Cleefho 1st Gear August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 nobody here ever attended court for traffic offenses???? I recommend you just plead guilty, many learn it the hard way and kanna double the fine ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yusld Neutral Newbie August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 Oh my God!! 123km/h on a 70km/h road??? Get ready a driver for at least 1 year! What a road Hero!! hi guys, was caught for speeding on airport boulevard towards pie just now, doing 123km/h on a 70km/h road. TP guy told me around 2 wks time will receive letter to attend court, and its a 18points offense. i was given a slip of paper and send off. i would like to find out, if i intend to appeal, do i appeal now or wait for the letter to arrive 2 wks time before appealing?? i'm willing to take it like a man and go thru with the process, just want to know when do i appeal, now? after i get the letter to attend court? or during court? tks for the advise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny_k Neutral Newbie August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 Bro Things has happen....Nothing much you can do. You go TP to appeal, their reply "No Appeal for Speeding" "Speeding Kill" Just Face the music... You will ask to attend court in 2 months time. I caught speeding 101km on 60km road. Above 41km speed limit. Fine S$500 and 12point... Sunny Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 Will the judge give lighter sentence if say " my Vtec just kick in yo" Or maybe the car did not feel that fast and there is no intention to speed due to the downward slope effect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinepro Clutched August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 Anyone have try to appeal for crossing a double white lines? Go straight to TP at Ubi ?What are the chances of a discount? Its indicate 4 points + S$130 . Thanks in advance ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marky3113 1st Gear August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 cut this guy some slack la. those who never kena an excessive speeding fine will not understand. I kena myself also. my lisense has been clean for the past 8 years(ie no speeding tickets) until about 2 years ago. i got done going 96km/hr on a 50km/hr road. where was this you may ask, coming down orchard boulevard behind wheelock place. why was i going at that speed ? light turned yellow, i hesitated for a moment, then decided to go. its one of those split second decisions that i made wrong. so i guess i am real unlucky. honestly majority of everyone do speed in their car, it just depend whether heng or not, if get caught then no choice. anyways, you can appeal (like what i did) but i was rejected. once upon sending in your appeal, you will receive a letter of acknowledgement to say they are reviewing the appeal and your court date will be postponed. since my appeal was rejected.( i asked for composite fine and no need to appear in court) i was given a later court date. most first offence will be up to $1,000 fine without lisense suspension, i plead guilty and they will ask you if you have anything to say, just say you are extremely remorseful of your actions and would like to plead for leniency. I am sure it will help to be polite and to dress properly for court. my fine was $800 with 12 points. the 12 points will be wiped clean if you do not any demerit points in the next 12 months Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kueijie Clutched August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 (edited) cut this guy some slack la. those who never kena an excessive speeding fine will not understand. I kena myself also. my lisense has been clean for the past 8 years(ie no speeding tickets) until about 2 years ago. i got done going 96km/hr on a 50km/hr road. where was this you may ask, coming down orchard boulevard behind wheelock place. why was i going at that speed ? light turned yellow, i hesitated for a moment, then decided to go. its one of those split second decisions that i made wrong. so i guess i am real unlucky. honestly majority of everyone do speed in their car, it just depend whether heng or not, if get caught then no choice. anyways, you can appeal (like what i did) but i was rejected. once upon sending in your appeal, you will receive a letter of acknowledgement to say they are reviewing the appeal and your court date will be postponed. since my appeal was rejected.( i asked for composite fine and no need to appear in court) i was given a later court date. most first offence will be up to $1,000 fine without lisense suspension, i plead guilty and they will ask you if you have anything to say, just say you are extremely remorseful of your actions and would like to plead for leniency. I am sure it will help to be polite and to dress properly for court. my fine was $800 with 12 points. the 12 points will be wiped clean if you do not any demerit points in the next 12 months Once, I got "flashed" by Red light camera once 2 mths. Problem is I'm still a P-plate then, and even now... only got 12 point, and is a 12-point demerit offense. my heart dropped to the ZERO. I can understand the feeling i guess... But lucky, dunno y, i saw 2 times flash, but after wait 1 mth, no letter... I'm really heng. From then on, I'm really a safe driver Edited August 21, 2011 by Kueijie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 123km/h on a 70km/h road?? Exceeding speed limit by 53km/h. Good job by the officer! You should be banned from the road. Period. You said you are willing to take it like a man but yet you also said you want to appeal. Kinda contradicting isn't it? give him a break lah... airport there not like will hv ppl crossing the road... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 appeal when you exceed 53km/h? you will get double charge, anyway your licence will be gone at this speed r u sure double charge?... you anyhow say ah?... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 suspension is mandatory the TP already said 18points... wont revoke lah... if TS had 24 to start with... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanong11 Clutched August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 To TS, The letter might arrive a few months later, informing you of your court date. You can then appeal. Can try through MP. Normally that will lessen fine and spare you court date, but demerit points will still remain at 18 points. That one cannot avoid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kueijie Clutched August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 hi guys, was caught for speeding on airport boulevard towards pie just now, doing 123km/h on a 70km/h road. TP guy told me around 2 wks time will receive letter to attend court, and its a 18points offense. i was given a slip of paper and send off. i would like to find out, if i intend to appeal, do i appeal now or wait for the letter to arrive 2 wks time before appealing?? i'm willing to take it like a man and go thru with the process, just want to know when do i appeal, now? after i get the letter to attend court? or during court? tks for the advise. Refer to this : http://derrickleow.com/trafficviolations.aspx Seem like there's no other "penalty"(like a fine) to it if u "fight" for it. If fine, u appeal, if lost at most double fine. BUT if more serious "penalty" (like jail or 18 demerit point), if lose, sure also kanna jia lat jia lat... i think better plead guilty and ask for light punishment. Dun "fight" against the law, u r just at their mercy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 To TS, The letter might arrive a few months later, informing you of your court date. You can then appeal. Can try through MP. Normally that will lessen fine and spare you court date, but demerit points will still remain at 18 points. That one cannot avoid. thats rite... thats correct facts... kns so many post just talking c--k... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 just sharing... there is nothing wrong in trying to appeal... i appeal for any offense i kanna from parking to speeding... if sucessful i save some $$$ if not then i pay up and move on... i think what the ppl here are trying to say is if you fight in court with a lawyer... then will kanna even higher fine thats for sure... cause waste courts time all mah... pls appeal asap... best if you can get some time off to drop by Traffic Police at TP... by the way from what i heard from a TP you can forget about waving the demerit points... fine discount yes... but thats from an appeal... once you get to the court level no hope liao... good luck all the best Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 the TP already said 18points... wont revoke lah... if TS had 24 to start with... Handphone driving, 12 points still can disqualified from driving. anyway i mentioned suspension not revoke. 12 Demerit Points Exceeding speed limit for vehicle by more than 40km/h up to 50km/h. Exceeding the speed limit of the road by more than 40km/h up to 50km/h. These offenders will be prosecuted in court. Failing to conform to traffic red light signals. In addition, a composition amount is imposed as follows: Light Vehicle (unladen weight of 2500 kg and below) : S$200.00 Heavy Vehicle (unladen weight exceeds 2500 kg) : S$230.00 Use of mobile telephone whilst driving. The offenders may be prosecuted in court and disqualified from driving. The offender's handphone and SIM card may also be seized to facilitate investigation. These may be forfeited by the court upon conviction. Court Penalties: 1st time offender- Fine not exceeding $1000.00 or jail sentence of up to 6 months or both. 2nd or subsequent conviction- Fine not exceeding $2000.00 or jail sentence of up to 12 months or both. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 TS you shouldnt exceed that much. good luck in your appeal! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 (edited) Handphone driving, 12 points still can disqualified from driving. anyway i mentioned suspension not revoke. 12 Demerit Points Exceeding speed limit for vehicle by more than 40km/h up to 50km/h. Exceeding the speed limit of the road by more than 40km/h up to 50km/h. These offenders will be prosecuted in court. Failing to conform to traffic red light signals. In addition, a composition amount is imposed as follows: Light Vehicle (unladen weight of 2500 kg and below) : S$200.00 Heavy Vehicle (unladen weight exceeds 2500 kg) : S$230.00 Use of mobile telephone whilst driving. The offenders may be prosecuted in court and disqualified from driving. The offender's handphone and SIM card may also be seized to facilitate investigation. These may be forfeited by the court upon conviction. Court Penalties: 1st time offender- Fine not exceeding $1000.00 or jail sentence of up to 6 months or both. 2nd or subsequent conviction- Fine not exceeding $2000.00 or jail sentence of up to 12 months or both. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . thats handphone... not speeding what... we talking about speeding right? how come traffic lights offense come in? and you said 3k -5k fine from your earlier post... anyways if racing (more than 2 cars) is fine or/and jail term... and as for TS the TP already said 18points so confirm wont suspend license EVEN if he get lawyer fight in court (which is stupid)... Edited August 21, 2011 by Ken4555 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jefkking Clutched August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 (edited) Bros, as you'll be charged in court and can't appeal. What you can do is prepapre cash of between S$ 3K to S$ 5K prior to headiing to Court for hearing (if no Cash for the fine settlement, the Court Police will lock you up at Sub-Court Chamber and after 4 pm, they'll send you to Queenstown Detention Prison or Changi Prison). TP informed you was 18 demerit points BUT was an guideline as actually depends on the Judge at time of hering at Sub-Court and maybe your license could be suspense / revoke - it's better to get yourself with mentally prepaore for the worse. During the hearing, only "guilty or NOT guilty" as not appealing acacept by the judge ! Edited August 21, 2011 by Jefkking ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...