Siewss 1st Gear May 12, 2012 Share May 12, 2012 I'll be staying overnight at KL @ Berjaya Time Square which is located at Jln Imbi. Heard that's the best place for foodies. Any recommendation of "must makan" places there? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trafficwatch Clutched May 12, 2012 Share May 12, 2012 (edited) Jln Imbi was located at their LRT Station named "Imbi" and Bt Bintang, BB Plaza, Lot 1 were around here. For Times Square the worse parts were: - Traffic was quite bad during morning & evening rush hours (So, try not to drive around, take LRT better as an short distance of merely 1 km from Jln Loke Yew junction -- if you visit Jln Petaling -- Chinatown may take you close to 1 hour & problematic to make U-turn as most of the time you have to waste about 3 km as the KL TP will close the U-turn near Bt Bintang of which was meant for you to make an U-turn towards Times Square ) - Be on your guard, the Time Square Carpark was NOT safe and cases of stolen vehicles happened, pls have an steering wheel lock along & park at bright & busy passbyers area & not on too high floor. Foods: - Jln Alor (Located behind an busy street of BB Plaza of an small lane & you can ask the local if your not sure of the direction) but that place was an busy street with mostly BBQ seafood, satay, BBQ chicken wings (Just head close to the left end got one restaurant of famous sea food -- opposite an hotel -- hotel name i forgot already. - If facing directly of Times Square, on the right "Cross Junction" of which located about 200 metre leading towards Jln Loke Yew (Road / street name not sure of but know how to go) make an left turn then about 1 km down an little slope got an ulu street having traditional kampung style eatery street there got some good foods such as Cheng Tng, fried kway teow, famous wanton mee, chinese rojak, tau kua pao, fried blakc carrot cakes etc - Jln Petaling (Chinatown; can take train to "Sentral" or "Mahajaras"but need to walk but distance wise, "sental nearer) of if got 2 to 3 pax take Taxi over about RM10 got night pasah malan, craypot rice, BBQ, Lok Lok etc. Famous soya beans drink, tau hwa, iced lor han kou pin tang longan, KL fried black sauce lou shi fen, (Day time got famous porriage & famous chee chong feng, potato ball, fried kway teow & famous wanton mee - located in the coffee shop just at right "cross junction of Jln Petaling night market) Edited May 12, 2012 by Trafficwatch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear May 12, 2012 Share May 12, 2012 Since you are only staying one night, go for a good restaurant, right side from entrance of time sq, cross the junction, Overseas restaurant, good hongkie style food, not ex. There's another ji cha call Dai she Tao but standard drop Liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hubwee Supercharged May 12, 2012 Share May 12, 2012 Overseas Restaurant , the char siew , its a must try !!! Remember to call to make reservations if you are going on a weekend .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic May 13, 2012 Share May 13, 2012 Jalan Alor's Meng Kee Char Siew. Wing Heng's egg tart, it is in a coffee shop. Eat it while hot off the oven. Overseas restaurant, go early so as not to miss out on the char siew and roasted pork or call to reserve. Sun Hong's Bak Kut Teh. Watch your weight, there is so much to eat in KL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear May 13, 2012 Share May 13, 2012 Restoran Overseas, as recommended by the folks above me. Just across the road from Restoran Overseas; walk into the smaller lanes and you will see Restoran Soo Kee. The Sang Ha Meen is pretty good. Jalan Alor is a bit further to walk from Times Square, but not a bad place for supper. After that head to Changkat Bukit Bintang for drinks. There are more places to experience good food but that will involve venturing further outside that touristy zone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flying_genie 6th Gear May 13, 2012 Share May 13, 2012 Agreed, Overseas Restaurant is good value for what you pay for. They even have dim sum. Not sure if standard as good as before, haven't been there in years. Petaling Street and Jalan Alor very good for hawker food. However, be very street smart there. Watch your belongings. There are some small incidences of petty crime but the major syndicates control that area. DO NOT offend anybody there! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear May 13, 2012 Author Share May 13, 2012 Jln Imbi was located at their LRT Station named "Imbi" and Bt Bintang, BB Plaza, Lot 1 were around here. For Times Square the worse parts were: - Traffic was quite bad during morning & evening rush hours (So, try not to drive around, take LRT better as an short distance of merely 1 km from Jln Loke Yew junction -- if you visit Jln Petaling -- Chinatown may take you close to 1 hour & problematic to make U-turn as most of the time you have to waste about 3 km as the KL TP will close the U-turn near Bt Bintang of which was meant for you to make an U-turn towards Times Square ) - Be on your guard, the Time Square Carpark was NOT safe and cases of stolen vehicles happened, pls have an steering wheel lock along & park at bright & busy passbyers area & not on too high floor. Foods: - Jln Alor (Located behind an busy street of BB Plaza of an small lane & you can ask the local if your not sure of the direction) but that place was an busy street with mostly BBQ seafood, satay, BBQ chicken wings (Just head close to the left end got one restaurant of famous sea food -- opposite an hotel -- hotel name i forgot already. - If facing directly of Times Square, on the right "Cross Junction" of which located about 200 metre leading towards Jln Loke Yew (Road / street name not sure of but know how to go) make an left turn then about 1 km down an little slope got an ulu street having traditional kampung style eatery street there got some good foods such as Cheng Tng, fried kway teow, famous wanton mee, chinese rojak, tau kua pao, fried blakc carrot cakes etc - Jln Petaling (Chinatown; can take train to "Sentral" or "Mahajaras"but need to walk but distance wise, "sental nearer) of if got 2 to 3 pax take Taxi over about RM10 got night pasah malan, craypot rice, BBQ, Lok Lok etc. Famous soya beans drink, tau hwa, iced lor han kou pin tang longan, KL fried black sauce lou shi fen, (Day time got famous porriage & famous chee chong feng, potato ball, fried kway teow & famous wanton mee - located in the coffee shop just at right "cross junction of Jln Petaling night market) Thanks for your sharing. I've tried Jln Alor and Jln Petaling. My attention riveted to your statement about carpark security at Time Square. Was that in the past or it's still rampant these days? Of course when we checked with the hotel, they told us they have round-the-clock security, but that doesn't mean it's safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear May 13, 2012 Author Share May 13, 2012 Restaurant Overseas seems to be everyone's receommendation. So this will be the venue for dinner. Next day's breakfast will be in the hotel (unfortunately), and then for lunch I'll head out to one of Jln Imbi's coffeeshop / restoran. Thanks for the recommendations! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 hi guys. i'm also planning to stay at berjaya times square in june. anybody stayed there recently? very mixed reviews at tripadvisor. planning to get the superior room. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Colin03 4th Gear May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 Hi , I am planning for that too. Any info of travelling by train from here as an experience . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Colin03 4th Gear May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 (edited) deleted as duplicate message Edited May 18, 2012 by Colin03 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 hi guys. i'm also planning to stay at berjaya times square in june. anybody stayed there recently? very mixed reviews at tripadvisor. planning to get the superior room. Cheep shopping just across Time Square, Bukit Bintang Plaza, can spend a whole day there, computers accessories at the top floor. Good shopping for the ladies. Entrance small lane of Jln Alor across BB plaza, the yiu char kuek, butterfly, and hum chim bang is nice, but eating at Jln Alor not cheap though, hokkien big noodle cost more den 10rm, other hawker dishes oso cost 8-9rm or more and damm hot, and you got to watch which stall you patronise, lao sai the last time I ate there. Might aswell spend 1-2 hundred for 2 or 4pax eating at the Overseas Restaurant can eat until song song, service are superb. I think they have roasted pigeons too. Eat there two months ago, standard still there or go across there are other ji cha and restaurant to choose from. All within walking distances dont have to move your car. If you are going to petaling street, go into the small lanes, bak kut teh entrance near the temple, and further in to the end before exiting the lane, wanton mee is die die must try, the char siew was generous and chunky. The rest on the main road for the ang mohs can skip. Dont miss the tau huai and tau huai chwee at petaling street cross junction and about few steps away the beef noodle, never come across the cooking style in singapore before. Small portion but authentic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 Hi , I am planning for that too. Any info of travelling by train from here as an experience . Bro, take a bus lah, train gotta board in JB, nothing to view along the route, kampong, rubber plantation, palm plantation, den kampong........ every now and then stop, drink and curry puff, unless you travel all the way till Kelantan den got beautiful country side to see. Journey damm long and the seats infested with bed bugs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 kakilang..i wont b trying all those rdside stalls. going with my kids n parents in law. that's y chose berjaya, cos got theme park. n i tink most of my meals will b at restaurants or fast food joints. will likely travel ard there by their monorail or lrt, cos i read the station is below/nearby. so i'm more concerned of the rooms condition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 The monorail is convient and can lead you to all over kl even to twin towers, station stone throw away, time sq main entrance right cross traffic junction 100m away. The overhead track are just outside time sq. Stayed there once, rooms are big and comfy, on the 2nd or 3rd level, funland for kids wif mini roller coaster rides. Have fun. If you are driving there, after exiting sg besi upon reaching time sq, there's a detour road work upgrading, you won't pass pudu to turn right to time sq, gotta turn left, U turn 50m under flyover straight till you see time sq on your right again, drive slow the cross junction of pudu abit tricky, got abang maning the junction $$$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear May 18, 2012 Author Share May 18, 2012 Got back 2 days ago. The deluxe suite was not bad - a bit dated but no luxury touches. Sofa was found with cigarette burns. TV is still the old cathode ray 29". Like the size though. Downside is the carpark is shared between hotel guest and mall visitors. Lots of security guards around, but just not at the basement carpark. Overseas Restoran is not bad. Maybe I didn't choose the right dishes, because I found the service better than the food. In any case, don't mind going back for more. There a corner coffee shop opposite the Honda Showroom - The char kway teow was good but the fish soup hor fun was really out of this world! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...