I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear June 13, 2012 Author Share June 13, 2012 (edited) I like Dell as we can customise the system. My company use Dell desktop for all equipment sold and so far only 1 or 2 system got minor problem. The Dell svc guy came over to service quite fast too. hmm looks like Dell has change, but i am still not taking any chances with Dell hmm so far, i had used/still using Sony, Acer and Asus- Sony Vaio- Quite good, although problems start emerging after 2 years <Sent but to servicing, came back less than 2 weeks same prob, after sending back for the 4th time, sold it for $40+ bucks, cost 2500+> Acer Aspire- Quite Good, gave to one of my friend's son after 2 years as he cannot afford to get one for him <Last heard still going strong after nearly 4 years>, cost 900+> Asus X42J- Very very robust, still serving me, no problem at all, approaching 3 years and only change fan once Edited June 13, 2012 by I-LOVE-CARS ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 13, 2012 Share June 13, 2012 I like Dell as we can customise the system. My company use Dell desktop for all equipment sold and so far only 1 or 2 system got minor problem. The Dell svc guy came over to service quite fast too. Corporate customer and retail customer, the treatment very different de, pricing also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged June 13, 2012 Share June 13, 2012 Can i extend the warrenty to cover 4 years? <It will be my first MB, if i would to get it> $ should not be an issue since my budget is not exceeding SGD3500 not sure about 4 yrs bro .. i know 3 years can. $3500 can probably get the lower processor clock speed with retina display ... (i believe the only diff is the SSD dsize and clock speed, but i could be wrong). you can add in your 2 yr warranty for another $300 bucks too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 13, 2012 Share June 13, 2012 Can i extend the warrenty to cover 4 years? <It will be my first MB, if i would to get it> $ should not be an issue since my budget is not exceeding SGD3500 Apple care from Apple for extended warranty, or you can also get in house extended warranty from Best or Harvey Norman. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear June 13, 2012 Share June 13, 2012 hmm looks like Dell has change, but i am still not taking any chances with Dell But I'm not sure if any diff 'cos my company's PCs from Dell Europe...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 13, 2012 Share June 13, 2012 I like Dell as we can customise the system. My company use Dell desktop for all equipment sold and so far only 1 or 2 system got minor problem. The Dell svc guy came over to service quite fast too. yap.. but being a gamer, i only buy their Alienware series Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear June 13, 2012 Share June 13, 2012 yap.. but being a gamer, i only buy their Alienware series At that time I still have not heard of AW, thought must be some local company like Shinco or Akira. So didn't take a look. Paiseh lah, I computer-idiot and sua-ku lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear June 13, 2012 Author Share June 13, 2012 Apple care from Apple for extended warranty, or you can also get in house extended warranty from Best or Harvey Norman. does challenger offer extended warranty? <Since i had been buying from challenger for quite a few laptops both for me and wifey, also cos wifey got challenger membership> wither that or i might get from Nuibox Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear June 13, 2012 Author Share June 13, 2012 (edited) yap.. but being a gamer, i only buy their Alienware series which model? although i like ailenware, I found the design too 'loud' for work <since i am using it for mixed use- Meetings/Work/Presentation/Gaming/Internet Surfing> I find it too awkward to have lights flashing from my laptop esp during a meeting/presentation [laugh] Edited June 13, 2012 by I-LOVE-CARS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 13, 2012 Share June 13, 2012 does challenger offer extended warranty? <Since i had been buying from challenger for quite a few laptops both for me and wifey, also cos wifey got challenger membership> wither that or i might get from Nuibox for challenger you can purchase Apple Care from Apple online, good thing is you can wait till end of the first year to get it. http://store.apple.com/sg/search?find=apple+care Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 13, 2012 Share June 13, 2012 At that time I still have not heard of AW, thought must be some local company like Shinco or Akira. So didn't take a look. Paiseh lah, I computer-idiot and sua-ku lah.... me also.. until i decide to get a Notebook.. all along i think gaming of labtop is lame ( now too) but i realise, Alienware is still good for game. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 13, 2012 Share June 13, 2012 which model? although i like ailenware, I found the design too 'loud' for work <since i am using it for mixed use- Meetings/Work/Presentation/Gaming/Internet Surfing> I find it too awkward to have lights flashing from my laptop esp during a meeting/presentation [laugh] MX11. its a gaming netbook. if you want to buy go for MX14 bah. any i think like you too. the laptop too loud liao. heng can switch off the lighting to reduce ppl stare. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear June 13, 2012 Author Share June 13, 2012 for challenger you can purchase Apple Care from Apple online, good thing is you can wait till end of the first year to get it. http://store.apple.com/sg/search?find=apple+care wow, close to 500 dollars for the extend warrenty 2988+490=3478 <My budget: 3500> :ph34r: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 13, 2012 Share June 13, 2012 wow, close to 500 dollars for the extend warrenty 2988+490=3478 <My budget: 3500> :ph34r: For Apple computer, it's advisable to get Apple Care 'cos the logic board is super expensive unless u are buying cheap SGD799 Mac mini. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear June 13, 2012 Author Share June 13, 2012 For Apple computer, it's advisable to get Apple Care 'cos the logic board is super expensive unless u are buying cheap SGD799 Mac mini. sight, really thinking about it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 13, 2012 Share June 13, 2012 (edited) sight, really thinking about it But, it's worth it when sh1ts happen especially iMac desktop. You don't need to cart it to the repair centre. Just ring up and if cannot be resolved online 24/7, a technician will be dispatched to your place. If still cannot settle on the spot, the technician will bring it back and redeliver when it's repaired. Laptop, u will need to bring down yourself. Edited June 13, 2012 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear June 13, 2012 Author Share June 13, 2012 But, it's worth it when sh1ts happen especially iMac desktop. You don't need to cart it to the repair centre. Just ring up and if cannot be resolved online 24/7, a technician will be dispatched to your place. If still cannot settle on the spot, the technician will bring it back and redeliver when it's repaired. Laptop, u will need to bring down yourself. narrowing down to Macbook Pro 15' or Macbook Pro 15' Retina Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 13, 2012 Share June 13, 2012 narrowing down to Macbook Pro 15' or Macbook Pro 15' Retina Hahaha, pricing is same right? Get the Retina one then. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...