Why COE system is outdated??

HP_Lee

Aiya sg garment is clever .. They do calculation well ... How to hike Coe when most car are reaching its age ..Singaporean really nv think the sudden drop of Coe around 08 smell fishy meh ..n I really sick of ppl saying if u think u can afford u buy lo if u can't u Lan lan lo..why let garment earn .. Coe system is just a pool for them .. There is lots of way to control car ..without any thinking we r just renting the car n helping them to own a car..after 10year rent again or scrap lo..n scrapping it garment also don't return u single cent n we already paid tax for it ..they srsly should remove the coe system but remain the bid ..every year releasing 9999 or 19998 ...those who own a car already will be harder to bid unless u have already sell off ur car n ur name is clear ..n car will follow flat too if u are staying in oneroof getting a 2nd car will be hard too unless u have prove or whatever u need 2 car(cat A will apply to this rule) ..n for those rich it will be other case .. Like cat A for mid income cat B for those rich n rule will be different maybe just 500bid ..Singaporean should work hard think hard n work together .. Not some bystander waiting to be chain by the garment ..

It is just an idea if u don't like it or what so ever .. I am sorry u may skip my post :)

Edited by Slayerblah

Get all the ministers to take public transport,give up their luxuary cars and drivers then the citizen will consider giving up driving..dont u think its fair when we give up our cars yet we Pay And Pay so they can have high salaries,high bouuses n everything either subsidise or paid for?? So do we work to Support THEM or Support our loved ones???

Too bad the policy here support the rich only. If you have the money you are able to get what you want.

Current framework where LTA emphasise COE as the primary control for road usage apparently is not working.

The ERP system on the other hand is not being rolled out fully as promised, to regulate road use. This is where the failure arises from. Its a political hot potato to first install gantries, and later make regular ERP charges hike.

Seems they are NOT willing to make the hard decisions, far from what they've claimed all these while.

Please LTY, abolish the COE but by all means, make ERP work to rein in car usage. Everybody can own a car affordably. No more 131% import duties. No more bidding for COEs.

Its their choice whether they want to pay to use it on the roads.

Its not so difficult, is it LTY? Its not difficult when you're not the least concerned about the next election.

Let me tell you if they really loosen up COE and increase ERP, it would have to be increased jia lat jia lat (many more places and much higher) to be effective, there will be many who will complains from the usual bunch of cynics that will say:

1) govt right hand give (cheap or even no COE) and left hand take back (ERP increase 10x)

2) what is the use if can own cars but can't afford to use

Don't get me wrong. In principle i definitely support lower COE and higer ERP to kerb usage of cars. I have always said that it is not ownership per se that causes road congestion but rather the use of it. But i am just saying that whatever govt do, the ppl will just keep on complaining.

Edited by Kar_lover

COE anyway which way, won't be satisfactory to some if not all.

Not when the infrastructures (in this case road or general transport) can't match the population demands.

e.g we do not have jam in 70-80s prior to COE era.

i believe it is time for massive work for doubling up capacity of at least of PIE and CTE.

That's imho should all the COE monies go to.

Bottom line is everyone seems to want either (or both) of the following 2 things:

1. Lesser road congestion

2. Cheaper car ownership

Bearing in mind unless we are in a 3rd world country these 2 outcomes are unlikely to coexist. As our population grows, our transportation system will be taxed and most likely case is we can only remove 1 of the above issues.

Edited by Kiwi

Bottom line is everyone seems to want either (or both) of the following 2 things:

1. Lesser road congestion

2. Cheaper car ownership

Bearing in mind unless we are in a 3rd world country these 2 outcomes are unlikely to coexist. As our population grows, our transportation system will be taxed and most likely case is we can only remove 1 of the above issue.

For those more reasonable people, i think most of us accept that COE is a necessity. The problem is that the COE levels are being inflated due to certain things such as Taxis being in Cat A (since been removed), dealers being allowed to bid for COE on buyer behalf (they factor in the COE with some buffer and charge it to customer so in a way they could be profiteering from COE) and lastly, paying of minimum succesful COE bid amount instead of pay what you bid (resulting in big dealers being "saved" by small dealers).

For dealers bidding for customers i think it is ok - just needs to be tweaked. Cars should be listed without COE. Then buyer will tell dealer what is the maximum he wants to bid. On bidding day, dealer will bid up to this maximum. This will remove the COE component from the car price and the dealer is then truly bidding in proxy of the buyer.

As for pay what you bid, well a lot has been said and need not be said anymore, pretty obvious.

I do not consider those things like balloting for COE or COE allocated based on needs or income group as realistic gripes. Because cars, at the end of the day, is not a necessity. It's like saying URA/MND must come out with a rule that all condos must set aside 10% of the units for those who can't afford to buy condo. Then these 10 units will be sold at much cheaper price (maybe based on HDB new 4 room or 5 room flat) and ballot will then be conducted. The implication of course is that the opther 90% of units will be subsidising the 10% thereby achieving a more more level distribution of income.

I really think that COE is outdated now despite China is using it now. No matter how it is tweak, it will be unfair.

Scrap COE.

Install ERP gantry on all major roads. Once rolling 3 mths average speed slower more than 10km/h, ERP kicks in from $10 onwards.

< 10km/h: $0

11 - 20km/h: $10

21 - 30km/h: $20

31 - 40km/h: $30

41 - 50km/h: $40

> 50km/h: $50

Bus is free. Lorry pays 1 quarter of car ERP.

Nvr ask driver to speed hor. Juz drive within speed limit.

If got accident, hor say leow. Whole mth maybe empty road cause next few mths ERP could be $20 - $30.

Low COE, means more people will be able to own cars. Some may even own dream cars like 86 n GTR.

High ERP will control the jams and ownership costs.

I rather pay low Coe and high ERP, because I will be able to own a nicer car!

Although the traffic jams and the overall costs may be the same.

I'm one of those suggesting coe to be scrapped. but don't say like I cannot afford a car le.

Some ppl suggest to make things better, not for self benefit.

The best suggestion is still what Goh Chok Tong proposed and which I wonder why got scrapped. Make it easy to own cars but expensive to drive . Psychologically it will make make people happy to own a car and drive sparingly or during off peak hours then not being able to own a car at all and slowly and steadily seeing all the bread & butter cars replaced by luxury cars. If COE remains very high in another 4-5 years time when most cars are due to scrap and present owners are unable to afford new cars then good luck to PAP.

COE should b paid based on incone wen buying a car..high pay=big car=higher COE..tis system should b fair so its purely based on affordability..

Now the COE system is shared by locals and foreigners/PRs. Dun know what is the percentage share like, but I believe with the previous in-flux could have caused certain level of impact to the price. More could be done to fine-tune the COE system together with capping number of cars to each family. I am still a believer of COE system in place to regulate the population growth. Without this, today the traffic condition could be on par with Bangkok. [rolleyes]

irony is

- the jams are caused by the working class drivers, business vans/trucks and lorries.

The BEST solution is

1) 10-20x increase in ERP and

2) allocated COE for dealers with a minimal cost (say $500). Those dealers that cannot use their allocated COE will receive less allocation the next month....OR a less dramatic change ..

3) Dealers pay 1/2 or a portion of the COE..can bid up to $120k, dealer have to pay 60K (if they pay 1/2) out of their own pockets. This way they will not wayang anyhow bid. Now the cost is pass thru to the buyer so they dont care.

This way, gov still control number of cars AND they earn more $$ from ERP.

ROOT CAUSE of high traffic = many people jam into 'popular' routes. A few roads will be super jammed, especially those areas with a smaller network of roads.

ROOT CAUSE of high cost = Kiasu dealers with 'guarantee' COEs sure bid high high to guarantee sales. COE is pass thru anyway.

Low COE, means more people will be able to own cars. Some may even own dream cars like 86 n GTR.

High ERP will control the jams and ownership costs.

I rather pay low Coe and high ERP, because I will be able to own a nicer car!

Although the traffic jams and the overall costs may be the same.

Never knew that. Thanks. Learn something new. [thumbsup]

Edited by Sabian

Please LTY, abolish the COE but by all means, make ERP work to rein in car usage. Everybody can own a car affordably. No more 131% import duties. No more bidding for COEs.

Its their choice whether they want to pay to use it on the roads.

You're not very clever are you?

If COE is abolished, car prices will immediately drop by $60-90K.

Then every Tom, Dick & Harry family will want to buy a car, or a few cars, but not necessarily drive them daily, due to very high ERP charges.

Then they all park where?

As it is, HDB and private estate car parks are always full.

There will be fist fights just to buy season parking.

The best suggestion is still what Goh Chok Tong proposed and which I wonder why got scrapped. Make it easy to own cars but expensive to drive . Psychologically it will make make people happy to own a car and drive sparingly or during off peak hours then not being able to own a car at all and slowly and steadily seeing all the bread & butter cars replaced by luxury cars. If COE remains very high in another 4-5 years time when most cars are due to scrap and present owners are unable to afford new cars then good luck to PAP.

That idea was dropped because the govt realized the insufficiency of parking spaces and it would be counter productive to build even more MSCPs, when it runs against the grain of URA's long-term strategy to reduce the number of car parks in the city considerably.

As it is, Raffles Place workers just lost one huge MSCP at Robinson Road.

Many are faced with stiff increase of season parking elsewhere, or can't even secure one.

Many have opted to take public transport to work.

There is no point driving to work, when you don't even have a place to park!