WP by_election rally May 19

Kopites

There is another thread on PAP rally, I suggest u to spend ur time defending there instead of here trying to talk down WP.

Yah man. Shoooooo!

You are just beating around the bush and sound as repetitious as the WP rally! [laugh]

What will the WP do different for the people of Singapore?

I still do not hear it!

It's still all rhetoric and empty chest beating ... perhaps a strategy the WP thinks could work for a less-sophisticated electorate like HG maybe?

IMHO, the recent WP rally videos have been ineffective and tepid, to say the least.

Not passionate, nor people-moving enough.

Repeating old issues, ad infinitum.

Not impressive at all!

Then what can PAP do for the people of Singapore other than to keep telling us to accept foreign immigrants?? [laugh]

I was watching the Channel 8 news today and was not satisfied with the fairness in reporting.

It broadcast the rally speech of DC, together with Teo, and could hear them badmouthing WP, YSL and Mr Png Eng Huat.

When it comes to the report on WP, they merely flashed afew static pictures showing Mr Png Eng Huat on walk-about visits.

--------------------------------

As usual, the 30-minute news today again consists of reports on heavy rain/flood in China, which is a lousy attempt to shift the attention on our ministry's failure to resolve that so-called "once-in-every-50-year" flood problem.

Oh god, if you can't make me slim, please make the others fat too.

I had long not touched on MSM.....

Then what can PAP do for the people of Singapore other than to keep telling us to accept foreign immigrants?? [laugh]

When we were young, we were told the young children is our future and they will grow up to become 国家未来的主人翁.

Looking at the influx, who will be our future 主人翁? Not forgetting we were told to retire in old folks' home at JB.

You are just beating around the bush and sound as repetitious as the WP rally! [laugh]

What will the WP do different for the people of Singapore?

I still do not hear it!

It's still all rhetoric and empty chest beating ... perhaps a strategy the WP thinks could work for a less-sophisticated electorate like HG maybe?

IMHO, the recent WP rally videos have been ineffective and tepid, to say the least.

Not passionate, nor people-moving enough.

Repeating old issues, ad infinitum.

Not impressive at all!

When we were young, we were told the young children is our future and they will grow up to become 国家未来的主人翁.

Looking at the influx, who will be our future 主人翁? Not forgetting we were told to retire in old folks' home at JB.

Precisely. There is little or no hope at all for our younger generation. :angry:

The WP unfortunately, is repeating irrelevant issues and barking up wrong trees.

There was nothing strategic, as witnessed in their rally rethorics.

aRE you Badder in disguise?

Honestly I don need WP to do anything..they just need to stay in Parliament and karjiao the pappies. They dun to have anything strategic for now, cos PAP anyway is controlling all the resources, all the taxpayers money, all our CPF etc. Until there is a more level playing field, I dont expect anything much.

I think after all your posts, in summary, we are all saying the same thing.

WP is mediocre and can do nothing to change or improve things.

PAP will likely remain in power for a long time more and control the SG govt.

Now that's good for the majority 60.1%.

Re tax payers' money and upgrading budgets, let the govt decide what to do with the monies. It's theirs, not ours. Give back to Caesar what belongs to Caesar.

If WP ever wants to be a voice in parliament (not a whimper) it has to come up with a few good men.

IMHO, the current motley crew just don't cut the butter.

CKP had stressed on the power of repitition in political debates, no?

Edited by Jolie888

aRE you Badder in disguise?

Honestly I don need WP to do anything..they just need to stay in Parliament and karjiao the pappies. They dun to have anything strategic for now, cos PAP anyway is controlling all the resources, all the taxpayers money, all our CPF etc. Until there is a more level playing field, I dont expect anything much.

+1

I think after all your posts, in summary, we are all saying the same thing.

WP is mediocre and can do nothing to change or improve things.

PAP will likely remain in power for a long time more and control the SG govt.

Now that's good for the majority 60.1%.

Re tax payers' money and upgrading budgets, let the govt decide what to do with the monies. It's theirs, not ours. Give back to Caesar what belongs to Caesar.

If WP ever wants to be a voice in parliament (not a whimper) it has to come up with a few good men.

IMHO, the current motley crew just don't cut the butter.

CKP had stressed on the power of repitition in political debates, no?

i notice you have lost some confidence that PAP will stay in power for a long time .... will likely

thought it may seem naive to you, where you come from, regardless, woodlands or east coast or hougang, we are ALL singaporeans, hence we all should be treated equally

government should not be equated to a political party

that is government should be above political party

when the PAP through the government penalised the good people of hougang, they are also penalising the 35% who supported them in hougang

to be fair, with all those restrictions, the possibility of being sued even if you are right and being a minority, is it possible to sway anything in parliament except to question the policies when there is a need to question

otherwise, good or badly formulated policies would have been pass without any checks

being in a minority is difficult to shine, look at all minority political groups in the world and you may understand

an example do you seriously expect singapore footfall team to even dent manchester united in the world cup

btw, the opposition have come up with several good alternatives, which some of them have been used by PAP

personally, i believe PAP has done alot for singapore but they also have done alot to disadvantage singaporeans, their style of governing has to change to adapt to the modern society, those who have sufferred ISA but not given a fair trial should be given one today, engage society, accountability

i hope it is not true, but we have seen how the politicians havee manipulated statisics for their own benefit, i just hope we dont wake up to see our country is bankrupt when te EUropean crisis becomes full blown

competition is good

wthout competition would you expect to buy things cheaper,

eg if only geely cars are sold here, what do you think the price of cars or maintenance be

services

eg do you expect quick and courteous services

better innovative ideas and choices

eg new technological invention such as safety features in cars

Jolie, dont be so closed and negative about the opposition, go beyond skin deep

you will find the opposition has a role to play in our society

Thanks buddy. We are on the same page here. If not for them, u think there would be so many u-turns these few months?

eg, subsidies for PRs/citizens, Pri 1 balotting, etc...

I feel tht opposition is still too strong. Alternative is better

Thanks buddy. We are on the same page here. If not for them, u think there would be so many u-turns these few months?

eg, subsidies for PRs/citizens, Pri 1 balotting, etc...

I feel tht opposition is still too strong. Alternative is better

Yes that's was the best post by 2 yellow flags MCFer.

J888 is so closed up he thinks inside of the box.

No one is talking about a full takeover by alternative party. I won't for sure because they are not even ready.

we cannot and will not have one party rule in SG.

without hougang and potong pasir suffering, the one party rule will have fee ticket to do anything they please.

i notice you have lost some confidence that PAP will stay in power for a long time .... will likely

No no no.

Pls read again.

I was only SUMMARIZING all the comments made in this thread thus far, by ALL who have contributed - including the anti-PAP ones.

There is general consensus that the PAP govt will likely stay in power for a long time.

It cannot be 100% because it is a summary of all inputs gotten, including those pro-WP!

No one is talking about a full takeover by alternative party. I won't for sure because they are not even ready.

we cannot and will not have one party rule in SG.

Of course none of the opposition parties are even ready to take over the govt.

And Singaporeans will NEVER allow for that to happen!

They just don't have the requisite qualities - rally speeches notwithstanding!

We can have a one-party rule in SG.

It had worked for us before, and very well too.

And it is IMHO that it will continue to work well for us.

We all just have to 'enable' ourselves and our next generation, to be on top.

Education would be the greatest class "leveler".

Let no opportunity be turned down on any citizen, if capabilty can be demonstrated, to move up in life.

And we do not need opposition parties to achieve that!

Yup, if WP wins, then it msy be another 20 yrs of hardship lor.

For PAP, it would not change the ballot's stays quo since 2011.

But if PAP wins, then the HG residents can only stand to gain.

$100M upgrading budget, legal services priveded by Subhas Anandan, and merger into AMK GRC for economies of scale. Not bad what!

Residents of Hougang (Me inclusive) tell u g fly kite...

upgarding should not be used as a carrot in a election...

this IMO shows unsporting behaviour from the ruling party...

come on la, do Hougang residents pay lesser in taxes???

no right... so dun give crap here...

thought it may seem naive to you, where you come from, regardless, woodlands or east coast or hougang, we are ALL singaporeans, hence we all should be treated equally

government should not be equated to a political party

that is government should be above political party

when the PAP through the government penalised the good people of hougang, they are also penalising the 35% who supported them in hougang

to be fair, with all those restrictions, the possibility of being sued even if you are right and being a minority, is it possible to sway anything in parliament except to question the policies when there is a need to question

otherwise, good or badly formulated policies would have been pass without any checks

being in a minority is difficult to shine, look at all minority political groups in the world and you may understand

an example do you seriously expect singapore footfall team to even dent manchester united in the world cup

btw, the opposition have come up with several good alternatives, which some of them have been used by PAP

personally, i believe PAP has done alot for singapore but they also have done alot to disadvantage singaporeans, their style of governing has to change to adapt to the modern society, those who have sufferred ISA but not given a fair trial should be given one today, engage society, accountability

i hope it is not true, but we have seen how the politicians havee manipulated statisics for their own benefit, i just hope we dont wake up to see our country is bankrupt when te EUropean crisis becomes full blown

competition is good

wthout competition would you expect to buy things cheaper,

eg if only geely cars are sold here, what do you think the price of cars or maintenance be

services

eg do you expect quick and courteous services

better innovative ideas and choices

eg new technological invention such as safety features in cars

Jolie, dont be so closed and negative about the opposition, go beyond skin deep

you will find the opposition has a role to play in our society

Very well said. I agree with you.

Accountability is the word.

Of course none of the opposition parties are even ready to take over the govt.

And Singaporeans will NEVER allow for that to happen!

They just don't have the requisite qualities - rally speeches notwithstanding!

We can have a one-party rule in SG.

It had worked for us before, and very well too.

And it is IMHO that it will continue to work well for us.

We all just have to 'enable' ourselves and our next generation, to be on top.

Education would be the greatest class "leveler".

Let no opportunity be turned down on any citizen, if capabilty can be demonstrated, to move up in life.

And we do not need opposition parties to achieve that!

Eh bro, I read your postings and comments on political threads thus far with amazement.

For someone who travels overseas to countries like Australia on a regular basis, I would have thought that you will be more open minded and see things from a wider perspective.

This is just an observation. Don't take it personal. :D