Hamburger Hypersonic April 30, 2012 Author Share April 30, 2012 anyway, dump a few tub of chocolate ice cream already. As it turned out to be stone when frozen still in the process of making that chocolate ice cream....now ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dankoo 4th Gear April 30, 2012 Share April 30, 2012 Yep...this one with built in compressor.... I bought the Kenwood but sort of regret as the bowl is big...I need to take out one tray to fit in the bowl in Freezer.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 2, 2012 Author Share May 2, 2012 for dont know what reason, choc ice cream seems impossible to make. Many times it turns out to be ice and not creamy.... vanilla is so much easier. Another choc ice no cream down the dustbin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 for dont know what reason, choc ice cream seems impossible to make. Many times it turns out to be ice and not creamy.... vanilla is so much easier. Another choc ice no cream down the dustbin Choc ice cream, use less eggs. Chocolate bars, solid ones, have some emulsifier and solidifying agents such as soya lecithin. That will make the mixture freeze easily. Also try to increase the amount of milk. 350ml to match 300ml of cream, the mixture will be less thick. Simmer the milk with the chocolate, once cooled this mixture will not solidfy easily at room temperature. After the mixture is cooled, mix in the cream and the egg yolks. Actually the base ice cream formula is quite straightforward. For other flavours, you vary the eggs, sugar and milk amounts so that the texture is maintained, and not too watery. Read up on the science behind ice cream, and you will have some idea how to vary each component based on the output you want. Lastly, practice makes perfect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 3, 2012 Author Share May 3, 2012 correct me if i am wrong..... wont adding more milk make the choc ice cream more like ice?? Or should we add more whip cream to make it creamier and less ice like....... choc ice cream is so mafan..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 correct me if i am wrong..... wont adding more milk make the choc ice cream more like ice?? Or should we add more whip cream to make it creamier and less ice like....... choc ice cream is so mafan..... What brand of milk are you using? I hope you are not using low fat milk, those have more water and less fat, so the output is likely to be icy. I always use full cream milk, UHT though to save cost. My normal chocolate ice cream uses about 3 or 4 egg yolks, egg whites get cooked elsewhere. You are right in the sense more milk makes the ice cream more like ice. But the chief reason is your mixture doesn't freeze evenly, or not enough emulsifiers are added. You need to experiment with the amount of milk and egg yolks to get the right mix. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Another thing is the capacity of your ice cream maker. Even though mine says the tub has a capacity of 1 litre, I try to keep the mixture to around 700ml or less. Otherwise it takes a long time to freeze, sometimes it doesn't freeze fast enough. When it doesn't freeze fast enough, the ice crystals are larger, which gives it the "icy" texture. Fast freezing results in smaller ice crystals dispersed in the milk/fat mixture, giving it the rich creamy texture. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 3, 2012 Author Share May 3, 2012 me also use full cream uht and those on offer....marigold or dutchlady what kind of emulsifiers can we add?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 me also use full cream uht and those on offer....marigold or dutchlady what kind of emulsifiers can we add?? read this Ice-cream Ice-cream is one of the most complex foods we encounter; both a foam and an emulsion it contains ice crystals and an unfrozen aqueous mix. Emulsifiers are added during the freezing process, to promote a smoother texture and ensure the ice-cream does not melt rapidly after serving. They also improve freeze-thaw stability. Mono and diglycerides of fatty acids (E 471), lecithin (E 322) and polysorbates (E 432, E 436) are commonly used in ice-cream production. All this applies to other desserts such as sorbet, milkshake, frozen mousse and frozen yogurt as well. http://www.food-info.net/uk/qa/qa-fi63.htm probably you visit Poon Huat and ask the staff for emulsifiers. i think its the same for baking and making ice cream. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 3, 2012 Author Share May 3, 2012 good read there,bro..... now the question is....how much to add??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 good read there,bro..... now the question is....how much to add??? trial and error lor....... no mix formula lah just buy and pour and try. try and try again. Hey, our light bulb wasn't invented in one try, ok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Yep...this one with built in compressor.... I bought the Kenwood but sort of regret as the bowl is big...I need to take out one tray to fit in the bowl in Freezer.... Same here. That Mayer looks like a good buy if you are into ice cream making. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 6, 2012 Author Share May 6, 2012 Finally......finally, my choc ice cream is born just when everything look bleak, things worked out. me made 2 version- 1 with sugar the other with no sugar. One with sugar tasted like the swensen sticky choc chewy and mind you, its chewy. The one one w/o sugar is less creamy and drier to taste. i believe the chill bowl play a very important part. It has to be super duper cold to make the ice cream turns out the way you wanna. PS. ice cream makes you grow fat. eat in moderation like i do... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 6, 2012 Share May 6, 2012 (edited) a nice ice cream require correct of air inject when freezing usually get those freeze first kind of machine,then dump the ingredient in and keep stirring..like this better as usual,my MIC one..lol btw careful on handling eggs when u add into it...iirc AVA got regulations for eggs handling when come to making icecream,if not can food poisoning Edited May 6, 2012 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear May 6, 2012 Share May 6, 2012 a nice ice cream require correct of air inject when freezing usually get those freeze first kind of machine,then dump the ingredient in and keep stirring..like this better as usual,my MIC one..lol btw careful on handling eggs when u add into it...iirc AVA got regulations for eggs handling when come to making icecream,if not can food poisoning Use liquid eggs should be safe? By right liquid and powder egg already subjected to heat treatment right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 6, 2012 Author Share May 6, 2012 eggs yolks are heated prior before mixing. But my latest choc ice cream requires no eggs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear May 6, 2012 Share May 6, 2012 eggs yolks are heated prior before mixing. But my latest choc ice cream requires no eggs. no problems keeping ice cream soft? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 6, 2012 Author Share May 6, 2012 (edited) no problems keeping ice cream soft? with bit of sugar..............its chewy but i am ok without sugar and it is soft though not so chewy......and its bitter to taste Edited May 6, 2012 by Hamburger ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...