Doomsday!! Scary scenario for Singapore if PAP is voted out?

AhJason

What's wrong with Penang? btw, Penang is ruled by DAP. DAP used to be the satellite party of PAP. [laugh] You could say DAP has similar idealogies to PAP. [cool]

Penang is Chinese majority leh, and DAP is a Chinese majority political party. Thought should be okok one?

so was barisan but are they sharing the same idealogies ?

not really apple to apple comparision cause penang is only a state.. so machiam like our Ajunied GRC and Hougang.

just a side discussion. we have a manufacturing plant in penang. the Penang GM tells me the government always tries to divert foreign investments into other states other than penang.

This has been going on for long time even before DAP rules.

Feds were trying to promote Shah Alam, Petaling Jaya instead of Chinese majority Penang.

aiyah they so ignore penang, might as well give it to singapore. singapore will run it better.

I understand this is to help develop the other states. Even China are doing that

DB's reply to all the responses...

David Boey said...

Dear All,

Worst-case scenarios are common in security analysis, so learn to elevate your reading of such case studies from beyond the obvious.

The United States Rainbow war plans set a benchmark for scenario generation by playing out strategic relationships in the Pacific Rim according to various permutations.

Scenario plans were common in Cold War force studies too. Just because a writer described a plan to invade the Fulda Gap by the USSR, does that make him a communist supporter or sympathiser? And writers who described nuclear winters were, what, scare mongers?

Most of us have grown up in an environment where tolerance of anything but the straight and narrow is frowned upon or condemned.

Some of the responses here mirror the same intolerance and arrogance the MIW are ticked off for, just because the point of view we see here struck a nerve.

What to you rocks the boat is to others thought-provoking. Many points of view populate the Internet. Learn to embrace diversity without feeling so insecure you can't defend your own argument without descending into name calling or without the conviction of putting your own name to your blog.

This post isn't a popularity contest nor intended as provocative flame bait. There are many other "what if's" from a national security standpoint and this is just one of several which will be examined over time.

For those aghast with the idea than I will bow to arrogance, please read the 2009 entry "A father's pain" for some enlightenment. Scroll down for the comments. I can't be more overt than that.

I have read all your viewpoints and value even more the face-to-face chats a good number of you have had with me in the past where defence and security issues were discussed even more vigorously offline and off-the-record.

I especially thank readers who took pains to craft their own scenarios for the effort put into making people see things through a different lens.

Best regards,

David

not really apple to apple comparision cause penang is only a state.. so machiam like our Ajunied GRC and Hougang.

The pebble to PLANET comparison is DELIBERATE. Precisely, only a state as you mention. They still survive despite their own cheng hu in KL "want the best" for them.

We are a country and people are wetting their pants at the thought of PAP losing more seats.

What's wrong with Penang? btw, Penang is ruled by DAP. DAP used to be the satellite party of PAP. [laugh] You could say DAP has similar idealogies to PAP. [cool]

Penang is Chinese majority leh, and DAP is a Chinese majority political party. Thought should be okok one?

Penang is Chinese majority, and the current opposition ruling Penang is DAP, also a chinese-majority party. [laugh] Is Penang better or for worse? In the worst scenario, I guess Penang could rival Singapore, which is bad.

Pls don't bring in the race thingy.

That island is run by opposition who have lesser help and yet can carve a living for themselves and sell themselves as an attractive destination for business.

We are an island that have more at our disposal. What's with all the doomsday talk?

<br />While I am at times critical of PAP, I wil be the first to leave Singapore if PAP loses power.<br />

I'm sure some 50 years back, some people would have said the same:

"While I am at times critical of the British, I will be the first to leave Singapore if the British leave."

It is precisely in times of need that we see who are our fair weather friends, who are the hotel guests, and who are the heroes who emerge and fight the good fight.

Goh Keng Swee, Hon Sui Sen, even Lee Kuan Yew, these are all western educated Singaporeans who could have found a good living by staying in the UK, but chose to return to Singapore to bring about a better life for all Singaporeans.

Unfortunately, the successors to the heroes who helped Singapore overcome our colonial rulers have become our new colonial rulers.

When Singapore no longer lives in the shadow of fear cast on us by the PAP, new heroes will emerge. I am confident of that.

Let the rats jump ship. We are better off without them anyway.

sound like singapore [laugh]

politics are like that one lah. what to do.

The pebble to PLANET comparison is DELIBERATE. Precisely, only a state as you mention. They still survive despite their own cheng hu in KL "want the best" for them.

We are a country and people are wetting their pants at the thought of PAP losing more seats.

got meh?? [confused] oh you mean the earlier those huh who claimed they will migrate when PAP loss huh?

those are not real singaporean bah [:p]

Edited by Joseph22

I'm sure some 50 years back, some people would have said the same:

"While I am at times critical of the British, I will be the first to leave Singapore if the British leave."

It is precisely in times of need that we see who are our fair weather friends, who are the hotel guests, and who are the heroes who emerge and fight the good fight.

Unfortunately, the successors to the heroes who helped Singapore overcome our colonial rulers have become our new colonial rulers.

When Singapore no longer lives in the shadow of fear cast on us by the PAP, new heroes will emerge. I am confident of that.

Let the rats jump ship. We are better off without them anyway.

Well said !

[thumbsup]

The following is what Machiavelli thought/ taught, by wiki.

In addressing the question of whether it is better to be loved or feared,

So far, only P*P says your property price will crash, your mother and sisters will end up as maids in a foreign country. It is all their saying, but is there any facts to backup this claim?

If property prices will indeed crash, isn't that a good sign? I'll be able to own 2 or 3 properties with just a million. I'll definitely welcome that and I'll buy up whatever properties that I can afford.

The only ones affected are the speculators, but for those needing a roof over their head, it's a plus point.

Get the foreigners doing PMET jobs out of SG, your mother and sisters will not need to work as maids as they can take over these PMET jobs.

Foreigners are just economic refugees here taking advantage of our resources. See how they are enjoying themselves here holding expensive smartphones, something they have not be able to own back home.

Haiz.... whenn you see things.... see deeper.... if property crash, u still have money to own 2 or 3 property?? [;)][;)]

the usual me myself and I... same as Tim...

not only that.... you forget to add "my family".... I might be selfish but I do care about my family [laugh][laugh]

Honestly speaking, who will think that they are responsible for others??? Do you??

Ruling party needs true checks and balances provided by alternative parties. No matter how good a party has been, there's no guarantee things wont change for the worst when there's no checks and balances. The saying "absolute power corrupts" holds true. Better not give a blank cheque to any ruler. Recent events show things are not exactly right.

Yup, for that, I agree, in fact, dont get me wrong. Im not saying that PAP must rule the country forever, Otherwsie, SG will collapes.

Its okie for changes, but gradual 1... not something too drastic.

not only that.... you forget to add "my family".... I might be selfish but I do care about my family [laugh][laugh]

Honestly speaking, who will think that they are responsible for others??? Do you??

you are a different tiger from me. You shark I Woods.

You swim away, I chop wood make house. [laugh]

Yup, for that, I agree, in fact, dont get me wrong. Im not saying that PAP must rule the country forever, Otherwsie, SG will collapes.

Its okie for changes, but gradual 1... not something too drastic.

+1 [thumbsup]