Joseph22 Turbocharged March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 err.. Mourinho did give former-wonderkids Mario Balotelli and Davide Santon their big break at Inter, but Inter after that chose to sell them to Man City and Newcastle respectively at Real Madrid, Mourinho also purchased highly-rated French youngster Raphael Varane, and also gave Sergio Canales his debut... but Canales failed to live up to potential and was loaned to Valencia i feel Mourinho could not afford to buy and give too many youngsters chances to play because Inter and Real Madrid are clubs that demand instant successes when he was at inter, i thought it will be a good chance for him to do that as juve and milan are in the transition period, but apparently he didnt do that. at Real marid, he only buy establish young player. he hadn't show me that he got the type of talent as SAF where he groom a ronaldo to who he is today. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tuna_seng Clutched March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 (edited) he hadn't show me that he got the type of talent as SAF where he groom a ronaldo to who he is today. To do that, you need time. A hired gun like Jose Mourinho does not have the luxury of time. Also, clubs like Inter and Madrid do not give managers the luxury of time as well. Win nothing and out you go. Actually Mourinho did groom unknown players and made them famous among European clubs when he was at Porto. At Porto, he had the time, the club's directors trusted him, just like Man Utd board trusted Sir Alex and gave him time to build. Mourinho groomed Deco, Paulo Ferreira, Ricardo Carvalho, Maniche, Nuno Valente, Helder Postiga and a few more. After Mourinho left Porto, those that he didn't bring with him to Chelsea went on to become some popular names in other European leagues. You may not have heard of them before, because the Portuguese, Spanish and Italian leagues are not as world famous as the EPL. It is just fate that Mourinho is not originally from the British Isles, from which the EPL is native to, otherwise he is a serious contender to Sir Alex's legacy. Edited March 5, 2012 by Tuna_seng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 To do that, you need time. A hired gun like Jose Mourinho does not have the luxury of time. Also, clubs like Inter and Madrid do not give managers the luxury of time as well. Win nothing and out you go. Actually Mourinho did groom unknown players and made them famous among European clubs when he was at Porto. At Porto, he had the time, the club's directors trusted him, just like Man Utd board trusted Sir Alex and gave him time to build. Mourinho groomed Deco, Paulo Ferreira, Ricardo Carvalho, Maniche, Nuno Valente, Helder Postiga and a few more. After Mourinho left Porto, those that he didn't bring with him to Chelsea went on to become some popular names in other European leagues. You may not have heard of them before, because the Portuguese, Spanish and Italian leagues are not as world famous as the EPL. It is just fate that Mourinho is not originally from the British Isles, from which the EPL is native to, otherwise he is a serious contender to Sir Alex's legacy. maybe i am over sensitive... but look like he go when he know the player or the club are at its max already. anyway just my opinion lah.. he doesnt seems to create a plan for the club for the long term with the way he do transfer dealing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 (edited) maybe i am over sensitive... but look like he go when he know the player or the club are at its max already. anyway just my opinion lah.. he doesnt seems to create a plan for the club for the long term with the way he do transfer dealing. its not his job... its the MD job or DOF's job(if there's a DOF) his job is to win trophies with first team... and he dun join stingy teams... unlike our beloved Rafa... join stingy teams and kpkb abt no money... Edited March 6, 2012 by Raymondism Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 if Real Madrid wins title, i hope Mourinho will go to Dortmund next season and lead them to league and CL victories then he'll be the first manager to win at England, Italy, Spain and Germany (+ Portugal) after that, lead a country to World Cup truimph Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 its not his job... its the MD job or DOF's job(if there's a DOF) his job is to win trophies with first team... and he dun join stingy teams... unlike our beloved Rafa... join stingy teams and kpkb abt no money... TBF, when he join Liverpool was not a stingy team. in fact its progressing quite well under him until the two USA guy come in.. TBF they were doing quite well until USA economic crisis.. i sincerly think if USA crisis didnt happen, we might still love those 2. and after than Liverpool is not a stingy teams still they are just on the verge of bankruptcy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 TBF, when he join Liverpool was not a stingy team. in fact its progressing quite well under him until the two USA guy come in.. TBF they were doing quite well until USA economic crisis.. i sincerly think if USA crisis didnt happen, we might still love those 2. and after than Liverpool is not a stingy teams still they are just on the verge of bankruptcy. no money to spend= stingy and i dun refer to liverpool only... there are other teams beside liverpool e.g. Valencia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 no money to spend= stingy and i dun refer to liverpool only... there are other teams beside liverpool e.g. Valencia oh.. Valencia huh??? also another team on the verge of bankrupt. at least the get to win the league in recent era. i think Inter also another stingy club... but they let Jose spend lots of money leh.. all other manager come in now dont get to spend.. think jose spend all liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 maybe i am over sensitive... but look like he go when he know the player or the club are at its max already. anyway just my opinion lah.. he doesnt seems to create a plan for the club for the long term with the way he do transfer dealing. To Mourinho, he's already won 2 european cups. Won 3 leagues. Now he aiming for 4th league win + CL win. It's like whether the great players was the one club greats like Giggs, Scholes, Maldini or Zidane who was successful at both Real and Juventus. There are arguments for loyalty and the counter-argument of being talented enough to do it with different clubs. In this age, it may be harder to be a SAF then a mourinho. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 oh.. Valencia huh??? also another team on the verge of bankrupt. at least the get to win the league in recent era. i think Inter also another stingy club... but they let Jose spend lots of money leh.. all other manager come in now dont get to spend.. think jose spend all liao. tats where Mourinho is smart.. he probably tell upfront... no money dun talk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 tats where Mourinho is smart.. he probably tell upfront... no money dun talk maybe contract clause got mention how much must be allocate to him for tansfer fee bah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 maybe contract clause got mention how much must be allocate to him for tansfer fee bah... maybe tats why liverpool never look for him LOL anyway... wonder who will be appointed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 maybe tats why liverpool never look for him LOL anyway... wonder who will be appointed Fabio capello seems just right on time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 Fabio capello seems just right on time. he sure fight with RA! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 FYI, I read somewhere that Real madrid squad avg age is <25. I think J22 meant that the special one does not groom young players from the academy... not the buying part... he bought Mesut Ozil(Fantastic buy) he bought Angel Di Maria(Fantastic buy) he bought Semi Khedira(ok buy but too many in his position also) he bought callejon(Fantastic buy) he bought Carvelho(great back up to the defence) would say Jose has a knack for signing the right players for a club...(not grooming from academy) he also has a special touch in reviving players hunger for the game... Marcelo(from a ordinary left back to one of the best now) Sergio Ramos(good right back but now a even better centre back) Pepe (overated before Jose came) All these of course is IMO... and just based on what i watched and read. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 yeah that is what i mean.. he give chances to the youngster but those youngster are already big name to begin with. I think J22 meant that the special one does not groom young players from the academy... not the buying part... he bought Mesut Ozil(Fantastic buy) he bought Angel Di Maria(Fantastic buy) he bought Semi Khedira(ok buy but too many in his position also) he bought callejon(Fantastic buy) he bought Carvelho(great back up to the defence) would say Jose has a knack for signing the right players for a club...(not grooming from academy) he also has a special touch in reviving players hunger for the game... Marcelo(from a ordinary left back to one of the best now) Sergio Ramos(good right back but now a even better centre back) Pepe (overated before Jose came) All these of course is IMO... and just based on what i watched and read. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 he sure fight with RA! read that if Guardiola doesnt accept then its the Special one... hm... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wasted 1st Gear March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 (edited) Porto laughing ah..got 13.3m pound for releasing avb & now got chance to sign him back FOC. Porto under AVB was power! think they went whole season unbeaten at home with 3 draws! Chelsea players are old liao, no more hunger ... just enjoy their money every week ... Edited March 6, 2012 by Wasted ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...