Timex1441 1st Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 I think the warning letter is a recent thing. I have been driving the same way (or maybe more reckless then) since the 90s till now but never had a single speeding ticket until recently. One along Braddell Road and the other on Farrer Road. hmm....not TAT recent lah....back in 2008 already heard abt frens receiving warning letters liao... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 tis year i kena 4 speeding summon..2 is only a warning (1 at KPE,the other at SLE) ,the other 2 (nicoll highway & Lentor )kena 6pts each plus 150 bux each..just my luck..now left with 12 pts..lesson learnt,drive according to speed limit.. Bro, dont speed lah. Think of your love one, this message is always appeared on EMAS board. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wasted 1st Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 Nicoll Highway seems to be a hot spot in recent times, seen them camping on the bridge as often as 4 times within a couple of months this year. Often see people speeding way over the 70km/h limit there - when I travel at 70km/h I'm usually the slowest. Be careful, especially near the bridge. at Nico cannot be hero ya, let others have a chance. there was once i followed behind a skyline in the middle lane, and luckily the camera man was on duty that afternoon. the skyline was travelling at a constant speed, so upon checking my meter, the speed around 80. but i still followed the speed of the skyline, wondering whether will i be caught on cam? but till now no letter... so probably they do give allowance or speedo underrated! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Copen 1st Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 lol? no more overhead bridge la. now they hiding in bushes. Heehee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 lol? no more overhead bridge la. now they hiding in bushes. They still camp on the bridge at Nicoll Highway. Saw four times this year already. Very clearly visible The traffic police in HK are much more hardcore. On at least six or seven occasions, seen them camp on the hatched line and partially hidden by the dividing concrete wall (the spot at the red circle). I think this method is damn risky; if some blur idiot suddenly decides to cut the hatched line (thankfully doesn't happen often), game over for the cop! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maninnblack Neutral Newbie September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 Before any camera, there will be Speed Camera Ahead signboard in blue (Which not only applies to KPE, but anywhere else). The 3 boxes sometimes hard to see as they are about the same color as the ceiling and wall, furthermore, the sensors will be on your left side before the cameras. (You can see two small squares @ the wall) P.S. For those speed trap hand held, SPF have a list in their webby. One of the Four blue signs in KPE is 'how siao' one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 Heehee lol. nicoll highway is la. but in open expressways, they dont use bridge. the camp by the bushes near the shoulder. harder to see. i also kena 4 points from nicoll before Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 One of the Four blue signs in KPE is 'how siao' one. lol. slow down at all the signs la. wont do much harm. the cameras are only those areas. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Copen 1st Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 I have one question that is bothering me though. Those speed trap camera can't be used at night right? They are used to capture front number plate and speed. So at night where we have our headlights on it's quite impossible to capture? Can someone enlighten me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 I have one question that is bothering me though. Those speed trap camera can't be used at night right? They are used to capture front number plate and speed. So at night where we have our headlights on it's quite impossible to capture? Can someone enlighten me? your backside number also can be caught one. thats why if u notice some cars properly, their front plate is normal and rear plate got shiny reflections and all one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Copen 1st Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 your backside number also can be caught one. thats why if u notice some cars properly, their front plate is normal and rear plate got shiny reflections and all one. I mean the tripod like the picture I posted. Can they be used at night? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 I mean the tripod like the picture I posted. Can they be used at night? that one i dunno liao. got to ask the "experienced" ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tsr729 1st Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 Just curious... For those overhead mobile cam with a person standing there one, will there be any flashes if you are to be caught on their cam? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 Just curious... For those overhead mobile cam with a person standing there one, will there be any flashes if you are to be caught on their cam? No flash. The laser gun clocks your speed but does not record an image. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tsr729 1st Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Copen 1st Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 No flash. The laser gun clocks your speed but does not record an image. What about at night? Do they use the same tactic? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tsr729 1st Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 Just now I was travelling along bedok north road from tampines ave 10, road was quite empty and I was going around 90km/h plus. There got 2 overhead bridges. I didn't see anyone standing on the bridge but was quite worried if they are hiding after that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Copen 1st Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 Just now I was travelling along bedok north road from tampines ave 10, road was quite empty and I was going around 90km/h plus. There got 2 overhead bridges. I didn't see anyone standing on the bridge but was quite worried if they are hiding after that. That's what I want to know also. Do those mobile speed cam, capture our plate number at night? With our headlight glaring in the front? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...