Need some answers answered abt fiber broadband

Mllcg

Anyone here using 1gbps fiber? I jus got an Asus AC68U router, doesnt seem to have a huge obvious improvement in speed though, does the fiber optic modem also play a big part in the connection speed?

The bottleneck is in the content servers. You won't really find significant improvements.

But check your connection on your PC that it is connected at 1GB.

in home we shld not need to use CAT 6 cable.. as mentioned by fellow forumer.. CAT 5E is already 1000 Base T.

Not sure if it has been mentioned in this thread earlier, but just to inform that newer HDB flats already have multiple Cat6 Ethernet cables running to all rooms from the junction box. HDB uses that high spec cable as a telephone line. If you do not need telephone line to each and every room, you can get someone to convert it into Ethernet connection for your router. Many people have written about this on their blogs.

The bottleneck is in the content servers. You won't really find significant improvements.

But check your connection on your PC that it is connected at 1GB.

Iv checked with cable to pc and get 900+mbps down speeds, but the thing is, its not really consistent, sometimes with cable(cable connected from router to pc) i get 400+mbps, sometimes 500+. On my iphone6, using ookla speed test, at the same spot in the house, sometimes i get 250+mbps download speed, and sometimes 30+mbps. Which is disappointing considering i spent $300+ on the router

At 900+ mbps means your setup is fine. The issue is likely with your fibre connection. However, that doesn't mean you need to do anything about it. Your internet experience is likely the same whether you are connected at 300+, 400+ or 900+ mbps. Asus AC68 router is already one of the best in the market.

So my stock modem from starhub is okay? As in, i wont see much difference even if i change to a better modem to suit my router?

Not really. AC68 has more powerful antennas and you should get better coverage. For the best wifi connection, your router has to be high on the wall without obstruction or any metal objects surrounding it.

that is consider normal, wireless speed cfm will be lower .. ur problem is on consistency of the speed. But unless you're hardcore gamer or running a data centre at home, this lapse in speed shldn't pose concern. More like u felt "being cheated" I guess ...

Tat said, from feedbacks I seen, viewqwest offer quite consistent 1Gbps broadband ...

that is consider normal, wireless speed cfm will be lower .. ur problem is on consistency of the speed. But unless you're hardcore gamer or running a data centre at home, this lapse in speed shldn't pose concern. More like u felt "being cheated" I guess ...

Tat said, from feedbacks I seen, viewqwest offer quite consistent 1Gbps broadband ...

Haha, thanks for the advice but that's not really an option now as i took a Home Hub Package contract.

And yea apart from other reasons i also game a lot which is why i was willing to spend on all this. but even if i dont game, i feel very 'sayang' spending alot on my connection yet it is not consistent, jus wondering if the inconsistency is a backend issue at starhub, or isit due to a lousy modem given free by starhub.

Anyways thank for the replies guys, really appreciate it

Haha I'm oso on S H ... and yes the speed is often compromised but I dun game tat much so it's still ok ...

As Bro Vid mentioned AC68 is quite high range liao ... at least before they came out with AC87 ... i dun tink issue is with router .. so sadly and most likely is the IT infra by telco tat's causing the problem ... :mellow: