inlinesix Hypersonic December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 I dun understand why some ppl can check in everywhere in oversea holiday trip to tell ppl where they r in facebook, how they do it ah? My friend tell me he got a HK data plan with unlimited data, can use everywhere in HK, got such thing meh? When i was travelling in Melbourne, i had Telstra pre-paid sim card to subsribe to data service. When i travel to Malaysia, i have Maxis pre-paid sim card. If i need data, juz subscribe to data service loh. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 chicken and egg thing...very hard to argue...that's why I have one phone only for call...no data...cause i tell them i not do want any kind of data service...even if it is free...and this phone is with autoroam...then i have another phone just for data and occasional calls but without autoroam...so i am sure I won't get charge any huge data bill while oversea... and if i need data service oversea...i just get a pre-paid card.... that's what i do in order not to get into this chicken and egg thing...well of course with some in-convenient... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear December 21, 2011 Author Share December 21, 2011 chicken and egg thing...very hard to argue...that's why I have one phone only for call...no data...cause i tell them i not do want any kind of data service...even if it is free...and this phone is with autoroam...then i have another phone just for data and occasional calls but without autoroam...so i am sure I won't get charge any huge data bill while oversea... and if i need data service oversea...i just get a pre-paid card.... that's what i do in order not to get into this chicken and egg thing...well of course with some in-convenient... Dude the problem is i never use that phone to serve. I have two iphones and a blackberry. one of the iphone in on foreign SIM which is used to serve and check emails while the other is mainly for family calls and stuff . I have turned off the data roaming and any data access. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 I used to call SingTel before going overseas, asking them to turn off those features that are related to data roaming, and on one occasion a Customer Care officer there told me just do the following steps on my iPhone 4 to prevent incurring overseas data roaming charges: Go to Setting - General - Network Turn off 3G Turn off Data Roaming Go to Cellular Data Network, at APN delete Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 well you can't proof with facts that you didn't use...neither can they proof with facts that you did...except for the some billing thing...I think they probably assume the whole world are out to cheat them $20... got to waste alot of time to sort of this kind of things...especially when the fault is not yours... [shakehead] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Maybe you are at woodlands or Tuas area where the network changes to those from M'sia. Honestly, it's very dangerous for people like me whose data connection is always on. Now i always off my data connection when going the near coast. ECP is alright though. Dont get mix up, data connection and data roaming is 2 different thing. I have data connection on 24hrs and data roaming never even on once since i will never use it even overseas, I live in punggol and you are right about sucky st line.. i do gets 'welcome to my' once awhile when im at home.. but with data roaming always off, i have zero problem at all.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 few months back, i also surf net using my mobile phone in KL, Malaysia. just a few pages of surfing in Safari -> S$50. aiya, lazy to call and complain, just pay lo. unless by hundreds of dollars then i sure kpkb. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MacDuck 1st Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 (edited) uare not this fellow ah? http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?106615-...eclare-bankrupt http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1172646/1/.html Manage your smartphones, data plans properly when overseas: CASE By Monica Kotwani | Posted: 21 December 2011 1828 hrs SINGAPORE: A picture of a mobile phone bill showing a staggering amount of about S$350,000 has gone viral on Facebook, prompting Singapore's consumer watchdog to advise smartphone users to better manage their data roaming plans. The phone bill was uploaded on Facebook by SingTel customer, Kave Goh. It sparked wide discussions on whose responsibility it is to manage data charges. A SingTel spokesperson, however, told Channel NewsAsia the amount Mr Goh is liable to pay is S$14,000, and not S$350,000. That's because the sum of S$336,000 incurred on data charges comes under a Bridge DataRoam plan that allows subscribers to pay a flat rate and latch on to an overseas partner network for that rate. Mr Goh had subscribed to this before going to Taiwan. But SingTel said the S$14,000 in data charges was incurred because the phone did not seem to be "manually locked" to SingTel's partner network in Taiwan. As a result, the phone, on auto mode, latched on to a network which was not a member of the Bridge Alliance. The Consumers Association of Singapore (CASE) advised users to turn off data roaming and push notifications, and work with their telco to manage data charges before going overseas. Going forward, the consumer watchdog said a regulation imposed by the Infocomm Development Authority (IDA) will place a cap of S$100 on data roaming charges in a single monthly bill. It's set to be introduced in the first quarter of 2012. CASE executive director Seah Seng Choon said: "If consumers want more, they can contact the telco to see whether the charges will be imposed if they want any excess data. In that sense, it will give better control to the consumers when they travel overseas." - CNA/cc Edited December 21, 2011 by MacDuck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 I used to call SingTel before going overseas, asking them to turn off those features that are related to data roaming, and on one occasion a Customer Care officer there told me just do the following steps on my iPhone 4 to prevent incurring overseas data roaming charges: Go to Setting - General - Network Turn off 3G Turn off Data Roaming Go to Cellular Data Network, at APN delete Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Turn off 3G? I have an option to only use 2G, does that turn off 3G? yes, 2G turns off 3G Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Dont get mix up, data connection and data roaming is 2 different thing. I have data connection on 24hrs and data roaming never even on once since i will never use it even overseas, I live in punggol and you are right about sucky st line.. i do gets 'welcome to my' once awhile when im at home.. but with data roaming always off, i have zero problem at all.... Kns, punggol kena this nevermind, in the middle of singapore, can get welcome to indonesia..... Pui..... U say leh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 You should check out this Bill: Source: Stomp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drumstick Clutched December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 No doubt you can off data usage or data roaming. But electronics are electronics, sometimes may have hidden problems which you would not know. Maybe a technical glitch? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 actually, singtel also sibeh chao. i have 2 lines. 1 st 1 sh. when i renewed my SH contract at 21 months, i was still liable to some termination fees coz of my blackberry push plan and my phone line if i were to cancel. when i called for voucher, they gave me. and when i renewed with starhub, they waived the penalty surcharges on the context that i was signing a 2 year contract with them(same plan). singtel on the other hand refused to waive the penalty surcharge at all as they claimed that as i had gotten a phone from them 21 months back, i must recontract only at 24 months with no penalty(same plan). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear December 22, 2011 Author Share December 22, 2011 (edited) actually, singtel also sibeh chao. i have 2 lines. 1 st 1 sh. when i renewed my SH contract at 21 months, i was still liable to some termination fees coz of my blackberry push plan and my phone line if i were to cancel. when i called for voucher, they gave me. and when i renewed with starhub, they waived the penalty surcharges on the context that i was signing a 2 year contract with them(same plan). singtel on the other hand refused to waive the penalty surcharge at all as they claimed that as i had gotten a phone from them 21 months back, i must recontract only at 24 months with no penalty(same plan). Think it is the phone bill , i got mine renewed at 21months , told them straight don't want i go straight to sh for corporate plan Edited December 22, 2011 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 yes, 2G turns off 3G Great. If I just use 2G, that means no data transmission at all right? No need to turn off anything else huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 (edited) in relation to the $350K phone bill case, the guy is not entirely naive la he signed up the "flat rate" which he knows how much per day for unlimited access (and he downloaded 15GB of data) but, he forgot to check the telco partner network and accidently use a different network he should turn off automatic in the network selection and use the telco partner only a simple mistake that cost him $12,000 for downloading 600MB via non partner network Edited December 22, 2011 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingkong 5th Gear December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 in relation to the $350K phone bill case, the guy is not entirely naive la he signed up the "flat rate" which he knows how much per day for unlimited access (and he downloaded 15GB of data) but, he forgot to check the telco partner network and accidently use a different network he should turn off automatic in the network selection and use the telco partner only a simple mistake that cost him $12,000 for downloading 600MB via non partner network Yup, guess this chap is not honest enough to show everyone the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. Perhaps the "Honest-Mistake-Act" shall be applied in this case? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...