Owen_fan 2nd Gear February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 Hi, is that true that if you are making insurance claim against the other party, you will need to inform his/her insurance company & allow them to assess the demage of of your car before you can proceed to send it for repair? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 If you're making 3rd party claim, - you may send to any ws of your choice; - your ws will invite 3rd party insurer to survey; - repairs will only be carried out after the 3rd party insurer surveyor has surveyed your car or failing which after 48 hours notice, your ws may commence the repair. You'll need to make few trips before actual work done (one to ws for paper work, drive back & wait for news, drive back to ws again for survey, drive home after survey, then drive back again to ws after the 3rd party insurer OK). Legally, you are required to inform, but normally your ws will do it on your behalf. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear February 2, 2012 Author Share February 2, 2012 I see. If let say that after the accident, I do not make a report within 24 hrs. I only decided to make the claim 2 days later, so can I still make the 3rd party claim in this case? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 just report to your own insurer and express your intent to claim against the other party. at this stage, you must specify clearly whether you intend to make own damage claim or third party claim because after this point in time, you are not allowed to modify your claim type. your insurer will inform the other fella's insurer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 I see. If let say that after the accident, I do not make a report within 24 hrs. I only decided to make the claim 2 days later, so can I still make the 3rd party claim in this case? Sorry, you'll in trouble then. Be very careful, some insurers require accident reporting immediately on the spot, not within 24 hours hor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear February 2, 2012 Author Share February 2, 2012 now the qtn is that my brother did not report the accident with 24hrs. He only decided to make 3rd party claim 2 days later, so can he still make the claim? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear February 2, 2012 Author Share February 2, 2012 but his insurance policy stated must report within 24 hrs leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 but his insurance policy stated must report within 24 hrs leh. You must always report to your insurer within the stipulated timeframe regardless whether you are claiming own policy or 3rd party or private settlement or not claiming anyone at all. Similarly, this applies to the other party. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear February 2, 2012 Author Share February 2, 2012 so he will not be able to make the claim after the stipulated timeframe right? Have to pay for his own bill. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 (edited) so he will not be able to make the claim after the stipulated timeframe right? Have to pay for his own bill. Depends lah. But he may land up in deep sh1ts if the other party filed a report + make a 3rd party claim against your bro. Remember, no one accident is confirmed 100% sure it's the other party fault. Even if the other guy rear-ended your bro, he may have some "weapons up his shirt sleeve" to do funny things wor. In this case, your insurer can deny liabilities or void your policy and your insurer may wash hands from here. So, if the other party makes a claim for 100K, be prepared to go broke. Maybe your bro was being sweet-talked by the other party to settle private, now the other party prata liao? The real fact is, there is no need for anyone to rush to make such decision. The most important thing during accident, especially when there's damage, injury or the other party had camera, video cam installed, REPORT to your insurer first. You decide later what to do. Edited February 2, 2012 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear February 2, 2012 Author Share February 2, 2012 So, it is still possible for him to report it and make a 3rd party claim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 now the qtn is that my brother did not report the accident with 24hrs. He only decided to make 3rd party claim 2 days later, so can he still make the claim? Some insurers can be very anal about this. there is not much alternative but to wait and see what your bro's insurer have to say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 Sorry, you'll in trouble then. Be very careful, some insurers require accident reporting immediately on the spot, not within 24 hours hor! I notice auntie lucy, they got orange bikes straightaway come to scene of accident and set up cones to divert traffic among other things. I am not so sure whether the two fellas are involved in making arrangement to send the insured vehicle to WS for immediate assessment or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 I notice auntie lucy, they got orange bikes straightaway come to scene of accident and set up cones to divert traffic among other things. I am not so sure whether the two fellas are involved in making arrangement to send the insured vehicle to WS for immediate assessment or not. I am insured by NTUC. For those orange bikes they won't come unless you call them or they happen to see you. But if you don't know what to do then just call them and they will help you lo. So far never tried calling them yet. lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 (edited) I notice auntie lucy, they got orange bikes straightaway come to scene of accident and set up cones to divert traffic among other things. I am not so sure whether the two fellas are involved in making arrangement to send the insured vehicle to WS for immediate assessment or not. Alibaba had it first, followed by Auntie Lucy. AL marketed as a great service to help the policy holders. Not sure if AL need to report immediately on the spot or not. But, IMO, it's more to protect their interests + catch mods + catch wrong tyre size or worn tyres lah. Only plus point for policy holder is, don't need to go down their office to make report. Edited February 2, 2012 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 So, it is still possible for him to report it and make a 3rd party claim. Can try and report. But I think the insurer can choose not to help you since you did not report within 24hrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear February 3, 2012 Author Share February 3, 2012 I think the other party insurer may refuse to pay, as he did not report within 24hrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic February 3, 2012 Share February 3, 2012 U can try and report to yr insurers. There is no guarantee they will process yr claim but if u dun try, u will definitely hv to pay out of own pocket. Can share why it was nt within e stipulated time frame? Cheers ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...