Can Forgive But Not Forget...

Vulcann

Lucky you to have such privilege. [thumbsup] I had to visit the library and to do so (at the age of 12) I had to; at times walk 10km (although the bus fare then was only 5 cents each way) to enjoy the privilege of borrowing Enid Blyton etc.. for my reading pleasure.

It's part of my life's history and have always cherished the memory of those days. [:p]

I walked to Bras Basah. Free reading of Enid Blyton at Popular. [laugh]

Nowadays the "free reading" bookshops all uplorry one by one [bigcry]

Apparently (or I was told) was that the Germans made official apology and acknowledged their crime. The Japanese did not do so.

Yeah, but aren't we still loving their Jap products as usual?? The globe is still turning everyday, life still goes on, ppl still loves Jap stuff.........

Back to topic, when teaching history, we must first know what is the moral to learn from the story.

In the case of the Japanese Occupation, I think the lesson is to be self reliant and nasty things happen when you cannot depend yourself.

Japanese cruelty (and British humji-ness) add flesh to the story but is not the key issue.

So in a way, letter writer is correct in that we should not over demonize the Japs.

At a more advanced level, the Malayan Campaign also serves up lessons that can be used in real working life.

For example:

- Have a clear chain of command

- Have a unified strategy

- The value of training

- When to use bluff and when not too

One of the lessons to be learnt is the level of sadism; capable in mankind.

I walked to Bras Basah. Free reading of Enid Blyton at Popular. [laugh]

Nowadays the "free reading" bookshops all uplorry one by one [bigcry]

We don't have those in the 60s. [smallcry]

Yeah, but aren't we still loving their Jap products as usual?? The globe is still turning everyday, life still goes on, ppl still loves Jap stuff.........

Sounds a little like some voters lah. It's hobson's choice vis a vis need and want.

I think we forget one thing. Germany was occupied by the Allies after the war and so a lot of things changed but Japan retained it's form of govt after the war. The Allies did not occupy Japan to the extent that they changed the entire govt and education. The emperor was still the head.

they wanted to remove the emperor (even to the extent of having the emperor for trial for war crimes)...

but they fear it would do themselves more harm than good if there were nationwide unrest in japan

it was already months after Germany surrendered, and the allies were tired and wanted a quick end to the war

so by making the emperor declared himself as a human being instead of god, and issuing decrees to force the army and people to put down the weapons, the allies would have an easier time to demilitarise japan

thus the emperor stayed on, but their constitution was forced to be amended, giving the emperor no more governing power

Maybe environment plays a part. My childhood was quite lonely but luckily my folks bought me an encyclopedia set.

One of the first pics I saw inside was a viking longship and I wondered wtf was that.

I slowly learned to read the captions followed by entry itself. IIRC, that time I was still <5 [scholar]

Wah so cultured [laugh]

Us kampong boys were crazy over these and many others then:

W020091209556267033621.jpg

20110824150432j29j.jpg

qijianxiatiansan.jpg

so much so our studies except Chinese all [thumbsdown] [thumbsdown]

Glad that the yankies nuked that place, otherwise I wont be here nosing around. My parent didn know can tahan any longer if the war persisted. As it is, I had lost a few relatives.

u noe y? cos germans sign as surrender while jap sign as cease fire.

history is always written by the victor.

whne u surrender, u must let the victor paint the history. history we know of WWI, WWII is painted from the US, allies' perspective so the Germans Nazis are the evil ones.

tink about it, u tink those babaric US, allies marines din commit atrocities in Germany and Japan?

for Jap , they din surrender, so they continue to paint history from their perspective which is the west, allies were restricting the growth and expansion of Japan and they were jealous of Japan' growth and had Japan conquer south east asia, they would have succeed in Far east prosperity paln to bring growth and advancement to south east asia.

I dont believe in the Far East Plan and all those BS... if those Japs were for the good of Asia and SEA, they wont have bring much sufferings to the people of the countries that they have occupied. Those Japs just wanted RESOURCES (be it rubber, tin, manpower => SLAVES, women) to expand their own power...德政人倾之。 它们起的是无名之师, 不能立之。

Great East Asia Co-Prosperity Sphere 大东亚共荣圈?

they "prosper" at the expense of other Asian countries

how Germany and Japan allied to "split" the world:

800px-German_and_Japanese_spheres_of_influence_at_greatest_extent_World_War_II_1942.jpg

Edited by Scion

the only chinese country they no landed with Army is Taiwan

infact they built up

thats why when they kana the Tsunami, Taiwan donated 1 of the most

and their culture similar to Japan

infact they built up

Taiwan was annexed to Japan after Qing lost the Sino-Japanese War in 1895

they implemented compulsory Japanese education to the Taiwanese in the 50 years of occupation, but that doesn't mean the Taiwanese were loyal to them

the Japanese was brutal to the natives, capturing many to work as slaves

there was a recent award-winning Taiwanese film on this event

how many know that Okinawa was formerly an independent country called RyuKyu Kingdom?

it had its own language, culture and govt

it was annexed by Japan in 1872

Japan never really treated Okinawa as its own kind, even today... that's why they allowed US to be based there despite years of protests by the Okinawans

when WWII ended, the leaders of the allies (USA, UK, Russia, China) met at Cairo to discuss the future of Japan and the independence of the various countries that were formerly occupied by Japan...

the only country they missed out was Okinawa (or Ryukyu)

infact they built up

The only country that was not part of WWII was Thailand rite? The Japanese signed treaty with Thailand for right of way passing through Thailand without a war on Thais. Anyway, all history liao lah...

Live today, be present in the present!

Chill...