Aviva policyholder take note..

Kb27

I have terminated my Aviva policy with immediate effect. Their CSO replied my email asking me to remove my tower strut bar or face the consequence of not being covered in a event of an accident. My sports rims is passable though. They also issued me a veiled warning that they will not cover me fully in case of a claim due to these "ok" soft mods.

I do not want to take any risk with an insurance company which is is so opaque in their policy terms and has decided to sign on with DirectAsia for 12months instead. My new policy with direct asia starts midnight tonite. [wave] [wave]

Think their finance department will be busy handling policy cancellations these few weeks. We shall see how long they can tahan this type of bleeding. [knife]

Singapore has a lot of stupid drivers that like to hog the road, naive drivers that sleep at night and never read forum. Last year our car population is about 920000 (920K) but this thread is read by so far 25k viewers.

Easily calculations 25k/920k = 2.7% (remainder 97.3%)

There are 97.3% of the people may not know about this! which translate to 895K vehicles. Lets assume they are not greedy (which is hard to believe), they take 5% market share of about 45k vehicles.

On average each vehicle paid about $1K premium (I already unde estimate the amt)

$1K X 45K = $45,000,000 (45million dollars a year!!!!!) They cannot even include 0.16% of the insured vehicles to claim? Do they have a heart? Singapore is small, can we be easily bullied?

Technically, they can void cus by upsizing the wheels, it is already different from stock state which may in turn affect the drive which may result in an accident.

Unfair? no doubt about it

agree ur last sentance Unfair? no doubt abt it

this area very grey leh...... there are many cars same model but different spec thus rim size differnt eg. A5 and S5 both technically same body but A5 18 S519 leh

A4 got S-line no S-line model too how??

there are many other makes and model like that too Audi is just an example

Edited by D3badge

This rim thing is a farce..... So AVIVA says they will accept change of rims providing they are of manufacturer's specifications. This technically means if your car comes with 15inch wheels, you have to stay on 15 inch rims. What is the point of changing rims then? Most people upgrade 1 to 2 inch up for cosmetic reasons, and THESE..... i believe, looking at their replies.... mean its a VOID case.

And anyway, if you car is like 5 years old and one day you bengko you original rims over a pothole or curb, just try to buy or even find a similar factory original rim to replace it out there in the market if you can. Its almost impossible. Even stockist would not carry these. They will just ask you to change to aftermarket ones.

Later one day they VOID your policy cause your modified orignal spec aftermarket rims are 3mm off the OEM offset. Or if the claims too high they say OE spec got 5 thick spokes but your aftermarket one got 5 thin spokes..... so dangerous, so VOID.

This rim thing is a farce..... So AVIVA says they will accept change of rims providing they are of manufacturer's specifications. This technically means if your car comes with 15inch wheels, you have to stay on 15 inch rims. What is the point of changing rims then? Most people upgrade 1 to 2 inch up for cosmetic reasons, and THESE..... i believe, looking at their replies.... mean its a VOID case.

And anyway, if you car is like 5 years old and one day you bengko you original rims over a pothole or curb, just try to buy or even find a similar factory original rim to replace it out there in the market if you can. Its almost impossible. Even stockist would not carry these. They will just ask you to change to aftermarket ones.

Later one day they VOID your policy cause your modified orignal spec aftermarket rims are 3mm off the OEM offset. Or if the claims too high they say OE spec got 5 thick spokes but your aftermarket one got 5 thin spokes..... so dangerous, so VOID.

they just trying to do damage control now. this case is spreading like wildfire over many sg car forums.

Haha,

Dun tell me if solar film under freebies from the car agent, in the event of accident, wld Aviva states that its a aftermarket illegal mod?

Not enuff sunlight penetration affecting vision and judgement on the road?

Policy void?

Utter nosense...

What are mods - it is only for them to say unless you wish to challenge them in courts when they have their only inhouse legal team to take on your lawyers.

Are longlife twin head spark plugs mods? Are drop in air filter mods? Are non stock shock absorbers mods? The list goes on ....... :angry:

i also wrote in to aviva but the answer is quite different from yours. In fact, the answer you got is rather different from most of us who wrote in...Air filter, for instance is not allowed as it will inprove the overall performance of the car. As for rims, you can change but must comply to the original spec. eg, if your rim is 14", with offset of 38, then you must change to the same rim, same thing to tyre, you should not increase the tyre profile or reduce...

and the biggest different is, they NEVER replied that they will cover in event of accident but for the mod parts, they will only cover to factory specs. What they replied was, either original or cancel the policy....

I am going overseas soon. I think when I come back I will seriously consider terminating my policy. I agree that insurance companies with such vague policies and terms do not deserve support.

After reading this, I just posted these questions to Aviva Customer Service :

- Added a reverse camera so that I can park easier

- Added a GPS so that I don

they reply my mail that they will pay stock for rim, so i take it that it is B&W and is cover... but anyway I have just cancel it anyway as i have struct bar & grounding...

But their reply very trickly...As i tot they will refund in full if it is void... BUT they term it "deemed by us as unacceptable" and not VOID (this is for the struct bar) .... wow win liao lor.... they ask u to cancel so that they pay back pro-rated only.... and not void and pay back in full even u have reported of the MOD.....

Oh yes sorry to side track a bit here. Any problem with Directasia anybody? Thanks alot.

No problem for me.

Car got hit from behind by a taxi.

Repair with DA authorised workshop and claim taxi insurance.

DA surveyor came down and check for damage. It had a LTA approved muffler but was not damage.

Just the body bengkok at the rear.

Later, they sent me an email for customer satisfaction survey on the accident claim.

I must say they are 10x better than Aviva.

I personally think thatit is very tricky insuring w them.. their fickle mind& grey clauses has put doubts n questions. It already lost the "peace if mind" aspect when comes to insurance. I will not insure w them even if they only cost $1.

It is not our own car repair that i m concern with but claims from the other car. What is someone claims $200k n insurer void my insurance stating i have mod my car? Totally absurb n ridiculous

After reading this, I just posted these questions to Aviva Customer Service :

- Added a reverse camera so that I can park easier

- Added a GPS so that I don

I personally think thatit is very tricky insuring w them.. their fickle mind& grey clauses has put doubts n questions. It already lost the "peace if mind" aspect when comes to insurance. I will not insure w them even if they only cost $1.

It is not our own car repair that i m concern with but claims from the other car. What is someone claims $200k n insurer void my insurance stating i have mod my car? Totally absurb n ridiculous

Yeap, the bigger the claim, the more determined they will be to find fault with your "mods" and void the insurance to prevent payout.

Just cancel lah.. Insurances are supposed to be a peace of mind thing. Whats the point of buying insurance when you still have doubts on the payouts?? :angry:

They chut pattern, you die c*ck standing. [knife]

Edited by RedEmber