Ahrex Clutched July 31, 2012 Share July 31, 2012 Hi all gurus, my car is running stock system now.. only change the HU to a Pioneer bought at Mustafa.. cannot rmb the model.. I was at a car audio shop yesterday and i enquired about basic ICE systems.. The guy told me its $380 for Lightning and $445 for Hertz.. They include 2x speakers, 2x tweeters, cables and installation. I wanna ask if it is reasonable price and are there any cheaper alternatives because i am not looking to spen too much on ice. Actually what i want is very simple la.. juz a upgrade from my stock is ok liao.. haha.. i am an easily statisfied person.. not looking to add a subwoofer cos boot space not much.. maybe will add a amp.. how much will a amp cost by the way? can put 2nd hand ones? appreciate all gurus advice on this as really noob on this.. thanks!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged July 31, 2012 Share July 31, 2012 hi, i'm no guru but done smthg to my ice for last 1yr+. you may wanna install an active sub first, since low end might most probably be lacking in most stock speakers, and u r "easily" satisfied (i've one on sale; do search for "active subwoofer" if u wish to). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear July 31, 2012 Share July 31, 2012 Hi all gurus, my car is running stock system now.. only change the HU to a Pioneer bought at Mustafa.. cannot rmb the model.. I was at a car audio shop yesterday and i enquired about basic ICE systems.. The guy told me its $380 for Lightning and $445 for Hertz.. They include 2x speakers, 2x tweeters, cables and installation. I wanna ask if it is reasonable price and are there any cheaper alternatives because i am not looking to spen too much on ice. Actually what i want is very simple la.. juz a upgrade from my stock is ok liao.. haha.. i am an easily statisfied person.. not looking to add a subwoofer cos boot space not much.. maybe will add a amp.. how much will a amp cost by the way? can put 2nd hand ones? appreciate all gurus advice on this as really noob on this.. thanks!! a 2nd hand 2channel Rockford Prime amp will cost you less than $400.. pricing reasonable or not depends on how they service you.. eg. Shop A can quote $500 to supply and install.. Shop B can quote $400 supply and install.. most people will go to B because it is cheap... BUT, what happens if there is a need to troubleshoot? will B entertain you?? important is you comfortable with the shop or not.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AlanZ Neutral Newbie July 31, 2012 Share July 31, 2012 ICE dun be tempted too easily. Read about the pricing, model, service, workmanship of the installer. To me all matters. How much an amp cost depends on the RMS, brand and models. Most important they have to match ur speakers. Dun get lousy speakers and too powerful amp, neither should you get high powered speaker with low RMS amp to match. Different speakers sound different also... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaolow 4th Gear July 31, 2012 Share July 31, 2012 Hi all gurus, my car is running stock system now.. only change the HU to a Pioneer bought at Mustafa.. cannot rmb the model.. I was at a car audio shop yesterday and i enquired about basic ICE systems.. The guy told me its $380 for Lightning and $445 for Hertz.. They include 2x speakers, 2x tweeters, cables and installation. I wanna ask if it is reasonable price and are there any cheaper alternatives because i am not looking to spen too much on ice. Actually what i want is very simple la.. juz a upgrade from my stock is ok liao.. haha.. i am an easily statisfied person.. not looking to add a subwoofer cos boot space not much.. maybe will add a amp.. how much will a amp cost by the way? can put 2nd hand ones? appreciate all gurus advice on this as really noob on this.. thanks!! Spend those money that you intend to get ICE and buy urself a nice system for your home/room setup...it much worth it and sound much better... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue850r Clutched July 31, 2012 Share July 31, 2012 Hi all gurus, my car is running stock system now.. only change the HU to a Pioneer bought at Mustafa.. cannot rmb the model.. I was at a car audio shop yesterday and i enquired about basic ICE systems.. The guy told me its $380 for Lightning and $445 for Hertz.. They include 2x speakers, 2x tweeters, cables and installation. I wanna ask if it is reasonable price and are there any cheaper alternatives because i am not looking to spen too much on ice. Actually what i want is very simple la.. juz a upgrade from my stock is ok liao.. haha.. i am an easily statisfied person.. not looking to add a subwoofer cos boot space not much.. maybe will add a amp.. how much will a amp cost by the way? can put 2nd hand ones? appreciate all gurus advice on this as really noob on this.. thanks!! Hi Bro, Since you buy HU from Mustafar why you don't buy Pioneer amp and Components speaker from them as well? Mustafar : Pioneer GM-5500T amp ($115) and Pioneer TS-1720c $216 Components speaker. Get installer $150 all settle already and sound good. As for your Hertz speaker you mentioned, you need power amp to drive it otherwise the sound will be flat and no depth. Bass also don't have. I have gone your way before. Sound will be worst then before change. So no reason you pay $400+ for Hertz and get lousy sound without amp. You think again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue850r Clutched July 31, 2012 Share July 31, 2012 ICE dun be tempted too easily. Read about the pricing, model, service, workmanship of the installer. To me all matters. How much an amp cost depends on the RMS, brand and models. Most important they have to match ur speakers. Dun get lousy speakers and too powerful amp, neither should you get high powered speaker with low RMS amp to match. Different speakers sound different also... Hertz brand mentioned by TS is good stuff but needs to be compliment by power amp to produce good sound. Many of us thought HU with 50wx4 can power components speakers. But the truth is, don't sound nice. In components speaker set, tweeter and woofer combo, the tweeter only 1" is easy to drive but woofer 6.5" is harder to drive. So if no power amp, the tweeter sound will overwhelm the woofer mid-range/mid bass. The sound will be very bright and not natural. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear July 31, 2012 Share July 31, 2012 Hi all gurus, my car is running stock system now.. only change the HU to a Pioneer bought at Mustafa.. cannot rmb the model.. I was at a car audio shop yesterday and i enquired about basic ICE systems.. The guy told me its $380 for Lightning and $445 for Hertz.. They include 2x speakers, 2x tweeters, cables and installation. I wanna ask if it is reasonable price and are there any cheaper alternatives because i am not looking to spen too much on ice. Actually what i want is very simple la.. juz a upgrade from my stock is ok liao.. haha.. i am an easily statisfied person.. not looking to add a subwoofer cos boot space not much.. maybe will add a amp.. how much will a amp cost by the way? can put 2nd hand ones? appreciate all gurus advice on this as really noob on this.. thanks!! What?? just get http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/products/pr...x?itemid=112892 from sim lim towers. Price should be around 200+. They pack a nice punch.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugsy Neutral Newbie July 31, 2012 Share July 31, 2012 Spend those money that you intend to get ICE and buy urself a nice system for your home/room setup...it much worth it and sound much better... Agreed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue850r Clutched July 31, 2012 Share July 31, 2012 Agreed At home wife is the sound system Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahrex Clutched July 31, 2012 Author Share July 31, 2012 u guys are the best la!! luckily yesterday i neva install.. haha.. the sales guy keep psyco me.. lucky i neva bring cash there.. if not i think i kena liao.. hahahha... thanks all agian for your constructive comments.. really learnt a lot.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 31, 2012 Share July 31, 2012 u guys are the best la!! luckily yesterday i neva install.. haha.. the sales guy keep psyco me.. lucky i neva bring cash there.. if not i think i kena liao.. hahahha... thanks all agian for your constructive comments.. really learnt a lot.. its really a waste of $$$$. invest in a better HI FI home system. imagine you have $2000 worth of high quality ICE system..so what? one accident and its all gone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AlanZ Neutral Newbie August 4, 2012 Share August 4, 2012 its really a waste of $$$$. invest in a better HI FI home system. imagine you have $2000 worth of high quality ICE system..so what? one accident and its all gone. Different ppl seek for different quality in life. One mans meat is another man poison. What u deem a waste of $ may seem valuable to others n vice versa. Of course u can share ur point of view but I am sure there are many who have a car system worth more than 2k, easily. I agree ur point to a certain extend but my threshold is higher as I think that 2k on a car system is just enough, though it's not really fully done up. If u compare hi fi at home, in fact I seldom on mine cause I am always not home, n I dun get to turn up the volume cause I worry that the neighbors will b disturb, else my wife will nag before I get to enjoy the music. On the other hand, a person who spends a lot of time on the road, a nice system may be appreciated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickensoup 1st Gear August 4, 2012 Share August 4, 2012 Agreed...2K is about the entry level for car hifi assuming you just start from normal decent headset. 1) 4 ch amp 75w x4....$500 2) Mono amp (sub).....$400 3) 2 way components frt....$500 4) sub woofer.....$300 Fitting/installation ..$300 or more plus cables/wirings + carrot a bit by installer. Another approach will be just very high grade frt 2 way component speaker + good grade 2ch amp. Probably within a $1000. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...