Positive Encounters With The Boys In Blue :)

Vulcann

Aye..... bonus time just over, all laughing happy, so they are helpful ..... [sly]

wait after CNY & see whether they so helpful or not .... :ph34r:

Edited by Picnic06

There are good sheep and bad sheep in any organisation of course. I ever encountered in a NPP, the counter mata make me wait while he finished his (so obviously...) private phone call!

Not sure if others also observe this, but some mata nowadays are quite non-confrontational, as in they avoid face-to-face dealings as much as possible. Argument/fight? Settle yourself... Illegal parking? Just quietly record car-plate numbers, don't bother to talk to the owner who is obviously nearby (scared of having to deal with argument, or having to talk to the angry/agitated owner??)

Maybe this is just reflective of the new generation of youth... too much time on computer games, and online socialising, while having less personal face-to-face social skills??

Edited by Sosaria

Positive encounters because they are really just nice people.

Negative encounters because their top level people are incompetent, and bureacratic.

We can be unhappy with the Force but give due respect to our policemen in daily encounters.

Y that day I help a family to push the car to roadside never kanna stomp for rewards? :D[:p]

Were you in blue then?

No?

That explains it [laugh] [laugh]

Actually, our police force is doing a good job given the manpower constraints they have.

Often, Singaporeans expect police to do everything for them, even neighbors dog barking also they expect police to intervene. And when their requests are not acceded, they say police is not doing a good job. Worse still, they don't understand that police can only work under the premise of law. I already see in this thread most do not understand what is a sizable or non size able offence.

Wanna see an inefficient police force ? Easy. Just drive across the causeway.

A fair number of the policemen I know will do their job properly when they need to do so. Yes; as with any organization, there are a few black sheep. It is hard to run away from that.

But, at the end of the day, the policemen are bound by the law and their internal guidelines as to whether and how they can take action in any situation. It is easy to say "take initiative... thinking organisation...blah blah blah..." but at the end of the day the police is still a uniformed disciplined organisation where one has to follow orders. It is not an easy balance for the men on the ground to strike.

Most just do their jobs to get their monthly salary. I did encounter a good LTA marshal before and I wrote in to ask them to promote him and give him big bonus.

just curious,

if engin about to die on expressway,

I will just hazard light

and try my best to steer to road shoulder and hope vehicles on the left give way to me.....

before the engin die.

got better way meh?

say people don't give way

Actually, our police force is doing a good job given the manpower constraints they have.

Often, Singaporeans expect police to do everything for them, even neighbors dog barking also they expect police to intervene. And when their requests are not acceded, they say police is not doing a good job. Worse still, they don't understand that police can only work under the premise of law. I already see in this thread most do not understand what is a sizable or non size able offence.

You mean seizeable or non seizeable offence? :D

If the police force across the causeway is as inefficient as you said they are, then how come your EFFICIENT Police Force with all the SOC cannot find Mas Selamat and have to depend on the INEFFICIENT Police Force across the causeway to do it for you?

And if they are as efficient as your Police Force, will you dare do 180kmh down NSHW knowing that if kena stop, you will lose your license?

I don't understand why some ppl always like to bash Malaysia out of the blue. And act as though that SGP is the best in everything. Then in the end, its usually these ppl that goes there once a week to pump the cheap petrol there, buy the cheap groceries and eat the cheap but good food there.

just curious,

if engin about to die on expressway,

I will just hazard light

and try my best to steer to road shoulder and hope vehicles on the left give way to me.....

before the engin die.

got better way meh?

say people don't give way

problem with hazard lights in such situation is that ppl not sure you heading left. helps if got vc to open left window and stick out waving arm

There are good sheep and bad sheep in any organisation of course. I ever encountered in a NPP, the counter mata make me wait while he finished his (so obviously...) private phone call!

Not sure if others also observe this, but some mata nowadays are quite non-confrontational, as in they avoid face-to-face dealings as much as possible. Argument/fight? Settle yourself... Illegal parking? Just quietly record car-plate numbers, don't bother to talk to the owner who is obviously nearby (scared of having to deal with argument, or having to talk to the angry/agitated owner??)

Maybe this is just reflective of the new generation of youth... too much time on computer games, and online socialising, while having less personal face-to-face social skills??

yah lor. every company got its good and bad sheep. it all depends. oh i heard they scared of public complaints so they maybe that's why they avoid dealing with public. which is c--k as they are meant to deal with the public!

They don't make the laws; they merely enforce the laws.

Agree. Matas are not supposed to act out of the so-called social justice many wanted & thought.

They have to act within what they are SUPPOSED to do & not what we WANT them to do.

Edited by Vulcann