up the front end of the car during hard braking. Torsion beam suspension (featured in most entry level cars to save cost and space - including the Toyota Vios) provides a simple, laterally strong solution to rear suspension systems of budget and compact cars.

The downside is that this simple suspension configuration tends to exaggerate load transfer to the front end during hard braking making the rear end very light and prone to loosing traction(I think this is what caused the vios to have drifted after the driver jammed brake). In the hands of a novice driver, this can be dangerous.

It's the driver, nothing to do with torsion beam suspensions.....a whole lot of cars are using torsion beam suspensions....including the Euro FN Civic Type R! You don't see them crash and burn by just braking!

It's the Driver.

I've jam-break my Altis many times in the expressway, missing the car infront by centimeters.

But hey, no swerving leh. Don't blame it on the car please.

Everyone is taking the US Toyota cases to cover their own s--t here...

Tell the aunty that if she cannot swim, then admit it.

My guess is, she's playing with that doggy!

KNN I was hit from behind by (you guess it right) another woman driver, play/talking to a baby(!) held by a front passenger.

I was already stationary for at least 3 secs, before she crashes into my back.

It's the driver, nothing to do with torsion beam suspensions.....a whole lot of cars are using torsion beam suspensions....including the Euro FN Civic Type R! You don't see them crash and burn by just braking!

It's the Driver.

Correction : Its the WOMAN driver.

Anyone saw the news on newpaper today regarding a brake failure and steering failure in toyota vios. Causing the vios to hit a barrier and burst into flame. Apparently the airbag failed to deploy after crash too.

Where did you get the infor from about the brake and steering failure and direct me to the link ? Or you just anyhow quote.

he anyhow quote one lah...some people are anti toyota

Let me conclude,

This Vios must still be running on it's stock Bridgestone Potenza RE080 tyre.

This are shitty tyre, PUI!

SOmemore this car almost 3 years liao, I understand most OPC og teh SJG series still on the same stock tyre.

I am commenting this because I skidded on this set of tyre before.

the brake and steering failure is mentioned in The New Paper

Let me conclude,

This Vios must still be running on it's stock Bridgestone Potenza RE080 tyre.

This are shitty tyre, PUI!

SOmemore this car almost 3 years liao, I understand most OPC og teh SJG series still on the same stock tyre.

I am commenting this because I skidded on this set of tyre before.

wait till you are given Yoko Aspec as stock tyres. [:(] [:(] [:(]

the new paper on 23 may is more detailed as compared to the news on its web. don believe you can go and search for the article and it indeed mention about the steering out of control brake not working and airbag not deploy after crash.