B777jubilee 2nd Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 hmmmm ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Internazionale Neutral Newbie August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 HDB stands for High Dollar Building mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Woohoo... by then I would feel so lich looking at my CPeeF statement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 maybe no car liao.. n n 2050 mrt fully operational everyone door step should be a station, no need car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 (edited) So who suddenly became richer, resulting in SG's GDP per capita shifting to be tops in the world? You? Well, maybe a handful. The average Joe Singaporean? Maybe not. Salaries may have increased, but that don't make 80% of us rich. So who then? The 'old money' SGeans certainly. The neuvo riche SGeans ... and perhaps many PRs who have made good. And of course the new, HNW FTs that have come in droves, over the past 5-10 years ... the businessmen, bankers, CEOs, financial market types, commercial proprietors and more. These are the new additions that have slotted themselves into the top 20-30% of SG's socio-economic tier, thereby pushing everybody else down the ladder. If you think that having a household income of up to $250K p.a. (or abt $20K p.m.) makes you & family upper-middle class ... WRONG! You have already been relegated to lower-middle the sandwiched class. Yes, your salaries and spending pattern may not have changed much. How can right? With housing and car loans straddling you down. But the top quartile of wealth has continued to push you downward. That is why many (including those in MCF) are complaining about the high COE/car and property prices. Cos many are being marginalized by this new-found (imported, even) wealth ... even without you realizing it! Haha Edited August 15, 2012 by Timbuktu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 I am not an expert on ecomonic, but isn't GDP some factor of both spending & generating. If you go a shop to buy a $1000 heels, you also generate GDP, the same as when you buy an apartment from HDB. I think the high GDP have huge part due to rental & Properties, as well as consumer spending like Cars & COE (& Singaporeans are very good in spending money!) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Singapore topped the charts for highest GDP per capita in 2010 at close to SGD $70,000 (USD $56,532), according to a study. In the Wealth Report 2012 published by Knight Frank and Citi Private Bank, Singapore is also expected to continue to be the global leader in 2050. GDP per capita refers to the total output of a country divided by the population. Trailing closely behind Singapore is Norway at about SGD $63,000 (USD $51,226), then the U.S. at about SGD $56,200 (USD $45,511), followed by Hong Kong at almost SGD $56,000 (USD $45,301). The report also forecasts that Singapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Whew luckily I'm leaving those days behind already :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 i feel like a begger living in sg... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtay 1st Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 i feel like a begger living in sg... haha, would you rather be a beggar in a rich country or in a poor country? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 So who suddenly became richer, resulting in SG's GDP per capita shifting to be tops in the world? You? Well, maybe a handful. The average Joe Singaporean? Maybe not. Salaries may have increased, but that don't make 80% of us rich. So who then? The 'old money' SGeans certainly. The neuvo riche SGeans ... and perhaps many PRs who have made good. And of course the new, HNW FTs that have come in droves, over the past 5-10 years ... the businessmen, bankers, CEOs, financial market types, commercial proprietors and more. These are the new additions that have slotted themselves into the top 20-30% of SG's socio-economic tier, thereby pushing everybody else down the ladder. If you think that having a household income of up to $250K p.a. (or abt $20K p.m.) makes you & family upper-middle class ... WRONG! You have already been relegated to lower-middle the sandwiched class. Yes, your salaries and spending pattern may not have changed much. How can right? With housing and car loans straddling you down. But the top quartile of wealth has continued to push you downward. That is why many (including those in MCF) are complaining about the high COE/car and property prices. Cos many are being marginalized by this new-found (imported, even) wealth ... even without you realizing it! Haha Thanks for doing all the posting , Senior. I just have to second you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary469 1st Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 don't let others know you are singaporean when you travel overseas. this stupid news report just made us "robbers friendly" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TMCTR88 Neutral Newbie August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Quality of life and Standard of living is two totally different things.. The country may be rich and have good infrastructure but it's people might not be satisfied! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Thanks for doing all the posting , Senior. I just have to second you. Thank you. Recently too much ranting in MCF on COE, car and property prices lah. We must accept the push toward globalization of the Singapore economy and become part of it, to 'catch the wave'! No use complaining in forums and look askance on the govt to bail one out of a one-way ticket to a poverty spiral. We ALL can do something for ourselves. Upgrade and educate. Ensure your children are not deprived of the best tertiary education - here, or overseas. Get the scholarships. Open the world's opportunities to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Ensure your children are not deprived of the best tertiary education - here, or overseas. Get the scholarships. Open the world's opportunities to them. This i truly believe in Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 err..... of course, you know how many old people queuing for your service by then? :huh: By then he will be one of the old people queuing lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 will you live till then (2050) ... another 38yrs .... With Bro RADx doing good biz for the top and bottom, they wont want him to wind up the biz so soon.... diff to find such good biz partner.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 So...do we feel happier in Singapore than the Norwegians in Norway? looking at our fertility rate, maybe not ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...