Neutralsg 5th Gear May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 Can't solve the problem themselves created, so silence the critics? Nothing new especially since they don't have what their predecessor had i.e. sincerity and passion to serve the nation. Their ability to debate intelligently and with moral authority are apparently lacking from the recent exchanges seen in the last parliament sitting. I hope the day will come when the 2/3 majority is removed. That's the only way when they can be woken up from their slumber. Apparently, many who can make the difference are still dozing. Reminds me the story of Rip Van Winkle. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 Saturday April 21, 2012 Row over 'wage shock' call INSIGHT DOWN SOUTH By SEAH CHIANG NEE http://thestar.com.my/columnists/story.asp...%20Down%20South A call by former National Wage Council chairman Lim Chong Yah to close the wage gap between the lowest paid and high-income earners has developed into a public spat with the government. The current public row is surprising considering that Prof. Lim is believed to have Lee Kuan Yew's trust. Both are related by marriage. Lim's daughter Suet Fern, a lawyer, married Lee's youngest son Hsien Yang in 1981. The couple has three sons. The controversy has caught many Singaporeans by surprise. It is not often that a government disagreement is aired publicly. Such matters had mostly been resolved within four walls away from the press. If one were to look at the characteristics of the pioneering guards and those of today, it should not have come as a surprise since the former had the character of humility, modesty, and selflessness while the latter have the tendency of arrogance, conceitedness and selfishness. Hence, I'm not surprised and neither am I surprised that those who can make the difference will continue to have difficulties finding an amiable and practical solution for the greater good unless they are able to shed their negative traits. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 I hope this is relevant:- Sgp's geographical location is something not many other countries are endowed with, and this gives us a big advantage so far. So it's not totally lacking in"asset" in this regards. On the brighter side, businesses, investors, property owners and others do not need to worry about: 1) earthquake 2) tidal wave/ tsunami just to highlight their significance which are natural contribution to the stability of the country. Hence, one does not have to worry about losing their property or interrupted business investments/ operations etc.. which cannot be said of other countries which are exposed to such elements. Hence, while Singapore may not have natural resource, it does have its natural advantages too. Majulah Singapura!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 On the brighter side, businesses, investors, property owners and others do not need to worry about: 1) earthquake 2) tidal wave/ tsunami just to highlight their significance which are natural contribution to the stability of the country. Hence, one does not have to worry about losing their property or interrupted business investments/ operations etc.. which cannot be said of other countries which are exposed to such elements. Hence, while Singapore may not have natural resource, it does have its natural advantages too. Majulah Singapura!!! oni lightning. On a business golf outing, your potential $$$ giver can kena strike and up lorry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 You must now say that in Tagalog, given that Tagalog is now an official language. That will be right before you say, "錢進,新加坡" pun intended.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 One reason why it is not worth spending time to exchange opinions with such die hard MIW supporters who can have difficulties empathising with the misery of many ordinary Singaporeans who do not have the same opportunity nor resource. Fortunately, most Singaporeans are generally hardworking and have the ability to survive despite the challenges of living in Singapore. Majulah Singapura!!! But ..... big BUT here ...... She is contended living here, in Singapore. Whereas, many down the "class" strata, are even thinking of emigrating, when the cost of living becomes too painful here. I wonder if that would be a wise move, long-term? I have never felt that Asians are treated the same in any western, developed country - especially in Europe and Australia, though its not so blatant in the US. There is always this hazy veil on fairplay and arms-length treatment. I wonder if anyone else feel the same way? Qualifier: you need to live or work there, long enough - over a period of time to experience these things. Going on short vacations - everything will appear pleasant and nice (cos they want your tourist dollar!) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 an eg of what I am see on the net these days. I know this can be true. from education pressures, one of ex-elite son committed suicide at elite uni in UK from my batch. this was from the high pressure bunch that produced president scholars such as Chia Shi Lu and Lucy Tay. "Just that this morning my wife shared with me about her friend's friend daughter. got into one of the more sought after school in the north after volunteering for 60 hours. the school allegedly induce some primary 3 maths to primary 1 students. therefore standards and stress very high.child did fine, infact did well and topped the class. towards the end of primary 2, parents pulled her out despite her doing well. reason: child made several attempts to self-mutilate,harm herself, dispayed suicidal tendencies. currently in another school and has been in psychiatric treatment the last 1year." The sad thing for allowing oneself to be caught up for the poor value about life itself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 (edited) all this for what? when foreigners can use phony degrees... Phony degrees aside, the fact that MOM expanded the recognition of degrees from all over makes a mockery of our local polytechnic diplomas and varsities degrees. it becomes worse when such degree holders couldn't even communicate decently; our official working language i.e. English. Enuf said! Edited May 9, 2012 by Neutralsg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 You must now say that in Tagalog, given that Tagalog is now an official language. Ok. When I get a Filipina maid, I'll ask her to help translate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 oni lightning. On a business golf outing, your potential $ giver can kena strike and up lorry Maybe when the lightning God decides to depart, such natural element may be scarce too? On a serious note, frequent lightning has never been known to be the cause of business interruption, bearish market nor risky investment environment. Hence, I would like to shout out: Majulah Singapura! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 (edited) But ..... big BUT here ...... She is contended living here, in Singapore. Whereas, many down the "class" strata, are even thinking of emigrating, when the cost of living becomes too painful here. I wonder if that would be a wise move, long-term? I have never felt that Asians are treated the same in any western, developed country - especially in Europe and Australia, though its not so blatant in the US. There is always this hazy veil on fairplay and arms-length treatment. I wonder if anyone else feel the same way? Qualifier: you need to live or work there, long enough - over a period of time to experience these things. Going on short vacations - everything will appear pleasant and nice (cos they want your tourist dollar!) Facts: 1) For the likes of her, they have the options and can disappear the minute it is no longer conducive for them. 2) Racism and discrimination exist in most parts of the world. It's just a matter of adaptation and the ability to survive in different environment For me, this is my country and I will do my part in whichever I can take to help Singapore survive. Guess, I've stayed too long to want to leave this island state in which I am native to. Further, it is unlikely to turn into an uninhabitable place before I have to naturally depart. Majulah Singapura!!! Edited May 9, 2012 by Neutralsg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 Yes, but I think it is becoming less relevant with new technology. Singapore is no longer the busiest port in the world, Shanghai is. And have you been to Shanghai's port ? They do not have a good location for a deep sea port, and did they KPKB to heaven and blame father blame mother ? No, they built a deep sea port outside of Shanghai, 32km into the East China Sea. The port is useless isolated from the mainland, did they just sit there and tell people "I can say for sure, it is not possible to run a port here ?". No, they built a 32km long Donghai bridge -- 3 times longer than Penang Bridge. They are setting new rules for the old game, like people worship Apple for reinventing the rules for mobile applications. How many Singaporeans know the rising of the Port of Shanghai ? How many Singaporeans have been to the Donghai bridge ? It's been there since 2005, but people are still dreaming of the 1970's and 1980's. This is very impressive! Never say die. Always can do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 Nothing new especially since they don't have what their predecessor had i.e. sincerity and passion to serve the nation. Their ability to debate intelligently and with moral authority are apparently lacking from the recent exchanges seen in the last parliament sitting. I hope the day will come when the 2/3 majority is removed. That's the only way when they can be woken up from their slumber. Apparently, many who can make the difference are still dozing. Reminds me the story of Rip Van Winkle. But they have in their midst well qualified lawyers, surgeons, technocrats, economists, bankers, you name it! It seems the dream team is well equipped. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 But they have in their midst well qualified lawyers, surgeons, technocrats, economists, bankers, you name it! It seems the dream team is well equipped. And the end result? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged May 9, 2012 Share May 9, 2012 Ok. When I get a Filipina maid, I'll ask her to help translate. Pasulong Singapore !! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...