Tayspiderx 3rd Gear August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 Dun think C5 have massage seat, guess u mixed up with Renault latitude, not sure abt the music streaming either... The C5 wheelbase though long wheelbase, in actual fact its bulky door panels and thick padded seat reduce interior space. Personally its cramp. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fat_slayer 4th Gear August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 Not sure about the Renualt but the C5 sure has. Sent my car for servicing and the showroom piece has it as well as the wireless music streaming via Bluetooth. Tot thick padded seats = better comfort. Anyway, K5, C5 and the 508 all have comparable space. Difference is def not day and night. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vt04boys Neutral Newbie August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 surely all cars with bluetooth capabilities can stream music "wirelessly"???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 Go ahead and get a french. My friend drives a megane. he spends a bomb on spare parts. One hand brke faulty ewill. Dset u back 600 bucks. He complained to his agent . They said French parts very ex. After 5 years. U compare paper value of Citroen c5 vs Kia k5. Kia with the cat b coe will fetch higher. Plus after 5 years u think there will be market for Citroen? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Merkava Neutral Newbie August 26, 2011 Share August 26, 2011 What if this K5 was branded to some other makes? Maybe Toyota Optima, Nissan Optima, Honda Optima or VW Optima etc? Likely the outcome and reviews will be totally different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear August 26, 2011 Share August 26, 2011 Even to consider a french car, always make sure still got warranty. Some time its not just the parts that are expensive, the labor involved could really be costly...in megane the head lamp can only be access via wheel well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vt04boys Neutral Newbie August 26, 2011 Share August 26, 2011 What if this K5 was branded to some other makes? Maybe Toyota Optima, Nissan Optima, Honda Optima or VW Optima etc? Likely the outcome and reviews will be totally different. Good point, Bro Merkava..., even if u may have vested interest from the contra posts, while there some "hard" comparisons, quite clearly there is a prejudice against KIA or MIK in general. same with Hyundai.., until they came up with the Sonata NF. Not the best in all technical/handling, but more then adequate, reliable and excellent value. many of my frens asked why did i buy a MIK..., after awhile they started singing a different song. USA owner-drivers are quite objective and don't hold punches when they share their experiences... More honest than some of the "professional" car reviewers, I think. They have raised some issues as they live with their k5's but most seem quite happy indeed with their buy. BTW, the USA k5 till now are also all MIK, though they will start & ramp up production in US soon to meet demand there. haven't picked up my k5 yet, but believe it will do the same (or more) for KIA's reputation as what the NF did for Hyundai. what's the worst? if really not happy, sell/scrap and buy something else... hahahahahaha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear August 26, 2011 Share August 26, 2011 Based on your comparison, I really doubt if u had ever been inside the C5. I am someone who really put my money on the C5. My height is 1.74m and tip the scale at more than 100kg and I find the rear seats comfortable. The wheelbase is more than 2.8m almost 20cm more than the forte. How can their interior size be the same!!!! Features wise, the K5 has the panoramic roof and the air vent seats. However, the C5 has the massage seats, wireless music streaming and their hyperactive III suspension. Their price are also on par. Wheelbase don't mean anything lah. Look at German makes. Their front wheels/ axle are located more to the front bumper than the front doors. Their front overhang are shorter. That makes their wheelbase longer as well. Good for you if you can fit in the rear seats of the C5. I know I can't. And please. I've sat in one before. The K5 is definitely noticeably larger than the 508 and C5. Period. Plus those frenchies are 1.6Turbo with roughly the same OMV, with a lower COE and still selling at a higher price than the Kia K5. The dealers are pocketing all your additional depreciation rich asses. Fluid/ Air suspension means more maintenance in the future. Not exactly a practical/ useful feature on our roads. I believe the K5 also has bluetooth phone connectivity with the stereo as standard. Only pity is the 2.0MPI 165bhp engine, which somehow doesn't match the outlook of the K5 [You'd expect the K5 to be a sporty and powerful drive just looking at it]. Once C&C brings in the 2.0TGDi, I wonder if you'll be saying the same story about the 1.6T frenchies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vt04boys Neutral Newbie August 26, 2011 Share August 26, 2011 Of course, if only C&C will bring in the 2.4GDi K7, and have a confirmative date on the K5 2.0TGDi.....=) Bro, I've asked about these as well..., I also feel the 2.0T will be spot on for the car. Seems like not much chance of C&C doing so. Higher cost basically. They simply don't read the demand for 2.4L and turbo as high enough to justify bringing them in. U might want to try the special indent method but have to consider the aftersales support issues. Aust currently has only the 2.4L GDi Platinum, which reads much like a Singapore k5 with the 2.4 engine and Infinity sound system. If reports are to be believed, they will also bring in the 2.0L MPI version (and basic features) to offer a cheaper option. And they'll have only 1000 units to sell for the entire Australia... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear August 26, 2011 Share August 26, 2011 Ya Aus gets the 6 disc infinity HU...sianzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear August 26, 2011 Share August 26, 2011 Bro, I've asked about these as well..., I also feel the 2.0T will be spot on for the car. Seems like not much chance of C&C doing so. Higher cost basically. They simply don't read the demand for 2.4L and turbo as high enough to justify bringing them in. U might want to try the special indent method but have to consider the aftersales support issues. Aust currently has only the 2.4L GDi Platinum, which reads much like a Singapore k5 with the 2.4 engine and Infinity sound system. If reports are to be believed, they will also bring in the 2.0L MPI version (and basic features) to offer a cheaper option. And they'll have only 1000 units to sell for the entire Australia... The 2.0TGDi 275bhp engine has been launched in the KDM Facelift 2011.5 Hyundai i45 Sonata. I'm pretty sure, this engine will be available in the KDM Kia K5 Optima as well, as seen in the US version of the K5 SX. C&C used to bring in the basic version, but only for the first few shipment. After that, when COE prices went through the roof, C&C found it more worth to bring in the higher-spec version. Apparently, the 2.0TGDi costs only slightly more than the standard 2.4GDi model, which costs slightly more than the 2.0MPI model. You get the picture yeah =) Project price with current COE pricing at $65k, and the 2.0MPI going at $139,999, the 2.0TGDi will probably cost $155,999 [or less] in today's money, with the equivalent high-spec features found on the 2.0MPI. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Merkava Neutral Newbie August 26, 2011 Share August 26, 2011 The problem is our singapore buyers mentality. C&C can bring in a top of the range Optima, whether a 2.0T or 2.4 GDI. Question is, how to price and market it? Price too high, buyers will look at conti brands. Price too low, no point doing business. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vt04boys Neutral Newbie August 26, 2011 Share August 26, 2011 hmmm.... well, that may be so.. at your estimates it's a 15% premium (based on 140k) for the T, and still comes back down to how C&C reads the demand. so far the message is that they don't think there will be enough demand for THEM to bring in the T version. also the direct injection engines need more refined petrol than what's available here and bolehland. and... too late la, for me. already committed to the 2.0L MPI K5. just drool la... :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic August 26, 2011 Share August 26, 2011 The problem is still on most of the local car buyer mindset - korea car must be cheap. But they forget that modern korean car are as good or even better than their nippon competitor. As I mention in another post, I am seeing more Hyundai/Kia on Germany road compare to Toyota/Honda as I visit there often. The price there is similar to the Japanese car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fat_slayer 4th Gear August 27, 2011 Share August 27, 2011 [quote name='Proton_neutron' date='Aug 26 2011, 02:14 PM' post= Good for you if you can fit in the rear seats of the C5. I know I can't. And please. I've sat in one before. The K5 is definitely noticeably larger than the 508 and C5. Period. Plus those frenchies are 1.6Turbo with roughly the same OMV, with a lower COE and still selling at a higher price than the Kia K5. The dealers are pocketing all your additional depreciation rich asses. I m curious what car are u driving since u can't fit into a C5. Not sure bat the omv of the K5 but C5's is about 32k which is higher than Passat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsogoodman 4th Gear August 27, 2011 Share August 27, 2011 [quote name='Proton_neutron' date='Aug 26 2011, 02:14 PM' post= Good for you if you can fit in the rear seats of the C5. I know I can't. And please. I've sat in one before. The K5 is definitely noticeably larger than the 508 and C5. Period. Plus those frenchies are 1.6Turbo with roughly the same OMV, with a lower COE and still selling at a higher price than the Kia K5. The dealers are pocketing all your additional depreciation rich asses. I m curious what car are u driving since u can't fit into a C5. Not sure bat the omv of the K5 but C5's is about 32k which is higher than Passat. According to LTA Website, K5 2.0 - $20k C5 1.6 - $31k 508 1.6 - $28k-$34k depending on specs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 Ya really sux if u tell me. But frenchies have high omv bcos they hav worst resale value too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prince_of_Darkness Neutral Newbie August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 What if ........... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...