Satria_neo Clutched November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 I went to do wheel alignment today and somewhat surprised to see that my rear has a camber of 2.5 degrees and front is just 1 degree. No idea why also....... Then....... the alignment is pretty much intact. They adjusted something like 0.4 degrees for right front wheel and 0.45 for rear toe.......Wasted my $80........ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 You got the car since brand new??? Then again, how come a FWD car will have a set up for a RWD??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Satria_neo Clutched November 22, 2011 Author Share November 22, 2011 You got the car since brand new??? Then again, how come a FWD car will have a set up for a RWD??? Not its 2nd hand. I don't understand why also. I did the wheel alignment at autobacs. They didn't tell me anything. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Satria_neo Clutched November 22, 2011 Author Share November 22, 2011 Maybe this is why my car face understeer....... hmm...... Thinking of increasing my front camber a little to perhaps 2.5 and rear reduce to 1.5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terras14 November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 ermm i hope you mean negative camber angle right? Meaning the wheel slant outward. For fwd, usually front is more negative than rear for set up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 Correct me if I am wrong... FWD can use... Front & Rear both -1.5, Rear 0 Toe, Front mild Toe-in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Satria_neo Clutched November 22, 2011 Author Share November 22, 2011 ermm i hope you mean negative camber angle right? Meaning the wheel slant outward. For fwd, usually front is more negative than rear for set up. Yes, I meant negative camber. mine is -1 for front and -2.5 for rear. I don't know why also. Maybe I will call up to check tomorrow. I don't think its due to chassis problem since both sides have almost equal camber (~0.5 degrees diff). thus it has to be setting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 Camber angle is pretty much fixed for cars in stock condition. There's no point calling anyone unless you install a camber kit, dan you can adjust the angle. For some cars there's no holes or mounting to install a camber kit, so ppl drill holes in order to have them installed. If your tires are worn evenly, there's no worries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skutah Neutral Newbie November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 Pay $80 and u dun ask why? That's a bad habit man.... tsk tsk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Yes, I meant negative camber. mine is -1 for front and -2.5 for rear. I don't know why also. Maybe I will call up to check tomorrow. I don't think its due to chassis problem since both sides have almost equal camber (~0.5 degrees diff). thus it has to be setting. But you still need to sort the differences for front & rear... If that you can, try to have the front neg more than the rear to create the require balance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Satria_neo Clutched November 23, 2011 Author Share November 23, 2011 Camber angle is pretty much fixed for cars in stock condition. There's no point calling anyone unless you install a camber kit, dan you can adjust the angle. For some cars there's no holes or mounting to install a camber kit, so ppl drill holes in order to have them installed. If your tires are worn evenly, there's no worries. I have no problems with tyre wear. However, my front is lacking grip when cornering. So I would want to reduce my understeer. I prefer a car that is biased towards oversteer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 I have no problems with tyre wear. However, my front is lacking grip when cornering. So I would want to reduce my understeer. I prefer a car that is biased towards oversteer. FF cars are supposed to be prone to understeer right? So are you trying to say that you have installed a camber kit and that has somehow resulted in "weird" camber for you in your quest to obtain a magical camber so as to reduce understeer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Satria_neo Clutched November 23, 2011 Author Share November 23, 2011 FF cars are supposed to be prone to understeer right? So are you trying to say that you have installed a camber kit and that has somehow resulted in "weird" camber for you in your quest to obtain a magical camber so as to reduce understeer? No I don't have a camber kit at all. I didn't do anything to camber/toe/caster etc... Its all factory stock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benben_shen Neutral Newbie November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Hope mine no problem, going to check this weekend, swap front / rear tyres also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heelntoe 1st Gear November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 I went to do wheel alignment today and somewhat surprised to see that my rear has a camber of 2.5 degrees and front is just 1 degree. No idea why also....... Then....... the alignment is pretty much intact. They adjusted something like 0.4 degrees for right front wheel and 0.45 for rear toe.......Wasted my $80........ Siao liao, chassis bent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Was your car lowered? What is the model of the car you are driving, fyi, the (static) negative camber usually increases when you lower a car, will need a camber kit (adjustable upper link or camber bolts) to correct. This is of course dependent on what type of suspension you have on your car (eg double wishbone etc) You can look for Kenny Alignment to get your suspension alignment issues sorted out. Cheers I went to do wheel alignment today and somewhat surprised to see that my rear has a camber of 2.5 degrees and front is just 1 degree. No idea why also....... Then....... the alignment is pretty much intact. They adjusted something like 0.4 degrees for right front wheel and 0.45 for rear toe.......Wasted my $80........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Siao liao, chassis bent camber/toe/castor (rare) issues usually related to suspension not chassis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabrielfrancisteo Neutral Newbie November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Guys, pardon me for asking a noob question. Is it possible for only one of the front wheel to camber at a different degree? Nothing ever done to the car, only change tyre. Same size as before too. Was told by AD and ask me to pay almost 200 to buy the kit to realign the camber.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...