Types of Speed Camera

Kyrios

Was in a cab just now and noticed the driver braked whenever he saw spherical/circular cameras mounted on overhead lampposts. Is this a type of speed camera? I know I sped past some a couple of days ago. [:(]

Is this a type of speed camera? According to the cab driver, he says it is.

Was in a cab just now and noticed the driver braked whenever he saw spherical/circular cameras mounted on overhead lampposts. Is this a type of speed camera? I know I sped past some a couple of days ago. [:(]

according to their taxi driver lessons, they say that these round camera eyes are monitored (by who exactly I don't know). But the thing is p-- ---g suay lah, cos is 24/7 running one, unless you suay suay, when you speeding, the guy nothing to do look at that exact monitor, then he remember to print screen or know when to rewind to, if not, boh chup.

But they do catch you if you run red lights. [laugh]

Those I believe are CCTV not speed cam...

But off course they can be used as speed cams too...

The distance of the lamp post are fixed...count lamp post + a laspe time will know how fast you going liao.

End of the day...wanna speed...dun cow peh when get caught.

If speed up then slow don amd speed up again....drive liao also tired lor.

Yesterday, spotted a normal neighbourhood police car with mounted a look-like Cordon speed camera.

Quite bulky equipment on top of the police car. Also, spotted TP speed camera on the bridge checking car speed laser at the rear.

This is a good hide out for TP using bridge to block their position and aiming the rear of car instead head-on type.

So, public cannot compliant they are hidding.

Edited by Tcx607

Junction eyes, for traffic flow monitoring purposes. Screw the taxi driver...

If u go to LTA website, you will found a few types of camera mounted on the road for a few purpose...

1) Junction Eyes- CCTV mount at traffic junction to monitor junction traffic condition

2) CCTV mounted on Expressway or major arterial corridors- these CCTV is usually mounted on lamppole to monitor the traffic condition

3) Detection camera- camera based detector which could detect speed or incident where vehicle stops, reverse & etc... its not for enforcement purpose, more for traffic management. Such cameras are usually mounted on the lamppole arm (top of the lamppole).

For more info, you may want to read up from LTA website...

Those I believe are CCTV not speed cam...

But off course they can be used as speed cams too...

The distance of the lamp post are fixed...count lamp post + a laspe time will know how fast you going liao.

End of the day...wanna speed...dun cow peh when get caught.

If speed up then slow don amd speed up again....drive liao also tired lor.

actually, the distance of the lamppoles is may not be not fixed... even on the same strech of road. its depends on the road condition, eg- bends o a road, or places nearer to a junction/ slip road, pedestrian crossing zone will have shorter distance between lamp pole..

If u go to LTA website, you will found a few types of camera mounted on the road for a few purpose...

1) Junction Eyes- CCTV mount at traffic junction to monitor junction traffic condition

2) CCTV mounted on Expressway or major arterial corridors- these CCTV is usually mounted on lamppole to monitor the traffic condition

3) Detection camera- camera based detector which could detect speed or incident where vehicle stops, reverse & etc... its not for enforcement purpose, more for traffic management. Such cameras are usually mounted on the lamppole arm (top of the lamppole).

For more info, you may want to read up from LTA website...

But can be used for detecting speeding vehicles i guess. [rifle]

actually, the distance of the lamppoles is may not be not fixed... even on the same strech of road. its depends on the road condition, eg- bends o a road, or places nearer to a junction/ slip road, pedestrian crossing zone will have shorter distance between lamp pole..

Yes...its genarally more or less 50m apart. So if they choose to use the method, it will be a estimate. You have to be way above the speed limit for them to (if they are using this method) press charges. That means looking at the video and calculation, it will be beyond doubts that offender is speeding.

In US, air patrol use this method to determine car estimated speed and inform ground crew to found up the bugger. That was what I was told when I was in LA....my friend told me not to speed on the highway even if there are no cops in sight...they may be in the air.

Yes...its genarally more or less 50m apart. So if they choose to use the method, it will be a estimate. You have to be way above the speed limit for them to (if they are using this method) press charges. That means looking at the video and calculation, it will be beyond doubts that offender is speeding.

In US, air patrol use this method to determine car estimated speed and inform ground crew to found up the bugger. That was what I was told when I was in LA....my friend told me not to speed on the highway even if there are no cops in sight...they may be in the air.

Its definitely much more than 50m apart......likely 300m++ given there's probably 1 between two traffic light junction. :)

Those cameras mounted on overhead lampposts should be CCTV, dont think there are speed cameras lo. [rolleyes]

Don't be surprised if they can become speed cameras given the advance technology in video analytic processing.

Edited by Z_Dash

300m you mean the lamp post mounted CCTV right ? Our lamp-post is roughly 50m one lamp post one leh....

Ya.....i meant the placement of camera is quite far away.

That I dunno...never really pay attention lah.

But if they ever do 100m one camera...I wil also try to tender for the job....BEE TANG AH !!!!