Zogel Clutched November 4, 2012 Share November 4, 2012 yup, collection this weekend, goin for 30k challenge passion run See you there! i hope it wont be too crowded... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sga54g 1st Gear November 4, 2012 Share November 4, 2012 not a bad experience, but do wear a cap. The green corridor is without shelter and it can get pretty hot sometimes. Planning to start on this morn 7am but due to Sat nite rain, we changed our venue to Marina Barrage. Was pleased with the route though... Will definitely try the train track experience soon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sga54g 1st Gear November 4, 2012 Share November 4, 2012 How come you start from rifle range road? You plan to run to where? Former train track not a bad place to work out, but look out for cyclists and uneven path. I understand from "Green Corridor Run" in Jan 2013 that the route from Tanjong Pagar to almost Rifle Range Rd is abt 10.5km. Start pt there cos can park among landed area free mah... But too bad, Sat nite rain made us changed our venue to Marina Barrage. Nice route too! Tks for your advice... I guess you ran before on the tracks? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 4, 2012 Share November 4, 2012 I understand from "Green Corridor Run" in Jan 2013 that the route from Tanjong Pagar to almost Rifle Range Rd is abt 10.5km. Start pt there cos can park among landed area free mah... But too bad, Sat nite rain made us changed our venue to Marina Barrage. Nice route too! Tks for your advice... I guess you ran before on the tracks? Lol, you plan to park at rifle range road and run to tanjong pagar and then back again to pick up your car? So you are planning to run 21km for your training? This few days raining, not very good to run "off road", cause the ground would be muddy, wet and slippery. Even hiking in the nature reserve also must be careful, so if you plan to run then must be extra extra careful. I didnt run on the tracks before but walk through a short distance of the track. The track quite deserted, you dont get to see many people walking or running, and there are many cyclists cycle on the tracks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sga54g 1st Gear November 5, 2012 Share November 5, 2012 Lol, you plan to park at rifle range road and run to tanjong pagar and then back again to pick up your car? So you are planning to run 21km for your training? This few days raining, not very good to run "off road", cause the ground would be muddy, wet and slippery. Even hiking in the nature reserve also must be careful, so if you plan to run then must be extra extra careful. I didnt run on the tracks before but walk through a short distance of the track. The track quite deserted, you dont get to see many people walking or running, and there are many cyclists cycle on the tracks. Lol... Actually planned 12-15km only lah, not 21km. Would love to try the path cos no blockage but if got many cyclist then sian half liao... Tks for that info! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 5, 2012 Share November 5, 2012 Lol... Actually planned 12-15km only lah, not 21km. Would love to try the path cos no blockage but if got many cyclist then sian half liao... Tks for that info! May have blockage due to fallen trees. Lol if you plan to run 12-15km, then how you go back to pick up your car? Run to tanjong pagar and then take bus back to rifle range road?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sga54g 1st Gear November 5, 2012 Share November 5, 2012 May have blockage due to fallen trees. Lol if you plan to run 12-15km, then how you go back to pick up your car? Run to tanjong pagar and then take bus back to rifle range road?! Bro... 6-7km down and back again lor. Tks for your advice as these fallen trees are dangerous and life threatening at times nowadays... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 5, 2012 Share November 5, 2012 Bro... 6-7km down and back again lor. Tks for your advice as these fallen trees are dangerous and life threatening at times nowadays... Lol, so you didnt run until tanjong pagar la. Fallen trees really very d angerous and life threatening, esp during not so good weather condition. Many times when you walk at those nature park, your walking could be obstruct by those fallen trees, and also heard before when people hike in those parks suddenly strike by those fallen trees! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky61 1st Gear November 5, 2012 Share November 5, 2012 Lol... Actually planned 12-15km only lah, not 21km. Would love to try the path cos no blockage but if got many cyclist then sian half liao... Tks for that info! if u run on weekdays, there ain't many cyclist on the trail. To and fro from bukit timah visitor centre is definately doable. i did it once with the tracks still intact and many times with the tracks removed. just remember to carry a hydration bag as there are only few areas u can exit to purchase from petrol kiosk/convinence shops along the way.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 5, 2012 Share November 5, 2012 if u run on weekdays, there ain't many cyclist on the trail. To and fro from bukit timah visitor centre is definately doable. i did it once with the tracks still intact and many times with the tracks removed. just remember to carry a hydration bag as there are only few areas u can exit to purchase from petrol kiosk/convinence shops along the way.. Right, not many cyclists on the tracks on weekdays and you can have the whole tracks yourself. You run from where to where? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sga54g 1st Gear November 5, 2012 Share November 5, 2012 if u run on weekdays, there ain't many cyclist on the trail. To and fro from bukit timah visitor centre is definately doable. i did it once with the tracks still intact and many times with the tracks removed. just remember to carry a hydration bag as there are only few areas u can exit to purchase from petrol kiosk/convinence shops along the way.. Point noted & thanks for the info! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 5, 2012 Share November 5, 2012 there;s a stretch of the railroad (around bukit timah)where we took during the north face, it was the straightest and longest 2 km I ever ran.. Seems like no end to road.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky61 1st Gear November 5, 2012 Share November 5, 2012 Right, not many cyclists on the tracks on weekdays and you can have the whole tracks yourself. You run from where to where? bukit timah visitor centre to tanjong pager and back. around 20km Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic November 6, 2012 Share November 6, 2012 Sianz....down with flu and cough, one week plus never run. 3 more weeks to SCMS 2012, I am not in the best condition. My last long run was 25km on 21 Oct Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 Sianz....down with flu and cough, one week plus never run. 3 more weeks to SCMS 2012, I am not in the best condition. My last long run was 25km on 21 Oct Take it easy, rest well and recover from your flu is much more important than the run la. Once you are fully recover then continue your training. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 Went running last night, legs were a bit stiff n sore, only managed 7.3 km :( Tonight will be at the stadium I hope Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ro6ber9t53 Neutral Newbie November 7, 2012 Share November 7, 2012 (edited) Keeps the metabolism up and great for staying lean coupled with resistance training in the gym. Edited November 7, 2012 by Ro6ber9t53 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 8, 2012 Share November 8, 2012 Went running last night, legs were a bit stiff n sore, only managed 7.3 km :( Tonight will be at the stadium I hope Recently very difficult go running since it is raining season. Yesterday night went to run and barely just started my run, it rains heavily and i was caught in the rain! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...