I don't understand Mandarin

Windwaver

12 hours ago, Jman888 said:

at least he is brave enough to speak in public tv, some chinese outright refuse to speak mandarin.

Exactly! I seriously don't understand how refusing to speak Mandarin will value add to that person.

Oh, I remember there was this learn Mandarin craze many years ago when China is becoming a focus when it opened up, some of my 'do not speak Mandarin' Chinese ex-colleagues suddenly knew how to! :wut:

Man, that was hilarious :grin:

12 hours ago, Ender said:

Clearly AWWA guy tried to speak mandarin and does not pretend to not know chinese. Forgive him lah..

Oh no, I don't hold any grudges towards him at all, unfortunately he was a good example of not preparing for an event like a news broadcast.

It reflects badly on the ethics of that particular person because not preparing for a job or meeting simply is not having respect for what that person is responsible for.

I certainly wouldn't put him in charge of important tasks at all.

On 7/20/2022 at 7:00 AM, Windwaver said:

There are bound to be people that are less eloquent with their languages but to be able to appear on national TV is another thing.

I really hope there is at least a basic level of screening before inviting guests to speak on national TV. Besides, all invited guests will have time to prepare beforehand so it's really irresponsible to screw up on the day itself (like your observation above).

7742cb07-38d1-404a-ac86-0c841254d79b_tex

Fully agree. 

Some were reading from placards or screen and yet could not read smoothly. Worse than 成何体统。I blame the programme producer for allowing  this type of rubbish on national tv. 

When I watch it, my ears pain.

On 9/24/2022 at 10:15 PM, Mahjong74 said:

@Sosaria 

No wonder some of those high income earners I know in MNC, has a second spouse aka mistress from PRC

Their main intention is to learn and improve their chinese 🤣 

HAhahaha, the excuse seems valid?[lipsrsealed]

On 9/24/2022 at 10:37 AM, mersaylee said:

One of my daughter's bffs speaks more than perfect mandarin...i was in awe when I first heard her spoke on stage as a MC in skool event...i encouraged her to be a radio DJ or TV presenter...she's doing Chinese studies in uni now 

What does bffs mean? 🤔 A new acronym?

1 hour ago, Kopites said:

Thanks. Just goggle. Nowadays pretty hard to catch up with those social media acronyms .🤔

Must keep up with times, if not young people say we outdated :grin:

2 hours ago, Kopites said:

Thanks. Just goggle. Nowadays pretty hard to catch up with those social media acronyms .🤔

this one very old liao leh. Probably from like 2000s. dont think the kids will use it nowadays.

17 hours ago, Windwaver said:

Must keep up with times, if not young people say we outdated :grin:

I saw this appearing here and there but don't know what it means. Now I know and hope to remember 😂

4 hours ago, Victor68 said:

I saw this appearing here and there but don't know what it means. Now I know and hope to remember 😂

BTW, other than international versions there are also local ones :grin: