Tanahseng Clutched April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 Just entertaining a couple friend from Germany transit via Singapore. Bring them for some local food and chit chatting. They are in their mid 50's and a son age age 16 and daughter 18. Some conversation and pop up this topic.......... they think their children are dating. Whenever their daughter went out, for dating or with friends, they wouldn't know, they will just secretly put in some condoms in their daughter's handbag. I was really quite shocked when they said this and ask them why? Their answer is, she had grown up, practice safe sex............... WTF I was thinking, you allowed and even encouraged your daughter to have safe sex even though she is not married??? Is this a good practice?? I doubt no parents in Singapore will do this!!!!!!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 Just entertaining a couple friend from Germany transit via Singapore. Bring them for some local food and chit chatting. They are in their mid 50's and a son age age 16 and daughter 18. Some conversation and pop up this topic.......... they think their children are dating. Whenever their daughter went out, for dating or with friends, they wouldn't know, they will just secretly put in some condoms in their daughter's handbag. I was really quite shocked when they said this and ask them why? Their answer is, she had grown up, practice safe sex............... WTF I was thinking, you allowed and even encouraged your daughter to have safe sex even though she is not married??? Is this a good practice?? I doubt no parents in Singapore will do this!!!!!!!! Ridiculous as this whole idea may sound, we mustn't forget that we are judging another culture by using our societal norms as moral yardsticks. In other words, we are dealing with ethnocentrism. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 Just being practical I guess. I know of Singapore parents who rather allow their child's GF/BF to stay with them and to cohabit so that they can keep an eye on them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanahseng Clutched April 24, 2012 Author Share April 24, 2012 Ridiculous as this whole idea may sound, we mustn't forget that we are judging another culture by using our societal norms as moral yardsticks. In other words, we are dealing with ethnocentrism. Somehow agree on Western culture is much more different . And I find that Angmos are more straight forward. I had an experience sharing a speedboat during an island tour, and had some casual talk with some angmos on the boat. And suddenly he said, hey man, your breath's not very pleasant man!! Knn, he say I got bad breath, but even it's true, he can keep it to himself mah....... make me embarassed!!! [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanong11 Clutched April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 Somehow agree on Western culture is much more different . And I find that Angmos are more straight forward. I had an experience sharing a speedboat during an island tour, and had some casual talk with some angmos on the boat. And suddenly he said, hey man, your breath's not very pleasant man!! Knn, he say I got bad breath, but even it's true, he can keep it to himself mah....... make me embarassed!!! [laugh] Better he tell u than someone impt to u who doesn't and judged u secretly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lbguan Neutral Newbie April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 They are angmohs. What do you expect? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 Just entertaining a couple friend from Germany transit via Singapore. Bring them for some local food and chit chatting. They are in their mid 50's and a son age age 16 and daughter 18. Some conversation and pop up this topic.......... they think their children are dating. Whenever their daughter went out, for dating or with friends, they wouldn't know, they will just secretly put in some condoms in their daughter's handbag. I was really quite shocked when they said this and ask them why? Their answer is, she had grown up, practice safe sex............... WTF I was thinking, you allowed and even encouraged your daughter to have safe sex even though she is not married??? Is this a good practice?? I doubt no parents in Singapore will do this!!!!!!!! I wonder if the parents milking their daughter through prostitution instead. Different countries can have different culture. Example: I believe we are beginning to rob the younger generations like the Westerners had been doing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyvern 1st Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 I believe teenagers nowadays are no longer like the time of the past. They no longer heed your advises like no sex before marriages or refrain from any hanky panky...etc. Hence, the parents on realising this, tried their best, if the worst case does happens, at least there is a safety precautions in place for their teenagers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 We tried but 48 was punished and more to come.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 those 48 should have born in germany instead? each romp cost them $450-$650++.......is the girl services really worth so much? Can buy a iPad or iPhone with these kind of money leh.....or even a nice watch! I think these 48 guys are the truely RICH Singaporeans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 25, 2012 Share April 25, 2012 This is what I call awareness. Parents at least have an idea, they had been thru adolescence themselves, I believe during their time parents do not talk about these things and they saw all kinds of outcome. For Asian cultures I know parents do not talk to their children about safe sex or even sex, it's like some kind of taboo, they rather have the school "teach" them. I can't really blame them as their own parents dun even talk about it, needless to say they dun even know how to go about talking about sex to their children. Those who are most conservative or most religious IMO are even worse. So if you have children dun send them to kat-tholic schools. (just kidding) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 25, 2012 Share April 25, 2012 The girl is 18, there is 95% chance she is having sex - is better that the parents put the condoms in the bag than she ends up with a whippersnapper, having an abortion or getting chlaymidia... Personally I probably wouldn't go that far, but if my 18 year old kid asked me for condoms, I wouldn't scold her in the slightest - would just ask her if she wanted the ribbed type, the warming type or the coloured one. I have seen the 15 year old daugther of a 16 year old mum give birth, after her 17 year old brother had a baby. THAT is what you call stupidity. There have been surveys done here in Singapore on the number of youngsters having sex, and its not exactly like Singaporeans are abstaining until marriage - to bury your head in the sand about it is stupid, and dangerous for the kids. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged April 25, 2012 Share April 25, 2012 How about teenage son?? Must also secretly slip some condoms in his bag, or not?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 25, 2012 Share April 25, 2012 Better safe then sorry. Simple as that. I talk to my sons about sex, and tell them, no money, take from me, 7/11 always available. Not that I advocate sex, we are all humans. Just entertaining a couple friend from Germany transit via Singapore. Bring them for some local food and chit chatting. They are in their mid 50's and a son age age 16 and daughter 18. Some conversation and pop up this topic.......... they think their children are dating. Whenever their daughter went out, for dating or with friends, they wouldn't know, they will just secretly put in some condoms in their daughter's handbag. I was really quite shocked when they said this and ask them why? Their answer is, she had grown up, practice safe sex............... WTF I was thinking, you allowed and even encouraged your daughter to have safe sex even though she is not married??? Is this a good practice?? I doubt no parents in Singapore will do this!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FastFastCar Neutral Newbie April 25, 2012 Share April 25, 2012 Nowadays many teenagers doing it, some start as young as 14, practising safe sex and not getting pregnant and less chances of STD is a lesser evil imo, and of course ang mos different culture, they are more open about such things compared to asians. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 25, 2012 Share April 25, 2012 Nowadays many teenagers doing it, some start as young as 14, practising safe sex and not getting pregnant and less chances of STD is a lesser evil imo, and of course ang mos different culture, they are more open about such things compared to asians. This isn't new, during my time and even earlier, kids were doing it, only thing was parents didn't know or didn't want to know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear April 25, 2012 Share April 25, 2012 face and handle the truth. dont deny and kpkb all the nonsense value. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FastFastCar Neutral Newbie April 25, 2012 Share April 25, 2012 (edited) This isn't new, during my time and even earlier, kids were doing it, only thing was parents didn't know or didn't want to know. Depends on the upbringing and the company you mixed with I guess, for me my first time was after 21, and I didn't even know how to do it. I tot the belly button was the hole. The problem with asian familes is that we associated sex as something bad and do not want to speak about it, if my kids are doing it, I rather speak to them about it then to avoid the issue, of course I will disencourage them against it but highlight the responsibilities and risks that goes along with it. Edited April 25, 2012 by FastFastCar ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...