Fastfive1 5th Gear August 18, 2012 Share August 18, 2012 did u see the prototypes? the nsx hybrid is around 400bhp. civic turbo not sure. but its definately at least 300. why the civic hybrid, prius and insight is not popular is coz of its price. not only here. but worldwide. thats why koreans are catching up. and toyota did hint the next iteration of the 86 will be turboed. then again, the best cars are the retro japs. power is there. so is reliability The thing about the japanese is that most of their prototypes either never make it to production or take a very long time before the production model is released. Hybrid cars are not cool. Besides i doubt you'd be able to mod it much... I doubt the design is gonna be any better than the existing civic. The FD was one of the best modern looking civics but honda made its successor look horrendous. Next generation? That'll be in a few years time.... I'd take a used e92 335i over a brand new 86 any day. The 86's interior looks pretty average but what i dislike the most is how cheap the HU looks and sounds yet you pay nearly 200k for it.... Reliable like your car? Haha. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear August 18, 2012 Share August 18, 2012 (edited) jsut group COE's by OMV. everyone pays 100% of OMV for COE COE is a ballot, not a direct tax. For that we already have in 120% of import taxes (last I checked). Also using OMV to group has it problem. Imagine if today I get a car that OMV is group A, Tomorrow, due to exchange rate, OMV become higher & now the new car is group B. SO you can end up with same models but in different CAT? I will support if CAT is base on CO2, or MPG or something that have environmental impact, to encourage people to go choose greener cars, over what we have currently. As I have mention before, its not the responsibility of Government that everyone, or most people can own cars. Edited August 18, 2012 by Kiadaw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear August 18, 2012 Share August 18, 2012 (edited) COE is a ballot, not a direct tax. For that we already have in 120% of import taxes (last I checked). Also using OMV to group has it problem. Imagine if today I get a car that OMV is group A, Tomorrow, due to exchange rate, OMV become higher & now the new car is group B. SO you can end up with same models but in different CAT? I will support if CAT is base on CO2, or MPG or something that have environmental impact, to encourage people to go choose greener cars, over what we have currently. As I have mention before, its not the responsibility of Government that everyone, or most people can own cars. screw the emissions law la seriously.(responsible for the innocent deaths of alot of good cars) wanna clamp down on environment issues also start by dealing with the factories in china. Edited August 18, 2012 by Mllcg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear August 18, 2012 Share August 18, 2012 screw the emissions law la seriously.(responsible for the innocent deaths of alot of good cars) wanna clamp down on environment issues also start by dealing with the factories in china. haha your car will definitely be affected.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear August 18, 2012 Share August 18, 2012 U dont like that la! Rich ppl buy luxury car. Poor ppl buy BB car. BB car dealer/agent also need to do business mah! correct, a healthy business environment is when everyone gets to do business, not only the germans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear August 18, 2012 Share August 18, 2012 Maybe individual income less than 150k per year cannot buy car? This will drastically reduce the number of Coe on the road.. i will go with compulsory 20% dp n 7 yr loan. At least it doesn't penalise those who save n buy car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged August 18, 2012 Share August 18, 2012 okay.. sound reasonable. but when that happen, we will see even more 1/2 fark spec car from BB dealer. gahmen shld impose another tax... if buy car n seldom use... also kena tax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear August 18, 2012 Share August 18, 2012 (edited) i will go with compulsory 20% dp n 7 yr loan. At least it doesn't penalise those who save n buy car At least this makes more sense. isn't 20% too little...wasn't it 30% previously? Edited August 18, 2012 by Fastfive1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear August 18, 2012 Share August 18, 2012 i will go with compulsory 20% dp n 7 yr loan. At least it doesn't penalise those who save n buy car banks will kpkb. then they may take this opportunity to raise interest rates elsewhere... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear August 18, 2012 Share August 18, 2012 Emission is the better justification for road tax and its in line with curent engine capacity based road tax basis to tax for pollution. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged August 19, 2012 Share August 19, 2012 Tat y Gosen say no more gtr36 Good because the gtr 35 never match up to the classic 32-34. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear August 19, 2012 Share August 19, 2012 Agree!But bhp is the most easy solution. Below 140bhp,cat A. Above 140bhp,cat B. This will be sad. Then all the BB sport cars will be badly affected. Not a wise move. Used pricing of cars more a logical way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jubilong 2nd Gear August 19, 2012 Share August 19, 2012 What is the objective of the propose revision? To have a lower coe? To help the japs, koreans car dealers? The pie is as such that if you don't increase it no matter how you tweak the system, demand will always be there and car prices will still stay high. To base it in horsepower, you are just punishing manufacturers who makes efficient car same cc but more horses. To base it on omv, again we are punishing manufacturers who makes safe cars with more airbags, disc brakes etc which I believe is much essential. Its ok to have local fitted stereo, leather. If the above comes true all our cars brought in will be like those in Flintstones just to compete. so in whose interest does the vehicle association represents? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged August 19, 2012 Share August 19, 2012 Maybe shld exclude weekend cars from coe.... just a fixed amt of 10k (e.g.) Then work out a daily rate base on mean of past coe... Then more pple can buy cars but use less.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...