Why COE system is outdated??

HP_Lee

ya right..policy to suck our money dry..and damn it..u are a lee too..i better diam diam [dizzy]

Yaa.. But what can we do? This is the policy. [cool]

Current framework where LTA emphasise COE as the primary control for road usage apparently is not working.

The ERP system on the other hand is not being rolled out fully as promised, to regulate road use. This is where the failure arises from. Its a political hot potato to first install gantries, and later make regular ERP charges hike.

Seems they are NOT willing to make the hard decisions, far from what they've claimed all these while.

Please LTY, abolish the COE but by all means, make ERP work to rein in car usage. Everybody can own a car affordably. No more 131% import duties. No more bidding for COEs.

Its their choice whether they want to pay to use it on the roads.

Its not so difficult, is it LTY? Its not difficult when you're not the least concerned about the next election.

Keep COE. Don't let there be too many cars to cripple our transport. When cargo needs half a day to truck to airport, there will be no more businesses left in the country.

ERP alone no use, unless each deduction at $100.

Make ERP works for criss sake!

Impose higher ERP fees and install more gantries!

I also feel The authority is half-baked on the ERP implementation. No guts to charge high to really control traffic flow!

Some reviews should be taken into considerations..... What is your view ?

COE Outdated??

I know the author is also a member here. Maybe she's keeping an eye on this thread. [:p]

My say is the objectives of both car owners and the authorities are very different. A lot of money is spent on public transport, they want ppl to take public transport, they do not want you to buy a car. I know public transport has so far been proven unreliable and time consuming nevertheless they pump in more money to try to make their plan work, that is for the masses to take public transport.

The irony is many ppl wants to own a car. I know ppl feel shiok driving coz of the freedom it gives hence ppl will come up with suggestions which will favour them. In other words biased suggestions.

Now you see both parties have a different...let's call it objective. The authorities they want you and me to take public transport, the masses wants to come up with whatever excuse to get their hands on a car. It's very conflicting and they will never see eye to eye.

In my opinion(pls dun flame me), the authorities can't be bothered with what you & I think as long as their objective is to put you off to own a car. If you are put off means that their plan is working.....the hard truth hurts.

They can tweak here tweak there, put on a show as if they are trying to help but who are we kidding anyway? :D

My say is the objectives of both car owners and the authorities are very different. A lot of money is spent on public transport, they want ppl to take public transport, they do not want you to buy a car. I know public transport has so far been proven unreliable and time consuming nevertheless they pump in more money to try to make their plan work, that is for the masses to take public transport.

IF the public transport system is run by the govt and is non-profit... then yes, the govt should have high priced COE and ERP in order to divert more pple to public transport... but no.. public transport operators are profit-minded, their bottomline is more important than meeting the KPIs.. and how are the KPIs being set? Does LTA do it alone for the good of the passengers? Or do they consult the operators to work out something that works for the operators?

I hope the Gov could wake up their mind..... No matter what they do, they will still get the complain. The complain is not because the system, its the 1 that manage the system that the people is not happy with... This is happening all these while, where it happen in coffeeshop last time and its in the cyberworld now...

When COE is cheap, plp complain, anyone can afford to buy a car and jam up the road... So the Gov restricting the amount of COE release and make the COE more expensive...

When COE is expensive, plp complain again, claiming the the COE system is sucks, and its simply a favoutism to the rich n blaa... blaaa.... blaaa...

When Gov try to further improve the COE system that many recomended.... eg taking taxi out from cat A.... plp complain again, cause its gg to jack up the price of Cat E & Cat B....

Now?? Some suggest COE to be totally scrap, the others recomended balloting system.... obviously, these are the group of plp that cannot afford to own a car and suggested some idiotic recommendation and hopefully, they could benefit from it and did not think of the consequences. of course, there are some ideas that make sense, eg impose taxes for those who owned more than 1 car. But enforcement of such policy is hard as many could register the 2nd or even 3rd cars under a 3rd party name (eg parents/ spouse/ sliblings) And as usual, if the Gov were to listen to such idea, they will be in hot soup again..

In the end of the day, the Gov will have 2 choice... do whatever they think its right for the country, the nation and for its people and ignore what plp says (this is what they do all this while and Singapore have been doing not too bad using such model) or alternatively, let the oposition take over. Then, the plp will feel the differents and undestand what is a need and what is fantasy...

I hope the Gov could wake up their mind..... No matter what they do, they will still get the complain. The complain is not because the system, its the 1 that manage the system that the people is not happy with... This is happening all these while, where it happen in coffeeshop last time and its in the cyberworld now...

When COE is cheap, plp complain, anyone can afford to buy a car and jam up the road... So the Gov restricting the amount of COE release and make the COE more expensive...

When COE is expensive, plp complain again, claiming the the COE system is sucks, and its simply a favoutism to the rich n blaa... blaaa.... blaaa...

When Gov try to further improve the COE system that many recomended.... eg taking taxi out from cat A.... plp complain again, cause its gg to jack up the price of Cat E & Cat B....

Now?? Some suggest COE to be totally scrap, the others recomended balloting system.... obviously, these are the group of plp that cannot afford to own a car and suggested some idiotic recommendation and hopefully, they could benefit from it and did not think of the consequences. of course, there are some ideas that make sense, eg impose taxes for those who owned more than 1 car. But enforcement of such policy is hard as many could register the 2nd or even 3rd cars under a 3rd party name (eg parents/ spouse/ sliblings) And as usual, if the Gov were to listen to such idea, they will be in hot soup again..

In the end of the day, the Gov will have 2 choice... do whatever they think its right for the country, the nation and for its people and ignore what plp says (this is what they do all this while and Singapore have been doing not too bad using such model) or alternatively, let the oposition take over. Then, the plp will feel the differents and undestand what is a need and what is fantasy...

I'm one of those suggesting coe to be scrapped. but don't say like I cannot afford a car le.

Some ppl suggest to make things better, not for self benefit.

COE should b paid based on incone wen buying a car..high pay=big car=higher COE..tis system should b fair so its purely based on affordability..

COE is juz also another reason for them to rob our $..soon inflation will rise,economy unstable,people jobless,business close,Foriegn Talen take out all their $ n go back so end of d day the who will suffer?? Rich will b very rich n middle n lower income will b suffering eg like our neighbour I*******a..so r THEY waiting 4 tis 2 happen??

Do THEY know how many middle n low income Citizen are suffering?? Do they know that in times of crisis who will really stay n who will run away?? Do THEY care anymore for their native Citizens whos grandparents gave up their lives so we can live today?? Do we keep quiet just because we love to be treated this way by THEM or are we purely afraid to express our sufferings n sorrows or do THEY just dont care about us anymore?? Pls we r suffering in every single way even to meet ends need..

Edited by Moadia

so how bout me? i need run several projects yet dont have director's pay? take public tpt?

later i say scrap coe, household based car ownership etc. kena gunned down...

though i support 30% dp & 70% loan max 7 yrs.

btw, coe rise n fall too predictable nowadays that i felt it just wayang e.g. when say cut quota next round shoot up, then stabilise + or - dat few k make u shiok or kan chiong abit, then announce some news, then follow news to go up or down again. whoever running the scheme try harder pls.

Edited by Fuelsaver

COE is cash cow for the govnt. Full stop.

+1.

Any scheme that can generate multi million $ at virtually no cost cannot be said to be irrelevant or outdated. ....... At least not until an even better scheme comes about to supersede it.

Edited by Juzzme

Do THEY know how many middle n low income Citizen are suffering?? Do they know that in times of crisis who will really stay n who will run away?? Do THEY care anymore for their native Citizens whos grandparents gave up their lives so we can live today?? Do we keep quiet just because we love to be treated this way by THEM or are we purely afraid to express our sufferings n sorrows or do THEY just dont care about us anymore?? Pls we r suffering in every single way even to meet ends need..

yeah i m (suffering)...

this country tryin hard to make me whole life in debt, while i tryin not to...

Edited by Fuelsaver

The most important thing is, COE helps to reap in lotsa of $$$, easy $$$. It does not matter whether it's outdated or in fashion.