VellfireS 4th Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 highend RangeRover... i saw one overtaking everyone from the left lane at super highspeed, later saw it cut back into right lane in front of his boss's ferrari and continued to 'clear' the road for the ferrari when the ferrari really opened up later at 230kmh, the RR stepped one side and followed behind... (RR maybe not too stable at 230kmh, so could only 'open road' up to that speed. Wow.. haha.. I havent see RR as escort before.. Usually see Hilux or XC90.. More that 200+ for RR , cannot la bro.. it is too risky liao.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 You mean the gear stick very difficult to engage?! He meant the non-powered steering system Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 Hi there! I think the range rovers are really beautiful cars. But, why are they so expensive? But my main point is, range rovers are in the niche category. how have they been able to survive in Singapore! They dont have much of a purpose being in SG. but they are :S What are your views on range rovers? Love to hear from everyone! Btw, sorry for spamming the forum. Can't sleep. Hahaha. Ive owned a bunch of landrovers (defenders)....and i used to live in one (i kid you not) If you want to know why defenders, discovery and range rovers are expensive take a look underneath. They all share the same massive chassis ontop of which the aluminim body is bolted. They share basically the same transmissions suspensions steering etc etc. That means the mostly road going rangerover is as capable an off roader as the worlds best off road 4x4 (used by many armed forces around the world) That means when you buy one in a place like singapore you are buying 10x the vehicle you actually need. Take a look at the front wheel drive shafts for example then compare it to that on practically any other vehicle on the road other than a hgv. When your on a 45 degree hill in low ratio 1st gear you can get out of a fully laden LR and walk around it while it inches its way up the slope as smoothly as if it was being whinched up, only using the engine idle!. Very impressive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 The landrover defender in the army is tough and good. its (the defenders 110, 90s and discovery) basically the same car as the rangerover (not the new models) just a different body ontop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 Was told more than 10 years back, about 75% of Defender still roadworthy and being driven around (this is real tough vehicle). my old landrover is still being used on the road by current owner and its was made 50 years ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 (edited) I also like Land Rover. I love especially the Discovery 4 - superb space & offroad power. But they are so expensive to own!!! :angry: Even the small Land Rover Freelander is nice. Land Rover is also sponsoring the Camel Trophy contest, an annual offroad race make-up of teams from different countries. The Defender is often used for this race, althought got one time they used the Range Rover. I like to watch that on TV, but its mediacorp don't show it lor :angry: ah yes the old camel trophy. been running for years - the landrover 110s and before that the 109s they used were awesome! Google landrover 'pink panthers' and see the pedegree :) Edited September 6, 2011 by Badder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 Read brochure many years back, can tilt 45 degrees either side without flipping over they can. but i did manage to roll one of my landrovers once - but that was due to brake failure and rolling backwards down a hillside :) I had mine in 3feet deep of river water many times....one time was almost the last....:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 I believe Unimog another good one for off-road yes - actually probably a better off roader than the landrover Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 (edited) Right smack on bro, however the 'truck' can also stand at some awkward angle on 3 wheels & yet door can open & shut beautifully- body shell is damn stiff. because the 'real range rovers/landrovers" unlike most so called 4x4s have seperate chassis. a proper off roader needs a seperate chassis...the new RR is a bit of a toy because unlike its predicesors its chassis is integrated Edited September 6, 2011 by Badder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 they can. but i did manage to roll one of my landrovers once - but that was due to brake failure and rolling backwards down a hillside :) I had mine in 3feet deep of river water many times....one time was almost the last....:) Ever witnessed Defender 110 used to tow 10-tonner truck (1.0-tonne + towing 10 times its weight). 110 hoping side to side while the truck lethargicly moved forward. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 (edited) Ever witnessed Defender 110 used to tow 10-tonner truck (1.0-tonne + towing 10 times its weight). 110 hoping side to side while the truck lethargicly moved forward. I can imagine . ive seen/used these babies for all sorts of things Not pulled a 10 tonner but Ive towed a burnt out Bedford MK4, Ive even used one to drag a FV721 Fox out of the poop i love these vehicles....i may have had a few of them I have a pic on my wall at home of me in the middle of a portugese river frantically trying to dig my landrover safari 109 out the silt as it was sinking. My whole life at that time was in that thing, i lived in it touring around! i got her out but from then on i would check not just the depth of the water but if the bed is silt or stone. water depth wasnt the issue on my deisel but sinking was! lol I loved the 109 but it couldnt hold a candle to my 110 with its rangerover suspension. Its ironic to think that in those days the rangerover was actually a better off roader than the landrover. the 109 had leaf springs and the rangrover had a better chassis and coil springs. They 'upgraded' the landrover 109 by taking the body and shoving it ontop of a rangerover! making the 110/90 series. Edited September 6, 2011 by Badder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 HAHA.. Sounded like TG.. [:p] But , its a great adventure bro.. haha.. One day we organize something similar from MCF la.. Convoy of 5 rides.. where should we go, all the way song song to jurong? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 Wow.. haha.. I havent see RR as escort before.. Usually see Hilux or XC90.. More that 200+ for RR , cannot la bro.. it is too risky liao.. can lah, it has V8 power and its weight makes it steady at high speed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 Ever witnessed Defender 110 used to tow 10-tonner truck (1.0-tonne + towing 10 times its weight). 110 hoping side to side while the truck lethargicly moved forward. i saw a 'wrecker' truck pulled a water-tanker (10 tone?) out of muddy padi fields at 2am ROC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atx2 Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 ! ENJOY! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear September 7, 2011 Share September 7, 2011 where should we go, all the way song song to jurong? HAHA.. Even if that can , I wont mind.. [:p] Or we go exploring la.. Every Lorong at.. [sly] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear September 7, 2011 Share September 7, 2011 can lah, it has V8 power and its weight makes it steady at high speed Well, it's a RR.. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 HAHA.. Even if that can , I wont mind.. [:p] Or we go exploring la.. Every Lorong at.. [sly] this one i prefer doing it on foot.... slowly checking things out ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...