Insurance - is this normal???

Imamiah

Ok I was hit by a bike at the rear also claim own insurance and they will claim back my excess n the damages as promise. I believe it is because I got back to agent.

See if you got loading when you renew your premium...after you get your NCD back.

Once you go back to agent, you would have to claim OD. Last time Honda use to do 3rd party claim for customer via a 3rd party. The repairs is done by Kah Motor but the claim you have to file at another workshop...but I think they stop it cos they dun make from it and maybe gave them some issues.

Ts u should hv claim directly on third party claim not on ur own . The workshop should hv done so. This 'll b the normal procedure. If you wanna change a co for renewal, u should call the existing co to ask what's the ncd they renewing u at before getting quotes from others. Fyi if u buy ncd protector , in event of own claim , ur ncd 'll be protected at 50% only if u remain renewal with the same co only.

As for third party claim u can go any workshop of ur choice. For own claim u hv to go authorised workshop in ur policy unless u purchased policy with any workshop benefit.

Edited by Dezouk

A couple of years ago, my car was hit behind by a taxi on CTE, in a chain collision.

I sent to my insurance authorized workshop.

Insurance also came down to assess damage.

Workshop do all the repair and paper work and claim taxi insurance 100%.

I didn't pay a cent. NCD still 50% upon renewal.

Oh..it's the cheap insurance DA. :D

haha.. i like your closing sentence... duno why people always condemn this "cheapo" and "low-class" insurer. to me, they really good man... i had an accident (too long to relate here) and to it was resolved very well and quickly well beyond my satisfaction.

The workshop shouldn't have asked you to pay the access in the first place! What kind of logic is that. You're not the one at fault here, so they should claim the full repair cost from the other party's insureres. I bought my policy from posb when I first got my car and also had a similar accident. I informed them when kena the accident but all claims were made on the other party. That way i protected my NCD. Take a look at their motor insurance singapore faq page, should be able to get more answers there. But it sounds like to me, you would have to pay the higher premium first then claim rebate later. Damn suay lah.

actually... if the guy knocked u from the back... no need tcss already... get ur workshop to claim from the guy behind... no need touch ur own insurance... they are doing it that way cos... u r claiming against ur own insurance first... while waiting for them to claim and collect the claim... which takes time... which basically means... u are taking over the waiting time and not them.

This is so strange. Why do they claim on you when you said the lorry hit you from behind? i do know from friends some cases where workshop is not confident of claiming against the other party hence do a self claim first prior to re-instating your payment and NCD.

1. Side collision

2. Other party under influence of alcohol

3. Your insurance not comprehensive

4. Other party has questionable insurance (eg. no valid insurance, deny the accident, etc)

I suggestion you do a proper check. If none of the above, then there should be no reason for you to pay a single cent! workshop will handle everything for you, including giving you a replacement car-charge to the lorry insurance.

Hello Jaglim,

Pls note that for victims of accidents where the offending driver is driving under influence of drugs/ alcohol, please call the police down immediately to bolster your claim. The fact that U cannot claim for 3rd party damages is mistaken, wrong and shouldn't be perpetuated- the following case should prove instructive:

For the avoidance of doubt regarding the respective liabilities (immediate vs.eventual) ('offending driver' vs his insurer) towards compensating victims (3rd party), the following case example remains instructive.

Victim wins civil suit against Ionescu

Mr Bong has sought more than $630k in damages. The default judgment was given to Ionescu, but the amount of damages to be paid will be decided later. -TNP

Sat, Aug 21, 2010; The New Paper

Exclusion clause

If a driver is convicted or pleads guilty to drink driving, the insurer's exclusion clause kicks in and the insurer can disclaim liability, he said.

But as laid out in the affidavit, even though NTUC Income is "no longer contractually bound to indemnify" Ionescu, the insurer is still required by law to pay Mr Bong first.

It will then recover the amount from Ionescu.

This is also a standard procedure in road accidents where the driver is intoxicated, said Mr K Anparasan, 42, partner at law firm KhattarWong.

He explained: "Even if the driver is under the influence of drugs or alcohol, the insurer is required to pay the victim of the accident.

"The whole idea is to make sure the victim is not left uncompensated. The insurer reserves the right to go after the driver to recover that amount."

Mr Ken Loh, 43, managing director of insurance agency M Plus Consultancy, added: "The law is made to protect the innocent, so that the accident victims do not suffer loss without redress. If no one pays their bills, then public interest is hurt."

Victim wins civil suit against Ionescu

=====

Rest of the details pls see (or ask your MP/ lawyer to explain):

'Motor Vehicles (Third-Party Risks and Compensation) Act (CHAPTER 189)'.

Edited by Bic_cherry

Hi bros,

I am facing this scenaio. Anyone come across this before? Is this normal?

cenario -

A lorry bang me from behind. I went to workshop. Workshop repair my ride. Ask me to pay access. Then they do 'own claim' followed by claiming against the lorry's insurer.

My insurance renewal is coming up. My insurance said that my NCD drop from 50% to 20%. I would have to pay a higher premium 1st. Then after they successfully claim against the other insurer, they will revert my NCD to 50% and pay me back the additional amount that I paid.

My questions -

Is this the normal way of processing? I had never done a claim in 12 years of driving.

If I don't renew and go to a new insurer, I would lugi right? Coz the new insurer can revert my NCD to 50% meh?

Can anyone help me out here? Cheers~~ [thumbsup]

Hi Imamiah, from my understanding (at least for NTUC motor policy and the fact that all motor insurers share common data base in SG)- U should PERSONALLY report the incident to your insurer and NOT let the workshop do the reporting for you since I understand that a standard form is used and you are liable for any false declarations made since it is your signature at the bottom of the form.

Also NTUC (and I believe likewise other insurers) have a compulsory 24hrs/ next working day reporting period to which U MUST abide regardless of culpability- otherwise U can be penalized with a NCB cut (just for non/ late reporting). U should have liaised such details with your insurer rather than depending on your workshop for details/ advice.

As such, you would have no-one else to fault but yourself for not abiding to the official motor claims framework in place in Singapore. The purpose of the motor claims framework as I understand is to achieve timely reporting so that participants in any motor accident do not seek to distort any facts and so that all accidents can be attended to in a transparent and expeditious manner.

Any appeals regarding insurance matters can also be sought via: The Financial Industry Disputes Resolution Centre Ltd.

Rgds

B.C.

hi,

i will be outstation for 6 mths and the car will not be used at all. can anyone advise me:

- can i don't renew my car insurance and roadtax since the car will not be used?

- can i defer the monthly instalment until i return to singapore?

thanks!

hi,

i will be outstation for 6 mths and the car will not be used at all. can anyone advise me:

- can i don't renew my car insurance and roadtax since the car will not be used?

thanks!

1. http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem..._a_vehicle.html

2. if you lay up the vehicle and hide the car well, then no need to pay monthly installment so long as the repo man doesn't find it.

hi,

thanks!

- You can lapse your insurance, but your road tax will suffer a penalty for late renewal when you get back and you will still need to pay for the unused period (back dated)

- This is between you and the bank, by not paying, you are in effect defaulting. Even if you hide the car and the repo man does not find it, your credit rating will be condemned and you will be made to pay significant late charges.

See if you got loading when you renew your premium...after you get your NCD back.

Once you go back to agent, you would have to claim OD. Last time Honda use to do 3rd party claim for customer via a 3rd party. The repairs is done by Kah Motor but the claim you have to file at another workshop...but I think they stop it cos they dun make from it and maybe gave them some issues.

SM motor is like that and anyway I received a letter from TP stating that the rider committed an offence for dangerous riding warning will be given. I have given it to the insurance lawyer.

hi,

thanks!

You can apply for your car to be laid up...no need to pay for road tax and insurance.

But installment must still pay. If not you will find your car begin auction off when you return.

You can apply for your car to be laid up...no need to pay for road tax and insurance.

But installment must still pay. If not you will find your car begin auction off when you return.

But, think if your vehicle is laid up before, you will loose your PARF value immediately, i.e. you get back nothing at the end of 10 years. OK only if your car is COE car.

Ya...forgotten to include that...well depend on owner worth it or not lor...who knows...maybe installment a few K a month leh...hahahahaha...

But I would not laid up my car...I rather pay the installment...then ask family member to drive lor...they just need to pay for the petrol.