Latka 1st Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 ST Forum Jun 18, 2011 Why visit a place where we are not welcome? I TOTALLY agree with Mr V. Kumar ('Going to JB? Not worth the trouble'; Thursday) that it is not worth the trouble going to Johor Baru so long as the situation remains unchanged. Last Saturday, I left home at 7am to go to Malaysia for a holiday. I took the Second Link hoping to beat the jam at the Malaysian immigration checkpoint. It was rather smooth clearance at the Tuas side. But to my horror, it took me four hours to clear Malaysian immigration. Just before I drove off, I said to the immigration officer attending to me that the new system was really bad and impractical. Instead of saying sorry for the inconvenience caused, the officer replied: 'Then don't come, lah.' That was almost unpardonable coming from a government official who is supposed to be tourist-friendly. Who would want to visit a place that is unwelcoming to visitors? It was reported that visitors from Singapore made about 13 million trips to Malaysia last year, which constituted about 53 per cent of Malaysia's total tourist arrivals - contributing RM28.4 billion (S$11.6 billion) in receipts. Whose loss is it if Singaporeans stop visiting Malaysia? Lawrence Koo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear June 18, 2011 Author Share June 18, 2011 This fella shud write to their ministry in charge of tourism and civil service. Write to local newspaper forum no use. We go there not only for holiday but they got miles and miles of expressway we use as race track to give our cars a good run. The most is fine RM150 and no demerit points somemore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 think we shld stop thinking that JB needs us.... we need each other... many singaporeans hv relatives in malaysia and its too late to say things like dun visit malaysia or whatever... 7am is too late to beat the jam! the guy is crazy.. to beat the jam at 7am is nuts.. and super naive... i used to cross the causeway at 4am so that i wont be caught in jam... maybe should put 20 ERP along the expressway to causeway... cna charge one dollar each... then maybe cars will be lesser... and who are we to teach another country what to do by telling pple that it is not practical... our own Mas Selamat sneaked into their country..... its like someone coming to my house and tell me that i should not lock my door when i go out... Singaporean need to learn to look at ourselves before complaining and criticising... (i am one so i am guilty as well) i know becos i used to work in airport... the amount of crap complaints from singaporean are staggering.... go ask any one working as customer service and they will tell u that singaporean are the worst Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doosan 1st Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 Good norning Bro, cool rainny morning due to superior feeling ? or inferior complx coming fr a 3rd world to nombor satu ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 Good norning Bro, cool rainny morning due to superior feeling ? or inferior complx coming fr a 3rd world to nombor satu ? gd morning dun get wat u mean? u mean our northern neighbours or us? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doosan 1st Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 Bro, hv u read the book referring to : from 3rd world, to world nombor satu aka first world Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 (edited) I just don't understand some people. Don't know whether they are ignorant or plain stupid for questioning or telling a foreigner (somemore a foreign law enforcement official) that their foreign policy is no good and somemore going into foreign land. He is lucky to be told not to come and not get lock-up plus slap in JB. Who are we to question them ? "Kiang Jiu Ho and Mai Kay Kiang". Edited June 18, 2011 by Renegade777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear June 18, 2011 Author Share June 18, 2011 I just don't understand some people. Don't know whether they are ignorant or plain stupid for questioning or telling a foreigner (somemore a foreign law enforcement official) that their foreign policy is no good and somemore going into foreign land. He is lucky to be told not to come and not get lock-up plus slap in JB. Who are we to question them ? "Kiang Jiu Ho and Mai Kay Kiang". Agree Lawrence Koo quite disrespectful in this regard. The 4 hrs jam got the better of him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kilatz 1st Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 From PR perspective, saying 'don't dome lah' is not good.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 Funny..............he got a choice what.................go super early to siam the jam..............spend some time in the jam.............or simply don't go.......... want to go......go late late............want no jam........ :wacko: tell ppl their system no good shows he is stupid tell everyone that he is stupid shows that he is very stupid!!! [laugh] i have not step foot into jb since the start of the finger scanning thing.................my choice mah............. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swingarm 1st Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 Really truly singaporean..... Complain and complain and complain and ...............complain...... If people say singapore rule is not practical...... Singaporeans will kpkb..... Same mah..... I will still go to malaysia even its jam..... To escape the fast life in singapore..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 ST Forum Jun 18, 2011 Why visit a place where we are not welcome? Lawrence Koo Because you are stuck in a tiny expensive place with nothing to do and nowhere to go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 Our dear KARTer say it best in another post :- some, or many, may not agree and like what i am going to say.... when sgpreans go overseas, for holidays or work, some (maybe even many) always complain quite loudly about the low standard of living, hygine, manners etc of the host countries, almost right in front of the natives of there..... and will usually add phrases like this "so lousy, but in singapore we are better..." or other comments to the effects. I have seen and heard this many time from fellow sgpreans while on such trips Why do they behave this way, and 'look down' on others?? i feel there may be a link between the behaviour/attitude (that sgp is much more superior than others...) of such sgpreans and the constant 'propoganda' dished out by miw in the past 2-3 decades that sgp has achieved much and is in many ways above our neighhours!!...... and ordinary supporters of the miw and normal neutral citizens here take in such miw's claims lots stock and barrels............ such a 'superiority' complex take root in many sgpreans' mind.... escpecially since the days they could read newspaper / listen to broadcast to be fed with such 'singapore has achieved much and therefore are ways better and superior than our neighbours ........... (this, in itself is the truth, but do we have to criticise others who dont match up to our standards when we are mere visitors in their country?) In contrast, many tourists/travellers from other countries dont really display such a superiority complex in similar situation ie visiting less developed countries, or at least they dont say it out loud, and they seem to accept that every country is different from the other, and they just enjoy the different ways of life in the different countries they visit In short, miw's constant self-praise that sgp has achieve much has rubbed on many sgpreans...... I am not denying that sgp has achieved much, but repeatedly feeling 'superior' is something we can avoid.... In other words, when the leaders are not humble and always 'boast' about their achievements, the masses will usually 'copy' the same superior complex.... This post has been edited by KARTer: Today, 01:07 AM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 ji kakis support this LK with both hands and legs..... all should boycott. meanwhile, kakis please fall in..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 ji kakis support this LK with both hands and legs..... all should boycott. meanwhile, kakis please fall in..... BOYCOTT LAH.................ALL BOYCOTT.................BEST TO BOYCOTT...............SIANG HO DON"T GO!!! psss.............when we going for duck and petrol huh??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 Our dear KARTer say it best in another post :- some, or many, may not agree and like what i am going to say.... when sgpreans go overseas, for holidays or work, some (maybe even many) always complain quite loudly about the low standard of living, hygine, manners etc of the host countries, almost right in front of the natives of there..... and will usually add phrases like this "so lousy, but in singapore we are better..." or other comments to the effects. I have seen and heard this many time from fellow sgpreans while on such trips Why do they behave this way, and 'look down' on others?? i feel there may be a link between the behaviour/attitude (that sgp is much more superior than others...) of such sgpreans and the constant 'propoganda' dished out by miw in the past 2-3 decades that sgp has achieved much and is in many ways above our neighhours!!...... and ordinary supporters of the miw and normal neutral citizens here take in such miw's claims lots stock and barrels............ such a 'superiority' complex take root in many sgpreans' mind.... escpecially since the days they could read newspaper / listen to broadcast to be fed with such 'singapore has achieved much and therefore are ways better and superior than our neighbours ........... (this, in itself is the truth, but do we have to criticise others who dont match up to our standards when we are mere visitors in their country?) In contrast, many tourists/travellers from other countries dont really display such a superiority complex in similar situation ie visiting less developed countries, or at least they dont say it out loud, and they seem to accept that every country is different from the other, and they just enjoy the different ways of life in the different countries they visit In short, miw's constant self-praise that sgp has achieve much has rubbed on many sgpreans...... I am not denying that sgp has achieved much, but repeatedly feeling 'superior' is something we can avoid.... In other words, when the leaders are not humble and always 'boast' about their achievements, the masses will usually 'copy' the same superior complex.... This post has been edited by KARTer: Today, 01:07 AM Yes. I agree. Same goes for Ministerial pay, focus on GDP/money, cheap FT solutions to fertility problems. Our leaders set the tone of society in ways they do not know or can calculate. Alas, as a people, we can be better - and sometimes we look to our leaders to take the lead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 ST Forum Jun 18, 2011 Why visit a place where we are not welcome? I TOTALLY agree with Mr V. Kumar ('Going to JB? Not worth the trouble'; Thursday) that it is not worth the trouble going to Johor Baru so long as the situation remains unchanged. Last Saturday, I left home at 7am to go to Malaysia for a holiday. I took the Second Link hoping to beat the jam at the Malaysian immigration checkpoint. It was rather smooth clearance at the Tuas side. But to my horror, it took me four hours to clear Malaysian immigration. Just before I drove off, I said to the immigration officer attending to me that the new system was really bad and impractical. Instead of saying sorry for the inconvenience caused, the officer replied: 'Then don't come, lah.' That was almost unpardonable coming from a government official who is supposed to be tourist-friendly. Who would want to visit a place that is unwelcoming to visitors? It was reported that visitors from Singapore made about 13 million trips to Malaysia last year, which constituted about 53 per cent of Malaysia's total tourist arrivals - contributing RM28.4 billion (S$11.6 billion) in receipts. Whose loss is it if Singaporeans stop visiting Malaysia? Lawrence Koo for me simple. if you think you got a car and die die want to spend your time in malaysia despite the situation there is unpredictable then dont go lah. dont want to kena stuck then take flight lah. or better still change to bicycle and ride as a whole family free some more no toll and can squeeze through the jams Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged June 18, 2011 Share June 18, 2011 Bro, hv u read the book referring to : from 3rd world, to world nombor satu aka first world nope ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...