Hey son we haven't been talking recently...

Xavina

Sure mom, just P.M. me.

P.M.? A.M. is good too...

LOL mum...

LOL? I'm not following you...

I'm not tweeting mum...Nothing to follow.

Tweeting? Oh yes, I want to talk to you about the birds and the bees...

O.M.G. mum...O.M.G

I swear I cringe damn hard and nearly get into an accident whenever I hear this advert on the radio...

I haven't got any other description for it except that it's a f--king retarded ad. People who think that youths, or anyone with the faintest connection to reality and the people around them, speak like that need to start listening properly and stop coming up with crap like that. Seriously, I thought the Motor Image Ah Beng/Ah Seng ads were bad already, and now we have this s--t....

Boss! Boss!

Can you be more steady! [laugh][laugh]

i was attending a workshop on teen computer addict thing, there are so much that this old man need to learn in order to communicate with my kids [:(] [:(]

but if i see my staff or colleague use such language in their written communication, sure kena from me <_<

Nothing to say about the radio advertisement which TS is referring to.

Just that the thread title reminds me of our relationship with our folks and ours with our kids...

2 songs, in particular, best describes this relationship are

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zH46SmVv8SU

1. Cats In The Cradle by Harry Chapin

My child arrived just the other day

He came to the world in the usual way

But there were planes to catch and bills to pay

He learned to walk while I was away

And he was talkin' 'fore I knew it, and as he grew

He'd say "I'm gonna be like you dad

You know I'm gonna be like you"

And the cat's in the cradle and the silver spoon

Little boy blue and the man on the moon

When you comin' home dad?

I don't know when, but we'll get together then son

You know we'll have a good time then

My son turned ten just the other day

He said, "Thanks for the ball, Dad, come on let's play

Can you teach me to throw", I said "Not today

I got a lot to do", he said, "That's ok"

And he walked away but his smile never dimmed

And said, "I'm gonna be like him, yeah

You know I'm gonna be like him"

When you comin' home son?

Well, he came home from college just the other day

So much like a man I just had to say

"Son, I'm proud of you, can you sit for a while?"

He shook his head and said with a smile

"What I'd really like, Dad, is to borrow the car keys

See you later, can I have them please?"

I've long since retired, my son's moved away

I called him up just the other day

I said, "I'd like to see you if you don't mind"

He said, "I'd love to, Dad, if I can find the time

You see my new job's a hassle and kids have the flu

But it's sure nice talking to you, Dad

It's been sure nice talking to you"

And as I hung up the phone it occurred to me

He'd grown up just like me

My boy was just like me

&

2. The Living Years by Mike & The Mechanics

Every generation

Blames the one before

And all of their frustrations

Come beating on your door

I know that I'm a prisoner

To all my Father held so dear

I know that I'm a hostage

To all his hopes and fears

I just wish I could have told him in the living years

Crumpled bits of paper

Filled with imperfect thought

Stilted conversations

I'm afraid that's all we've got

You say you just don't see it

He says it's perfect sense

You just can't get agreement

In this present tense

We all talk a different language

Talking in defence

Say it loud, say it clear

You can listen as well as you hear

It's too late when we die

To admit we don't see eye to eye

So we open up a quarrel

Between the present and the past

We only sacrifice the future

It's the bitterness that lasts

So Don't yield to the fortunes

You sometimes see as fate

It may have a new perspective

On a different day

And if you don't give up, and don't give in

You may just be O.K.

I wasn't there that morning

When my Father passed away

I didn't get to tell him

All the things I had to say

I think I caught his spirit

Later that same year

I'm sure I heard his echo

In my baby's new born tears

I just wish I could have told him in the living years

We really should cherish our relationship with our loved ones.

Do not take things for granted until it is too late..

树欲静而风不止,子欲养而亲不在...

Edited by Vulcann

Nice songs... Haven't them for a while.

Kids grow up fast. Better enjoy their company while they are young. Otherwise, they'll grow up & seek independance away from parents. Especially boys!!

i was attending a workshop on teen computer addict thing, there are so much that this old man need to learn in order to communicate with my kids [:(] [:(]

but if i see my staff or colleague use such language in their written communication, sure kena from me <_<

Yeah... Cannot tahan when I see my colleagues using all the abbreviations: cos, u, thx, etc... in emails.

Nice songs... Haven't them for a while.

Kids grow up fast. Better enjoy their company while they are young. Otherwise, they'll grow up & seek independance away from parents. Especially boys!!

Ya they are especially meaningful...& sad in the same context.

We, myself included, often miss the big picture while immersing ourselves in our so-called daily-routine-of-life "rituals" such as making money, business appointments, etc.

Chance lost maybe chance gone forever...

Edited by Vulcann

Cat's in the Cradle is very very sad - is one of my "favourites"

Should take the time to smell the roses now.

A lot of my favourite memories are when I got to play sport with dad - whether it was golf, soccer or when he came to watch my rugby. That's why I always see such a message in Cat's In the Cradle.

Of course these days we mostly only watch together -

How many of you take the time to do stuff with your kids? Do you both support the same team?

Cat's in the Cradle is very very sad - is one of my "favourites"

Should take the time to smell the roses now.

*sigh*

Many did exactly what the man mentioned in the song.

And live to regret it later.

Kids grow up fast.

Or longer as one famous Taiwanese singer puts it, as everytime he comes home, his kids are asleep...

A lot of my favourite memories are when I got to play sport with dad - whether it was golf, soccer or when he came to watch my rugby. That's why I always see such a message in Cat's In the Cradle.

Of course these days we mostly only watch together -

How many of you take the time to do stuff with your kids? Do you both support the same team?

Good to hear that you are doing stuff with your old man since young.

I bring my kids out every weekend and it does not matter where we go.

Could be a free trip (other than the petrol) to Peirce Reservoir to see monkeys monkeying around... [laugh]

Or just let them run wild in T3.

Important thing is keeping them company and watching them grow up every step of the way.

If I can.

Edited by Vulcann

*sigh*

Many did exactly what the man mentioned in the song.

And live to regret it later.

Kids grow up fast.

Or longer as one famous Taiwanese singer puts it, as everytime he comes home, his kids are asleep...

The time I taught my first daughter to ride her bike is very special to me - and very special to her also. Next is to go out biking together....

Ya they are especially meaningful...& sad in the same context.

We, myself included, often miss the big picture while immersing ourselves in our so-called daily-routine-of-life "rituals" such as making money, business appointments, etc.

Chance lost maybe chance gone forever...

these days there is argument between me and FIL about who will take my kid to her TKD lessons every Friday - and she loves to practise with me. The time we spend doing this is great fun.

I loved the photo of that golfer guy that won the US Open - hugging his dad. What a great moment.

With the soccer and hockey happening at the moment it is a really good chance to go and spectate with your kids

The time I taught my first daughter to ride her bike is very special to me - and very special to her also. Next is to go out biking together....

It is nostalgic moments like this that will stay with us till the day we kaput.

[:)]

As a matter of fact I will be bringing my kids to Ubin later this week to cycle.

I first brought my gal few weeks ago to trek and as promised, I am bringing her and her younger brother to cycle this time.

It is nostalgic moments like this that will stay with us till the day we kaput.

[:)]

As a matter of fact I will be bringing my kids to Ubin later this week to cycle.

I first brought my gal few weeks ago to trek and as promised, I am bringing her and her younger brother to cycle this time.

If you're into cycling, perhaps you wanna check out this http://www.singaporesports.sg/EventDetail/...07/default.aspx

I am thinking about heading down with my daughter....I think it would be good for her.