Pyramid_sg Clutched November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Cordon >> ASIAONE / MOTORING / NEWS / STORY Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 AsiaOne Leave no speeding car unbooked If you want to speed, there is an unspoken rule of thumb: go as fast as the quickest car in front of you. The reason? Most photo radar systems can only track one violator at a time and as such, anecdotally, odds are that the radar will only pick up the violator in front of you. That will change if the latest radar sensor, Cordon, from Peak Gain Systems, a traffic enforcement solutions company, is brought into Singapore. Cordon's can simultaneously track the speed of vehicles in up to four lanes using a single sensor. According to Engadget, which first reported on this device, it can follow up to 32 vehicles. In the video below, vehicles that are tagged in red blocks are identified as way past the speed limit while those in yellow are within an acceptable range above the limit. Those in green are safe from tickets, according to an Engadget report. The Cordon system can create a pair of high-resolution images for each violation, ensuring that you won't get away. There will be a wide-angle image of multiple targets with the violator clearly identified and a close-up of each violator, with a clearly visible licence plate, the company's website says. The bad news doesn't end there for traffic offenders. The Cordon system can also automatically detect bus lane violations with 'advanced licence plate recognition system'. The speed sensor is small and light enough to be mounted at a height of five to eight metres on any fixed roadside object, making it inconspicuous. It can also immediately transmit captured data of traffic violations back to the office for processing. Integrated infra-red spotlights means the sensor can also work at night, when roads are emptier and speeding more likely. What do you think? Will this speedcam cut down on the number of speeding violations in Singapore? [email protected] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruriimasu 1st Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 whoa.. time to be guai kia and stay within limits... even when roads are empty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Catching people for speeding accomplishes very little, except revenue generation for the gahmen. This is because speeding is not the major cause of accidents - it's POOR DRIVING. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Catching people for speeding accomplishes very little, except revenue generation for the gahmen. This is because speeding is not the major cause of accidents - it's POOR DRIVING. cameras cause more accidents when people jam brakes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 People speed on short burst is due to A-hole who road hog... They should start catching road hogs.... Off course if one wanna speed...dun complain lor. I dun mind to cruise at 90-100kmh...but its sometime more stressful to do that due to having to overtake or rather undertake the idiotic hogger... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Start by increasing some speed limits for the roads first... if a whole stretch of road is empty, then it makes no sense to have it at 60km... should be case by case basis... haiz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmaomao 6th Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Good lo.. vote P@P lo.. pay back time.. gahman need $$ to top up their reserve... Their bonus depend on u! u! u! u! u!... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
0wnage 2nd Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Start by increasing some speed limits for the roads first... if a whole stretch of road is empty, then it makes no sense to have it at 60km... should be case by case basis... haiz... People would have different definitions of 'empty' then. By right, empty would mean ZERO cars on the road - pretty impossible to have 0 on Singapore roads eh? But you might think having 2 other cars on the road is considered empty while others may think 5 cars on the road is still pretty "empty". That would be a potential loophole that some drivers will exploit, so I suppose it won't work? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
0wnage 2nd Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 People speed on short burst is due to A-hole who road hog... They should start catching road hogs.... Off course if one wanna speed...dun complain lor. I dun mind to cruise at 90-100kmh...but its sometime more stressful to do that due to having to overtake or rather undertake the idiotic hogger... Might be a good idea to implement a minimum speed on lanes 1 and 2. On highways like USA, all lanes have minimum speeds so slow-moving cars have to keep to the slower lanes to prevent road-hogging. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 highway usually stays within speed limit. road usually exceed speed limit. if this is used for normal 50 or 60 km/h road, then their speeder database will be saturated very soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamessoh Neutral Newbie November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 generally dun exceed more than 10km/hr of speed limit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
K3037 Neutral Newbie November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 generally dun exceed more than 10km/hr of speed limit Agree, the most kenna warning only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Good lo.. vote P@P lo.. pay back time.. gahman need $$ to top up their reserve... Their bonus depend on u! u! u! u! u!... Then vote opposition liao Speeding wont get fine is it?... pump pui sia... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 stop speedsters?... simple.... those caught over speed limit watever speed immediately license revoked and 10k fine... 2nd time offenders jail and 100k fine 3rd time offender hang... solved... nobody will be speeding liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarquin 1st Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Agree, the most kenna warning only. Yup follow this most of the time now...no point actually as along the stretch there would be some jams in the expressway...but non-highway roads sure fail one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Good lo.. vote P@P lo.. pay back time.. gahman need $$ to top up their reserve... Their bonus depend on u! u! u! u! u!... IT's a really wrong thought.. irregardless what party forms the government Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbadguy 1st Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 But srly the speed limit in spore is very low. Take Kpe for an example. 70km/h for expressway is really slowwwwwwww.. They should consider increaseing the speed limit of most road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbadguy 1st Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Imo most dont mind paying the fines but mind the points =( ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...