Need help for good contractor...

Ivan_06

Dear all,

I will be getting my Bishan DBSS flat soon..

As most of the interior work are already included in the unit.. I am looking for good contractor to do some simple job for my house...

At the same time, i would like to ask you all whether the following are possible with my budget..

1) 8ft x 6.5ft TV Console cum Storage Cabinet - $2400

2) 3ft full height shoe cabinet & 2ft seetle - $1200

3) 7ft top flung cabinet - $1000

4) 3ft suspended study table on bay window top - $500

5) 5ft dining feature wall - $500

6) False Ceiling for foyer & dining, L Box for Living room - $1000

7) Painting - $1200

8) Wiring for L Box, False Ceiling - $1000

Did i overbudget or what? I am looking more for a contractor...

Looks a bit light to me.

But I'm sure some contractor will say OK and then have to add on this and that and the other.

We are about half way through our reno on a new flat.

Happy with the ID.

Oh btw you might try a site called renotalk iirc.

Loads and loads of stuff on there and many will provide an answer to your query.

really tight meh.. about 80% of the quotes i have listed here was given by an ID...

i am looking for contractor.. ID marks up things by 40-50%

chew interior?

picanto, i tot you self banned yourself?

i said i dun want ID le.. more like contractor as i dun need very sophiscated design lah..

If you deal direct with the carpenter, your budget is more than enough. 50% savings possible for some items.

btw, you mentioned "3ft full height shoe cabinet". i heard from fengshui point of view, shoe cabinet not advisable to do full height. cos if your wife (or whoever) puts her shoes in the higher shelves (over your head), it will be like she's stepping all over you.

If you deal direct with the carpenter, your budget is more than enough. 50% savings possible for some items.

btw, you mentioned "3ft full height shoe cabinet". i heard from fengshui point of view, shoe cabinet not advisable to do full height. cos if your wife (or whoever) puts her shoes in the higher shelves (over your head), it will be like she's stepping all over you.

mmz.. the problem is i dun have any contacts.. besides, its my 1st home and 1st time doing up... was thinking of ID, but think prices are heavily marked up.. so thought of saving some money by getting contractor...

for carpenter, would they design the cabinet? heehee... i dun think so? or i can just buy some magazine and point i want this? really noob here

mmz.. the problem is i dun have any contacts.. besides, its my 1st home and 1st time doing up... was thinking of ID, but think prices are heavily marked up.. so thought of saving some money by getting contractor...

for carpenter, would they design the cabinet? heehee... i dun think so? or i can just buy some magazine and point i want this? really noob here

There are various way to get contacts.

1) Walk into your neighbor's house kaypo a bit, talk c--k, make friends, while their carpenters are busy working. Then ask the carpenter directly for their contact. U can check out their workmanship at the same time.

2) Drive around light industrial estates and walk into the carpenters' workshop if u see one. I saw quite a few in Eastlink light industrial factory building at Bedok when i visited my door maker.

3) Yellow pages. Keywords carpenter, custom furniture, woodwork, ....

4) renotalk.com forum

I doubt they design but I'm sure they can produce furniture similar to those in pictures u provide. And they may have taken photos of their previous works too (some of which could be designed by ID). If u see one u like, u can ask them to clone it...hehe.... so u may get ID designed furniture at factory direct prices!

Contractor in the strictest sense does hacking, wetworks, and so on. He outsources fiddly stuff like windows, carpentry and painting. If you approach a typical contractor they may just subcontract out the carpentry work and earn money for doing next to nothing. Better find a direct carpenter, you might save more if you shop around.

ya at least 20% higher

sub here n there nia..

usually i get malaysian..alot better and cheaper..coz they earn a living from these

contact plz [laugh]