Ungtiong 2nd Gear August 1, 2012 Share August 1, 2012 Maybe so. But you're the fool to think that the govt bothers whether you have a space to park or not. Try to think harder if you can identify other reasons? I will enjoy the day to see ERP at $150 so that the real rich can use the roads unimpeded. Hope to see you on the expressways then. I drove for many years liao and very seldom go pass erp...maybe less than 10 times the whole year....and many drivers out there also in same situation. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged August 1, 2012 Share August 1, 2012 .......... When cargo needs half a day to truck to airport, there will be no more businesses left in the country. ERP alone no use, unless each deduction at $100. err.....when did such a siong jam occur? half a day to travel from Jurong to Changi ( by PIE I presume ). Quite amusing though: Manufacturing kindom in the west and airport in the east.....sure lead to heavy usage of the humble PIE ( or ECP) lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear August 1, 2012 Share August 1, 2012 The Government shouldn't care if your dream car is GT-R or Ferrari, or more humble GTi. My dream home is a Mansion in centre of Orchard, should the Government satisfy my dream? They really only need to ensure, roads are smooth & in good condition, there is ample places to park the car, & people (include the inconviences) can get from one place to another safely, in reasonable comfort & without much delay or took to much time due to poor transport infrastucture, & affordable for all people. Everything else is secondary. Realistically, if you wanted to get your dream car, you should find ways to make more money, pray you strike TOTO, or consider move oversea. Even taking out high the cost of ownership, Sinagpore is still one of the worst place (in first world country) to enjoy driving. The only thing better than most places are security, & wide roads that are lighted brightly in the night, & thats about what I can think off. Maybe its safter as you can't drive off a cliff on a hill or Mountains or something, simply becasue you can't find a cliff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged August 1, 2012 Share August 1, 2012 I'm one of those suggesting coe to be scrapped. but don't say like I cannot afford a car le. Some ppl suggest to make things better, not for self benefit. Great to hear that you suggested COE to be scrapped not for self benefits...., so... may I ask. What is your intention of such recommendation?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragonfly1 1st Gear August 1, 2012 Share August 1, 2012 you are damn right! If you cant stand the heat get out of the kitchen! I plan to buy a porsche 911 turbo in UK at the price of M3 in singapore even though can only drive few weeks in a year! Than retired in london staying in chelsea with nice condo [ price of property here is scandalous!) The Government shouldn't care if your dream car is GT-R or Ferrari, or more humble GTi. My dream home is a Mansion in centre of Orchard, should the Government satisfy my dream? They really only need to ensure, roads are smooth & in good condition, there is ample places to park the car, & people (include the inconviences) can get from one place to another safely, in reasonable comfort & without much delay or took to much time due to poor transport infrastucture, & affordable for all people. Everything else is secondary. Realistically, if you wanted to get your dream car, you should find ways to make more money, pray you strike TOTO, or consider move oversea. Even taking out high the cost of ownership, Sinagpore is still one of the worst place (in first world country) to enjoy driving. The only thing better than most places are security, & wide roads that are lighted brightly in the night, & thats about what I can think off. Maybe its safter as you can't drive off a cliff on a hill or Mountains or something, simply becasue you can't find a cliff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched August 1, 2012 Share August 1, 2012 I suggest you ignore him lah...he is sucking you into his nonsensical posts.... Yah agree. His nick sounds like kentut (fart, in malay). These type of people are really the marginal owners toking big in MCF ... the sandwiched class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear August 1, 2012 Share August 1, 2012 Great to hear that you suggested COE to be scrapped not for self benefits...., so... may I ask. What is your intention of such recommendation?? Simple. Implement policies for which the results are intended for. No beating around the bush. Declared aim, to make roads less congested. And gundoos like Timbuktu will sweat when COEs hits $100. I want to see if he really is the elite. I'm not sweating the ERPs, whatever the charges. Come on LTY, put gantries everywhere and scrap the COE. Make it cheap to own cars but pay to use the roads. As a declared entity who is willing to do what it takes, LTA sure is procrastinating. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear August 1, 2012 Share August 1, 2012 i think the govt should scrap COE in favour of high road taxes instead. buy a car at 40k, get yourself a solid good car maybe a high end bmw or a volvo but pay 6k per year in road tax then go ahead and drive your car for 20, 30 years cars were not made to last only 10 years, a 10 yr old car is not old! so why kill the environment by forcing us to scrap cars that are running perfectly fine? a malaysian car can drive in sg for $20 a day, if we made COE 20x365 its 7.3k per year with this scheme we can buy cars from malaysia and register them in singapore, this will bring competitiveness to the car market in sg plus unpopular brands from china or proton can reach a greater market by having a showroom in JB Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear August 1, 2012 Share August 1, 2012 (edited) adding on, people can borrow money from the banks to pay off roadtax - naturally banks will charge maybe 10% to lend you the cash so the banks will benefit from such a scheme - the govt will not lose a single cent either, 6k road tax = 60k COE which is around current market prices - sgporeans can buy BMWs at 60k and drive that same high end conti for 20 years, you save on the cost price of the car in the long run - insurance claims will not sky-rocket, there won't be 100k honda fits that require 80k to repair; the car can be replaced for 40k everybody benefits! people who have cars with COEs can keep their cars and retain the current road tax scheme the new road tax scheme can be subjected to yearly review. if the roads are congested, simply raise the road tax car prices will not raise and fall like stock markets too with this scheme! so yes, i am of the believe that the COE system is outdated and should be abolished! Edited August 1, 2012 by Expertz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear August 1, 2012 Share August 1, 2012 Yah agree. His nick sounds like kentut (fart, in malay). These type of people are really the marginal owners toking big in MCF ... the sandwiched class. Just to sidetrack a bit on a lesson I learnt at the olayground long time ago: Those guys will curse father mother and call you all sorts of names and try to belittle you and family when their bullying and intimidation does not work. They will on occasions try to elevate themselves to look good so that they can influence the other kids against you. Some continue to adult life Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged August 1, 2012 Share August 1, 2012 (edited) Simple. Implement policies for which the results are intended for. No beating around the bush. Declared aim, to make roads less congested. And gundoos like Timbuktu will sweat when COEs hits $100. I want to see if he really is the elite. I'm not sweating the ERPs, whatever the charges. Come on LTY, put gantries everywhere and scrap the COE. Make it cheap to own cars but pay to use the roads. As a declared entity who is willing to do what it takes, LTA sure is procrastinating. Great! ur suggestion make sense but not something new... you can rest assure that this will raise another complain over the ERP rise, and don't forget, when the COE is so affordable. Not only we have people complain about how congested the road is... even carpark availability is another problem. The Gov can be making a decision to solve 1 problem and create another... What Im saying is not base on what I think... its base on what actually happened. Look at what happen in 2006 to 2010. In MCF alone, how many topic raised to complain the gov for releasing COE that it is so affordable for everyone. You may want to do a search to find out. That is why in the 1st place. I suggest the Gov forget abt plp making noise and do whatever deem to be good for the country, the plp and the nation. Edited August 1, 2012 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 adding on, people can borrow money from the banks to pay off roadtax - naturally banks will charge maybe 10% to lend you the cash so the banks will benefit from such a scheme - the govt will not lose a single cent either, 6k road tax = 60k COE which is around current market prices - sgporeans can buy BMWs at 60k and drive that same high end conti for 20 years, you save on the cost price of the car in the long run - insurance claims will not sky-rocket, there won't be 100k honda fits that require 80k to repair; the car can be replaced for 40k everybody benefits! people who have cars with COEs can keep their cars and retain the current road tax scheme the new road tax scheme can be subjected to yearly review. if the roads are congested, simply raise the road tax car prices will not raise and fall like stock markets too with this scheme! so yes, i am of the believe that the COE system is outdated and should be abolished! I think you (like many here) are missing one fundamental understanding of COE. The $60K is not a fixed price decided by the govt. It is the COE QUOTA that is controlled and the resulting "price" of the COE is via tender (i.e. COE exercise). Mind you, Cat A is now almost $70k. In a few weeks time we are looking at maybe $80K. So if we follow your suggestion of increasing road tax to $60k, how will that control car population? Yes, it may dissuade a few who not able or not willing to fork out $6k annual road tax but there is no fixed limit to the number of cars sold, i.e. anyone willing to pay this road tax can buy car. The most important element of COE is the COE itself is limited to fixed number every month. THAT is the thing that reduces the vehicle population, not whether the COE PQP is $10k, $50k, or 100k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Princey_anne 1st Gear August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 Basically the author is complaining because: For me for example, I drive a seven-year-old Mitsubishi Lancer which happens to be my first car. I will drive it to the end of its COE life and at that point in time, then decide if I can afford to maintain a car in Singapore. If vehicle ownership costs (including maintenance) get too high, I will have to turn to public transport. She cannot afford to change her car and might be put off the road in three years time. This means coe system is working fine. COE is to put the marginal drivers off the road. If one really needs a car, can just scrimp and save. Like Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ungtiong 2nd Gear August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 i think everybody is misunderstood the true purpose of COE and ERP. The problems faced by gov are 1) road jams 2) car parks 3) need to reduce pollution 4) Going Green (global pressure) The only way to 'solve' all the problems above is by reducing the number of cars by pricing them out of normal range. Singapore has a unique system that will allow the introduction of hybird cars are a much cheaper price than normal cars by manipulating the COE. Imagine if the new hybrid cars all have COE of less than 50%. more than enough to cover the increased cost of the car itself, almost everybody will jump the gun to buy a hybrid car. Coupled by the fact that we cannot speed in singapore anyway (speed as in going 150km/hr for long distances)..SG can be the first country to achieve majority hybrid cars...the first true green country (new building are all compulsory green mark liao...even our power stations are "forced" to go "green"). Singapore also have less political pressures from the oil companies and our market is too low for them to care. Of course they cannot 'share' this plan with us. The other problems carparks is also very serious for the gov. building car parks need valuable land and the car park revenues are nowhere near the hundreds of millions they can get from land sales. Its simply a bad business to built car parks. The increase in COE is never meant to solve the jam issue and it will not solve the issue. Its like saying Orchard Road is crowded and the Gov reduce the population in Singapore hoping to reduce the crowd in Orchard Road. its a crap shot and the key word is 'hope'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nav14 6th Gear August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 Great! ur suggestion make sense but not something new... you can rest assure that this will raise another complain over the ERP rise, and don't forget, when the COE is so affordable. Not only we have people complain about how congested the road is... even carpark availability is another problem. The Gov can be making a decision to solve 1 problem and create another... What Im saying is not base on what I think... its base on what actually happened. Look at what happen in 2006 to 2010. In MCF alone, how many topic raised to complain the gov for releasing COE that it is so affordable for everyone. You may want to do a search to find out. That is why in the 1st place. I suggest the Gov forget abt plp making noise and do whatever deem to be good for the country, the plp and the nation. With this system of extending the ERP and making driving expensive, the COEs need not be dirt cheap. Stick to the 1.5% growth in car population target Ideal will be 30-40k COEs w while ERP to CBD at major congestd roads for eg will be around $30 per entry. It will do the job of meeting middle class needs while controlling congestion without any political repurcussions for PAP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkseed73 Clutched August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 Basically the author is complaining because: For me for example, I drive a seven-year-old Mitsubishi Lancer which happens to be my first car. I will drive it to the end of its COE life and at that point in time, then decide if I can afford to maintain a car in Singapore. If vehicle ownership costs (including maintenance) get too high, I will have to turn to public transport. She cannot afford to change her car and might be put off the road in three years time. This means coe system is working fine. COE is to put the marginal drivers off the road. If one really needs a car, can just scrimp and save. *Thumbs Up* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 (edited) Great! ur suggestion make sense but not something new... you can rest assure that this will raise another complain over the ERP rise, and don't forget, when the COE is so affordable. Not only we have people complain about how congested the road is... even carpark availability is another problem. The Gov can be making a decision to solve 1 problem and create another... What Im saying is not base on what I think... its base on what actually happened. Look at what happen in 2006 to 2010. In MCF alone, how many topic raised to complain the gov for releasing COE that it is so affordable for everyone. You may want to do a search to find out. That is why in the 1st place. I suggest the Gov forget abt plp making noise and do whatever deem to be good for the country, the plp and the nation. But their performance hasn't been that great when citizens do not contribute ideas, no? COEs are really a blunt tool when it comes to maximising road usage. I feel the ERP would do a better job of it while satisfying the urge for car ownership. GCT got it partially right when he approved the weekend car scheme. Of course there are collateral issues of parking and such but that will resolve itself and reach saturation/equilibrium once owners realise that paying through the nose for ERP just does not justify the need for owning a car. Many will then sell their rides after KPKB against the govt. The rich will however you look at it, have the upper hand in car ownership n road use. On the political front, they just have to get the numbers (ERP charges) right to hit that sweet spot where enough of the population will continue to vote for them. The way to manage the issue is to set an objective and stick to the policy. Keyword the is 'an'. A singular/one/uno/ultimate objective. Too many managers (LTA, in this case) confuse themselves by putting in other objectives to ride on, hoping one policy will hit many objective. Its doomed to fail. One policy for one objective only. Don't fudge it. Create another one to meet another. But alas I know that it is a political situation. By making it political, they will never meet any objective. Edited August 2, 2012 by Gendut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 With this system of extending the ERP and making driving expensive, the COEs need not be dirt cheap. Stick to the 1.5% growth in car population target Ideal will be 30-40k COEs w while ERP to CBD at major congestd roads for eg will be around $30 per entry. It will do the job of meeting middle class needs while controlling congestion without any political repurcussions for PAP. The system should be changed to make it very painful to buy AND use a car. COE quotas should be cut further to negative growth - to attain pre-2000 car population. ERP charges should be raised many times over, extend ERP times, expand CBD fringe and switch to the GPS-tracking system to avert spending taxpayers' money to build more gantries. With GPS-tracking, LTA will achieve island-wide coverage and can implement targeted and selective usage charges based on area/district and directionality. For example: charge vehicles traveling from East to West between 7am-11am and then again from West to East between 5pm-9pm, very stiffly and painfully. To curtail those who buy cars only to park them at home, allocate a max total number of cars allowed based on dwelling type. Non-strata Title: - bungalows >4,000 sqft: no limit - semi-Ds >3,000 sqft: 3 max - other landed <3,000 sqft: 2 max Stata Title: - town houses: 2 max - condo/apartments: 1 max - HDB & others: 1 max ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...