Kangadrool Supersonic June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 If not wrong, easylink card is also non-refundable now. The problem is easylink card is still not widely accepted at ERP operated carparks. Most still accept NETS only. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 actually they sld have just tell us the $5 is the cost of the card..............hide here hide there make ppl more fed up..............like it or not we still have to buy the card what...............just tell the fact lar...........make things easiler..... precisely.....i always say call a spade a spade and that's it. people won't have chance to grumble because it is a necessity. jsut like the hdb pricing, why resort to terms like market subsidy which is distoring the english meaning of the word? just call it plain vanilla discounted price, people will also accept and with no avenue to grumble Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 next time buy a bag for all the cards............... [laugh] not so bad if they do refund.............but LPPL........after that got to give them back in exchange for a new 1............ haha that's why ladies carry a big bag for such reasons but guys typically like to fit all into 1 small wallet hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 haha, not like the card can makan or got erotic picture to enjoy looking at. $5 for the cost of production of the card is such a rip off when they still earn from the merchants who collect fees thru nets cash card. that's why i rather give my business to credit card companies whereever possible. at the very least, they don't make me pay for the piece of plastic. If you compare with SIM card, which Mobile operator sells us at $30 each, $5 is very reasonable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 If you compare with SIM card, which Mobile operator sells us at $30 each, $5 is very reasonable. haha except that my sim card lasts a lifetiem while this cash card lasts less than 5 years! even in cases whereby they wanted to replace my sim card, it is free. and they do waive the cost of the first sim card in certain promotiions etc? but of course, i am biased because sim card is a must for me to open up to so many uses and fun with the phone. whereas the cash card does give me the same level of enjoyment hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 haha except that my sim card lasts a lifetiem while this cash card lasts less than 5 years! even in cases whereby they wanted to replace my sim card, it is free. and they do waive the cost of the first sim card in certain promotiions etc? but of course, i am biased because sim card is a must for me to open up to so many uses and fun with the phone. whereas the cash card does give me the same level of enjoyment hehe You see SIM card too up already. Maybe Yes for last time. The new SIM card at most last 3 years only. The gold plate will oxidize in 2-3 years. Cash card uses better quality chip and card body, so as to tahan the extreme heat in our car. But too bad, the cert they generate and stored inside the chip usually has only 3 years. Not sure why don't get make it 5 years or even 10 years. Maybe, they really want us to buy new card every 3 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 haha except that my sim card lasts a lifetiem while this cash card lasts less than 5 years! even in cases whereby they wanted to replace my sim card, it is free. and they do waive the cost of the first sim card in certain promotiions etc? but of course, i am biased because sim card is a must for me to open up to so many uses and fun with the phone. whereas the cash card does give me the same level of enjoyment hehe I suspect these cash cards are programmed to fail after their expiry dates. Had 3 cashcards all failed immediately (IU cannot read), but brinv to atm, surprising it can read and refund. I tried using rubber to rub on the contacts and still no go. New cashcard can read without prob. There could be a clock or some memory device inside the IU that sync the date and time when you pass through the gantry. So when your card passes the expiry date, it just won't read. It's too much of a coincidence that all batches of cashcards can fail exactly at the 5 year mark. Even your 2 handphones bought at the same time won't fail together. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 I suspect these cash cards are programmed to fail after their expiry dates. Had 3 cashcards all failed immediately (IU cannot read), but brinv to atm, surprising it can read and refund. I tried using rubber to rub on the contacts and still no go. New cashcard can read without prob. There could be a clock or some memory device inside the IU that sync the date and time when you pass through the gantry. So when your card passes the expiry date, it just won't read. It's too much of a coincidence that all batches of cashcards can fail exactly at the 5 year mark. Even your 2 handphones bought at the same time won't fail together. haha yeah lor....no choice, i would have thought the cash card can be built to last longer. it is afterall a relatively straightforward card Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 dig out the gold-plated chips and accumulate. Can sell for some $$$ anot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 I suspect these cash cards are programmed to fail after their expiry dates. Had 3 cashcards all failed immediately (IU cannot read), but brinv to atm, surprising it can read and refund. I tried using rubber to rub on the contacts and still no go. New cashcard can read without prob. There could be a clock or some memory device inside the IU that sync the date and time when you pass through the gantry. So when your card passes the expiry date, it just won't read. It's too much of a coincidence that all batches of cashcards can fail exactly at the 5 year mark. Even your 2 handphones bought at the same time won't fail together. Inside the chip, there is a cert that store the public (or private) key. This key is generated to have 5 years from the day of generation. Therefore, the same batch will fail on the same day after 5 years. The key is required for the server to talk to the card and add the value. If you can hack the key, you can top up the value at your own convenient. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 dig out the gold-plated chips and accumulate. Can sell for some $$$ anot? No. The gold tickness is in micron. you need a million cards to get maybe 1 gram of gold. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 yes.............it is 2% now....same as visa and higher than master................. the rest I am unable to answer you............... With the number of cards in circulation, they are earning on the interests as well. Rental of equipment + per transaction is another income. I guess this is the way these big organisations are doing business and to ensure the early adopters don't make big losses with their new concepts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 Inside the chip, there is a cert that store the public (or private) key. This key is generated to have 5 years from the day of generation. Therefore, the same batch will fail on the same day after 5 years. The key is required for the server to talk to the card and add the value. If you can hack the key, you can top up the value at your own convenient. I don't think our cashcards are using a very complex depth for the key. At most 64 or 128 bits. Too bad most of us here don't have the capabilities, but I believe if this is passed on to the Russians, it can be broken. With modern multi-core CPUs, breaking the key can be shorten to days or months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 No. The gold tickness is in micron. you need a million cards to get maybe 1 gram of gold. For the cards that are so thin, I don't think they use gold wire for the interconnects. It could be done by flipping the die (chip) over and aligning the bond pads to the circuitary on the card. If you open up cheap home electronics, especially in kid's toys, you may see on the circuit board a small round black patch, something like a lump of glue. Scrap it off, you'll be able to see the die. This reduces the footprint of the chip. For non critical applications, they may use copper or silver as the inter-connects. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 haha yeah lor....no choice, i would have thought the cash card can be built to last longer. it is afterall a relatively straightforward card Look at it, the Malaysian's IC also have a chip similiar to our cash card that stores the information of the holder. I've not seen any of them replacing their ICs every 5 years. By imposing a 5 year expiry date on our cash cards, it ensures that NETs will never go out of business no matter how reliable the cards are by forcing people to change. And each change costs $5. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 4, 2011 Share June 4, 2011 Look at it, the Malaysian's IC also have a chip similiar to our cash card that stores the information of the holder. I've not seen any of them replacing their ICs every 5 years. By imposing a 5 year expiry date on our cash cards, it ensures that NETs will never go out of business no matter how reliable the cards are by forcing people to change. And each change costs $5. yep that's true! anyway, i have just did the refund over the atm machine. there is indeed a refund of deposit, although it is $2. hence to cut the discussion short, $5 includes cost of card of $3 and $2 of deposit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qooo Neutral Newbie August 23, 2011 Share August 23, 2011 yep that's true! anyway, i have just did the refund over the atm machine. there is indeed a refund of deposit, although it is $2. hence to cut the discussion short, $5 includes cost of card of $3 and $2 of deposit. May I know when did you get the card? the new design or the old design? The old design is blue and the new design is red. I also trying to avoid getting another cashcard because of the non-refundabale $5. Such rip off! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 23, 2011 Share August 23, 2011 May I know when did you get the card? the new design or the old design? The old design is blue and the new design is red. I also trying to avoid getting another cashcard because of the non-refundabale $5. Such rip off! that was the old design which is blue in colour. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...