Nf0rc3r 1st Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Speed doesn't kill. Its the sudden loss of it that kills. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Wait till the commercial vehicles and trucks are no longer speeding and road hogging lane 1 and 2 of expressway, then we can accept tp did really acquire and deploy this device plus it's effectiveness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 (edited) Double post Edited November 3, 2011 by Bystander50 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 harrr.... why must they force us to be good citizens Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 I am not a IT expert but taking in to consideration the sheer number of cars using singapore roads, i dont think technologically it is possible to track every car or economically viable to do so in real time. i guess it is much feasible to randomly target certain sections of the road for speeding vehicles using cameras.....actually there is no need to speed, just need to slightly increase your speed to suits the overall traffic conditions will do, singapore road sooo congested, speed so fast for wat right...endangering everyone inc yourself. Using a strip of infra-red LEDs on your number plate can defeat the camera, including current ones. Digital cameras are very sensitive to infra red. If LTA or TP knows of this, very soon you'll see them issuing a blanket ban on LED lightings on number plates to cover up the weaknesses of their system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Using a strip of infra-red LEDs on your number plate can defeat the camera, including current ones. Digital cameras are very sensitive to infra red. If LTA or TP knows of this, very soon you'll see them issuing a blanket ban on LED lightings on number plates to cover up the weaknesses of their system. wah lau .....so troublesome......just dont speed unnecessary and drive safely can leow wat ( for own safety and well as other's).....i am sure TP for no reason wont take pictures if there isnt any traffic offenses done rite?. These cat and mouse game never ending one lah....in fact LTA has strict rules to follow for license plates....putting anything not specified on the plates already constitute an offense leow.....two wrongs do not make a right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 wah lau .....so troublesome......just dont speed unnecessary and drive safely can leow wat ( for own safety and well as other's).....i am sure TP for no reason wont take pictures if there isnt any traffic offenses done rite?. These cat and mouse game never ending one lah....in fact LTA has strict rules to follow for license plates....putting anything not specified on the plates already constitute an offense leow.....two wrongs do not make a right. enforcing is one thing. OVER-ENFORCING is another. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 enforcing is one thing. OVER-ENFORCING is another. I doubt they are over-enforcing la. I always drive about 20km/h higher than the speed limit. Occasionally 30km/h past the speed limit. But I have never ever gotten a summon for speeding before. Not even a warning. I think they are looking out more for those reckless drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 I doubt they are over-enforcing la. I always drive about 20km/h higher than the speed limit. Occasionally 30km/h past the speed limit. But I have never ever gotten a summon for speeding before. Not even a warning. I think they are looking out more for those reckless drivers. overhead bridge enough lor. still need all these funny gadgets meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear November 4, 2011 Share November 4, 2011 wah lau .....so troublesome......just dont speed unnecessary and drive safely can leow wat ( for own safety and well as other's).....i am sure TP for no reason wont take pictures if there isnt any traffic offenses done rite?. These cat and mouse game never ending one lah....in fact LTA has strict rules to follow for license plates....putting anything not specified on the plates already constitute an offense leow.....two wrongs do not make a right. Before they raised the speed limit, i was shot by the snipers for going at 60km/h on a 50km/h road. But for using infra red leds, it would be difficult to catch as even when turmed on, it still looks like it is switched off, so it does not cause any distractions to other road users. If placed strategically, it can blind the camera's CCD while your number plate and numbers are still fully visible. Not that I like to speed, just to highlight that whatever things which are man made can be defeated. This is just a counter-measure. If you look on the other angle, this is also a counter-measure for women who are photographed unknowningly in public. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear November 4, 2011 Share November 4, 2011 i'd like to see this Cordon system used in orchard rd to catch those supercars racing late at nite.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbow 1st Gear November 4, 2011 Share November 4, 2011 Seems like the tp is getting serious with speedsters. Unmarked patrol cars and now this thing. Good for them. We shouldnt condone irresponsible driving on our roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear November 4, 2011 Share November 4, 2011 (edited) Just get yourself a jammer, should be able to jam the sensor from reading the speed of your car it might only show up on the camera screen ur speed as ???km/h Edited November 4, 2011 by I-LOVE-CARS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 4, 2011 Share November 4, 2011 The name reminds me of this... Are they the same makers of the liquer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pyramid_sg Clutched November 4, 2011 Author Share November 4, 2011 Ya each one who gets caught will be given one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear November 4, 2011 Share November 4, 2011 i'd like to see this Cordon system used in orchard rd to catch those supercars racing late at nite.... sour grapes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear November 4, 2011 Share November 4, 2011 Seems like the tp is getting serious with speedsters. Unmarked patrol cars and now this thing. Good for them. We shouldnt condone irresponsible driving on our roads. TP can come up with watever ideas they can think of, but in the end we must question how effective they are. Unmarked patrol cars are out, are the trucks and commercial vehicles drivers scared of them? These vehicles are on the roads for at least a month, you still see these vehicles zapping around as it they don't even exist at all. Either they don't give a damm or they know it is a dud. Come rainy days, you can easily spot more commercial vehicles on lane 1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged November 4, 2011 Share November 4, 2011 (edited) TP can come up with watever ideas they can think of, but in the end we must question how effective they are. Unmarked patrol cars are out, are the trucks and commercial vehicles drivers scared of them? These vehicles are on the roads for at least a month, you still see these vehicles zapping around as it they don't even exist at all. Either they don't give a damm or they know it is a dud. Come rainy days, you can easily spot more commercial vehicles on lane 1. those commercial vehicle drivers are mostly uneducated..dun think they read news regularly to know of the enforcement..moreover 85% of sinkies are not even tertiary educated..how will they know? Edited November 4, 2011 by Darthrevan ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...